We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes Management makes the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Austin South
Ranked #92 of 203 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sometimes Management makes the difference”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at this property because of the easy access to I-35 as I needed to travel south of Austin for work each day. I was unaware that there was a full service Marriott next door or I would have selected it for the Concierge Level privileges. This us an older property and the exterior, more than the interior, shows its age. The parking lot is a little unkempt and stripes, curbs, etc could use a coat of paint. The lobby has been upgraded to the new Courtyard standard. The hallways, however, look dated although they were kept clean. The rooms have been updated but, perhaps due to size constraints, are not "standard Courtyard". The room, for example, lacked the separate counter across from the wash basin where the cofee maker, glasses and ice bucket are usually found.

My recent negative comments with Marriott have always focused on housekeeping and this was no exception. I use several sugars in my morning coffee so, rather than open two of the caddy packets provided wasting the contents except for the sugar, I simply bring sugar and stirrers from downstairs and place them in a cup next to the cofeemaker. The following day the sugar, stirrers and cup were gone. I replaced the items and wrote a note, in Spanish, "Por favor no me toquen la azucar!" Problem solved. The next day however housekeeping saw fit to remove two Thera-Bands used for physical therapy that I had left hooked on the front door hinge. Although they represent virtually no monetary value I brought it to the attention of the front desk clerk as I left for dinner. Upon my return I received a call from the Assistant Manager, Mr. Jeremy Sherman, who thought that the minor incident was important enough for him to try to resolve. He put his detective hat on and, by the time I had returned from dinner he had located the bands and delivered them personally to my room. Jeremy, thank you very much for exemplifying the meaning of customer service.

Again, sometimes management makes the difference; I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recumbentrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback so that we can define our strengths and weaknesses as a hotel and pinpoint what we can do to make everyone's stay better. We are currently in touch with a contractor to update our parking lot and outdoor areas.

We will also instruct our housekeeping team to not take such items out of the rooms, but to rather tidy up the rooms instead. We will also inform Jeremy of what a great job he did and to keep up the great customer service!

Thank you for staying at our hotel and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
26
9
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

When traveling to Austin on a overnight trip, I try to stay at a hotel near the freeway for quick access on the road home. Somehow, I landed in this Courtyard which I assumed would be the same quality as others that I have stayed in. Unfortunately, it was hard to get to -- the hotel itself recommends using an address in your GPS that routes you to the back of the hotel. While the hotel looks like a Courtyard -- it was worn, run down with poor quality bedding, towels and bathroom accessories. Unlikely to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are so sorry for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us but please know we've been and will continue to be in touch with the City of Austin about getting our physical address updated on the GPS mapping systems.

We have also recently gotten our carpets cleaned and had much of our linens, bedding, and bath towels replaced.

We hope you will us another try on your next visit to Austin!

Sincerely,

Krista Lewis
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
497 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stay almost exclusively at Marriott chains so I was disappointed in this Courtyard. It needs some cleaning in the hallways, the elevator is dirty (and slow) and the rooms need some punch. I find most Courtyard and Fairfield Marriott's are crisp and clean but this one just didn't measure up.

On the positive - the location is an easy 10 minutes to the airport and to the University of Texas and downtown Austin. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast purchased from the Bistro was good (although understaffing seemed to be a problem.) Additionally the Bistro closes at 9:30 am for breakfast on weekdays which seems peculiar as I saw a steady stream of disappointed hotel guests after 9:30 get told the Bistro was closed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We really value input from experienced guests like you, as it helps us to provide even better service in the future. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed The Bistro food, but disappointed that we did not provide our usual expected level of service in other areas. We have recently added additional staff to ensure every guest enjoys a quick, relaxing breakfast as well as a clean hotel. We look forward to your next visit so you can see the improvements that have been made. Thanks again for your constructive insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Close to downtown and airport. Only around 10minutes to downtown. Good value compared to rates for hotels downtown. Bistro is nice to have on site. It was great to have a hot sandwich without going out after traveling all day. Service was very good. Everything you expect from Courtyard .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay in Austin Texas! I'm glad you took advantage of our Bistro Dinner Service. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope you come back for another trip to Austin and will try one of our breakfast plates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding. The lobby has had a nice update, however the rooms still feel old and musty. Another guest in the wedding party found a giant rusted screw on their floor - thank goodness there were no children in the room. The staff was friendly and the room was ok but I think you could find a newer hotel for around the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are a newly renovated property and I am sorry to hear that your room had a particular smell. Everyone in our staff is trained to solve such issues. We hope you did have the chance to bring the attention to our staff & we were able to take care of the smell or move you to another room. We take great pride in being of service and we do hope that you will give our hotel another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Courtyard is the standard reliable layout of the new and improved Courtyard's that have been rolling out through the country. Great value, friendly staff, continues to be my go-to hotel. Only a short drive to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWGators22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind response and allowing us the opportunity to be of service. We are a newly renovated hotel, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. We are very excited to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Booked this location thru Priceline to be near family. Excellent location. Clean room and a very comfy bed. More spacious than I expected. I found that the a/c did muffle the traffic noise. I messed up my reservation, leaving us one day short and could not find availability here one the Internet. Front desk was able to get us another room for the extra night, charging us a reasonable rate. We were greeted by name! When entering the property and the staff was always smiling and super friendly. Very pleased with our stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vmpeter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. We will be sure to address your review to our staff and let them know what a wonderful job they do and how much it means to our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin Marriott South
#41 of 203 in Austin
407 reviews
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin South

Property: Courtyard Austin South
Address: 4533 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Austin
#59 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Austin-Bergstrom Airport, Downtown and Circuit of the Americas, we're one of the most convenient South Austin hotels with all-new state-of-the-art features. The renovated lobby provides media pod work spaces, free WiFi, boarding pass printing station and easy access to news, traffic and weather via an interactive GoBoard(R). Jump-start your morning at our onsite Bistro, offering healthy breakfast items and your favorite Starbucks beverages. Then after a busy day in Austin, come back for dinner and cocktails. Relax in our modern hotel rooms with flat-screen TVs, plush Marriott bedding, free WiFi and ergonomic workspaces. Guests love our downtown shuttle service ($5pp charge) for easy access to the convention center, 6th Street entertainment district and UT Austin. Our hotel features an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and outdoor patio. With high-tech amenities at a convenient location, Courtyard Austin South is perfect for business trips and weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing