We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Comfort Inn”
Review of Comfort Inn Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Austin
Ranked #148 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
471 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Typical Comfort Inn”
Reviewed July 1, 2008

This was the Comfort Inn at 700 Delmar Ave. Austin, TX. It was about what you would expect from a little older Comfort Inn. There was an indoor pool, which we did not use. The breakfast was pretty good. The front desk person was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    31
    24
    23
See reviews for
42
20
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I made my reservation based on these recommendations. I'm really surprised that there are so many favorable reviews because my room was pretty gross. I arrived late at night after a long day, only to walk into a room where everything had large, visible stains - the bedspread, the furniture, etc. The sink was heavily cracked from age. The lighting was bad and I could hear the noise from I-35, so it left me with a really bad impression. There were also ants crawling on the clock radio on my nightstand. The other curious thing was that when I arrived in the parking lot, there was a large van with its doors open and a sign that said "security" in the window. I don't know what that was about, but it sure made me feel uneasy.

Long story short - I would specifically tell a friend NOT to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModerateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

I checked into this hotel at the last minute, when I decided to switch from another hotel in the area. It's right under the freeway, so it's kind of hard to get to. But once you find it, the property is really nice--the parking lot is gated, there is an indoor pool, and the breakfast area is cute.

My room was on the back side of the hotel, away from the freeway noise, and it was immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable and the room had a flat screen tv. Breakfast in the morning was awesome--texas-shaped waffles, yogurt, eggs, cereal, etc. The room was pretty reasonably priced too. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — The beds, the cleanliness, the internet connection was fast
  • Disliked — neighborhood, proximity to highway and highway noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolatemalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

My family and I stayed for two nights and it was an excellent choice of all the hotels in Austin. Everything was in working order in the room, it was very clean, check-in/check-out was speedy. The children loved the pool and the Texas shaped waffles at breakfast. If there was anything "bad" with this property it was that we could hear the freeway noise at night, but I fixed that problem by just turning on the a/c fan.

  • Liked — Pool and Queen size beds
  • Disliked — freeway noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jfpTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

The hotel room was very spacious and extremely clean. The decor was modern, and all devices (TV, A/C, fridge) worked well. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Neighbourhood
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cielbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Inn, Austin Airport for one night in March 2007. It was a notch above many Comfort Inns. Very clean and well kept! The bed was comfortable. The breakfast included many poor quality sweet pastries and only cornflakes or frosted cornflakes for cereal choices. They did, however have sausage and biscuits with gravy which was a nice savory option. The staff was very pleasant. Our big complaint was the terrible construction noise outside our room in the early morning hours!! This hotel is in an area where a lot of freeway construction is occurring. The noise was so bad that we could feel the floor shaking. There were also loud sounds of doors slamming. This was impossible to sleep through or to ignore. Too bad, since this is such a nice hotel and I do not blame them for the construction noise. Just be forewarned!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SkagitTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2005

Motel was in good location and antiseptically clean. Desk clerk worked an 18-hour shift and was very bubbly and friendly. Very attentive to our needs. The landscaping around the motel was well-kept with palm trees along the east side.
Motel is in process of upgrading with new carpeting and furniture. New earth-toned carpeting already in hallways. Clerk informed us that rooms are next and will also get new furnishings. Our room was very clean but bland. Could use some more paintings or something. New furniture will be nice when installed. Bathroom was immaculate. Very nice shower head with curved shower curtain. Breakfast was adequate. Breakfast area was very small and easily became congested. Overall, very nice for the price. We'll be back in March 2006.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cowboy6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
St. Johns
Hampton Inn Austin-North at I-35 and Hwy 183
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn Austin North
#154 of 203 in Austin
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Austin

Property: Comfort Inn Austin
Address: 700 Delmar Ave, Austin, TX 78752-2629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > St. Johns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Austin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Austin
Austin Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing