We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #25 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    337
    101
    29
    22
See reviews for
315
256
66
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The hotel looks very new, clean and very well kept. The rooms are good size with new furnishings. The complimentary breakfast is very good. The hotel staff keeps refilling the breakfast items to make sure there is always enough. The only thing I would like to make a comment on is that we booked two rooms, one for my family and one for my mom. My mom's room was in a smoking area although she doesn't smoke and, obviously, we did not request a smoking room. No one mentioned that when we checked in and we only realized that on the last day of our stay, otherwise we would have asked to have the room changed. Make sure you get a room in the section that best suits you, smoking or non-smoking.

Room Tip: Rooms outside are smoking allowed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariacarol29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a great experience at this hotel; with a great front desk, very clean rooms, a nice hotel bar, complimentary breakfast, and great location. I could not be more impressed with this best western hotel! It made our stay in Austin a pleasant one!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKL0687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you sir for your kind words. So glad you had a good stay and enjoyed some of our amenities. Blue Moon Bar & Grill stays open until 2am every day and has live music every weekend. Please let us be your home away from home when you are in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Overall we were pretty pleased with this hotel. In fact, the only issue we had there was the breakfast is not adequate for the capacity of the hotel. They were constantly out of food, coffee, juice, plastic ware, plates, etc. and there were only two ladies working the breakfast - totally understaffed! Guest were waiting in line for breakfast for 20+ minutes which is completely unacceptable. I spoke to the front desk about this and they responded with the hotel was a capacity and they were getting more help. Hopefully, they learned their lesson and have rectified the problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank ELVO1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Austin, and thanks for sharing your comments and concerns. We take all of our customers' comments seriouysly and strive to improve daily. We were overwhelmed at breakfast on that day and doubled the staffing for the next day, and everything went more smoothly. I hope you will stay with us again when you are in Austin next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xXx
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice hotel with fantastic breakfast! Good clean room.
Really friendly staff.
Plenty of parking.
Bar attached has live music and becomes breakfast room in the morning.
I would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0X0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

In the very artsy SoCo area I loved the hotel. The outside says NOTHING about the beautiful renovated hotel. And the bed was the best !!!!!! The staff is very friendly and personable. The two room suite is a nice and comfortable size for 4 adults. And the added bonus is the two bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Demetria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

i tried to write this review with a lot of caution. I want it understood that i loved this hotel. it was wonderful in MOST EVERY WAY. The decor is picture perfect. The staff were very professional kind and helpful. The restaurant was great with unusually fair pricing. However, I cannot stress enough that if you are CONFINED TO A WHEELCHAIR --- DO NO COME HERE!!! (we were never promised that it was)--- THE BEDS ARE TALLER THAN MOST THE BATHROOMS ARE IMPOSSIBLE TO GET INTO WITH A WHEELCHAIR AT ALL AND THE ELEVATORS ARE BY FAR THE SMALLEST I'VE EVER SEEN. AND THE CORRIDORS? AT LEAST WHERE WE WERE THEY WERE A MAZE!!! But if i werent in a chair id go again any time!!!

Room Tip: make sure youre downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crosscarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#55 of 203 in Austin
1,510 reviews
Crowne Plaza Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,214 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#6 Green Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing