We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run of the mill hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Austin South
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding. The lobby has had a nice update, however the rooms still feel old and musty. Another guest in the wedding party found a giant rusted screw on their floor - thank goodness there were no children in the room. The staff was friendly and the room was ok but I think you could find a newer hotel for around the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are a newly renovated property and I am sorry to hear that your room had a particular smell. Everyone in our staff is trained to solve such issues. We hope you did have the chance to bring the attention to our staff & we were able to take care of the smell or move you to another room. We take great pride in being of service and we do hope that you will give our hotel another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 207 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Courtyard is the standard reliable layout of the new and improved Courtyard's that have been rolling out through the country. Great value, friendly staff, continues to be my go-to hotel. Only a short drive to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWGators22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind response and allowing us the opportunity to be of service. We are a newly renovated hotel, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. We are very excited to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Booked this location thru Priceline to be near family. Excellent location. Clean room and a very comfy bed. More spacious than I expected. I found that the a/c did muffle the traffic noise. I messed up my reservation, leaving us one day short and could not find availability here one the Internet. Front desk was able to get us another room for the extra night, charging us a reasonable rate. We were greeted by name! When entering the property and the staff was always smiling and super friendly. Very pleased with our stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank vmpeter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. We will be sure to address your review to our staff and let them know what a wonderful job they do and how much it means to our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was great. Starbucks coffee at their bistro!! Great value for the cost if the stay. Close to downtown and great restraunts. Would definately stay here again. Only negative is no fridge in the room but they do have the extended stay hotel right next door.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollipopsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our Bistro and I do apologize about the inconveniences you may have experienced while staying with us. Although not all of our rooms have fridges and microwaves in the room, we do have them available upon request. We hope you will give us another try, if rooms are available and we do understand sensitivity to noise, we would be happy to move you to the backside of the hotel. We hope to see you on your next visit to Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The staff members were great--very attentive, friendly and professional. The hotel has been renovated. However, the walls are very thin and the beds need replacing. Good location, although you can hear the highway noise from inside the rooms on the front side of the hotel. Overall good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinPlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This Courtyard is an older hotel with an updated lobby and a well-intended freshen up of the rooms. It seems like they stopped halfway, however as the old yellowing fixtures are still being used - such as the light switches and the phones. It leaves the renovation feeling incomplete and lacking. The staff was very nice and accommodating, the lobby was nice. I would stay there again, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Truthfully, the best thing about this hotel was the outstanding staff. The assistant general manager was truly exceptional - friendly, helpful, and highly visible. The front desk staff always greeted us, gave us directions, and treated us like friends throughout the duration of our stay.

The lobby is the new Courtyard style, and they always had fresh cookies and lemonade out in the afternoon.

The rooms are a little dated, and I don't think these are the new Marriott beds, but the rooms were large, the bathroom was plenty large enough for 2 of us (though admittedly, I wish the vanity was a bit larger), and I can't really complain. Parking and internet were both free.

Housekeeping was always completed by the time we arrived back in the early afternoon, and we didn't hear any road noise. We also didn't have any problems with crickets, though I did see the letter from the hotel in the room that it was cricket season. The room was dark enough in the afternoons for naps to recover from the Austin heat.

The location was easy to get everywhere we needed to go, and we were all over the Austin area during our stay. Most places were 10-15 minutes away. Easy freeway access.

Bottom line - this isn't a new Courtyard, and the rooms do show evidence of wear, but the friendly staff really did more than make up for the dated property. (And I'm a bit of a hotel snob.) We did visit family at the Hampton Inn on the North side of town, and our room at the CY was definitely larger and the staff was definitely friendlier.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellarina126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Austin Marriott South
#17 of 203 in Austin
555 reviews
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#59 of 203 in Austin
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin South

Address: 4533 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Austin
#59 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $122 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Austin-Bergstrom Airport, Downtown and Circuit of the Americas, we're one of the most convenient South Austin hotels with all-new state-of-the-art features. The renovated lobby provides media pod work spaces, free WiFi, boarding pass printing station and easy access to news, traffic and weather via an interactive GoBoard(R). Jump-start your morning at our onsite Bistro, offering healthy breakfast items and your favorite Starbucks beverages. Then after a busy day in Austin, come back for dinner and cocktails. Relax in our modern hotel rooms with flat-screen TVs, plush Marriott bedding, free WiFi and ergonomic workspaces. Guests love our downtown shuttle service ($5pp charge) for easy access to the convention center, 6th Street entertainment district and UT Austin. Our hotel features an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and outdoor patio. With high-tech amenities at a convenient location, Courtyard Austin South is perfect for business trips and weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing