We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Ranked #41 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed here while my husband was in Austin on business. The hotel was not our choice - it was picked for us - but I would stay here anyway! The room, although a bit small, was quite adequate. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Every evening, there is a very nice buffett of hot snacks and appetizers. Each registered guest is entitled to three free alcoholic beverages each night. There is also one hour of long distance phone usage provided each day! Internet, although not wireless, is also provided free, too! The pool is still open in mid-October. It's clean and inviting. Some restaurants are close enough to walk to for dinner (Chili's, Fuddruckers and some more local ones). I have had very good experiences with a friendly staff (one helped me get some candy out of a machine when it didn't fall, one pressed the elevator button for me unasked when she saw my hands were full).
I will say that the roads here in Austin are difficult to navigate! But that has nothing to do with the hotel.

Again, this was an excellent choice!

  • Liked — Free breakfast, snacks, and beverages
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sharongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    104
    37
    19
    2
See reviews for
87
89
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Stayed the last night before major hotel renovation but property was still clean, spacious with a great hot breakfast. Free phone and internet. Quiet.

  • Liked — Pet friendly
  • Disliked — Started renovation had to check out
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TJHRRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Our first trip to Austin and wanted something clean, comfortable and conveniently located. This hotel was all of the above and more. Complimentary hot breakfast and evening cocktails and food were generous and better in quality than we expected. Staff were all most helpful. We booked two rooms for four of us and none of us had one complaint. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — location, comfort
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cubstink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern U.S.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We recently stayed at the Drury Inn in Austin. Keep in mind that I am comparing them with other mid-priced hotels, not high-priced ones like Hyatt etc. Overall, we were pleased. They offered a hot breakfast in the morning and snacks in the evening. The breakfast consisted of eggs and sausage, yogurt, and muffins. There may have been other hot items, but we didn't eat breakfast so am not sure. The snacks consisted of hot dogs, nachos with chili, and baked potatoes. We stayed in a standard non-smoking room on the first floor. We brought our dogs along, which is why we chose Drury Inn, i.e., they are a pet-friendly hotel chain. They do not charge an extra fee for your pets. Everyone connected with the hotel was friendly and helpful. Our room was just basic with no frills, but was very clean (which is my no. 1 requirement). I didn't notice anything that caused an "ugh!" reaction. I have only two minor complaints about the room: First, like all other mid-range hotel chains these days, they do not put a new roll of toilet tissue on the spindle but rather they leave the partially used roll from the previous customer (... though they do provide extra rolls). Like I said, all the mid-range hotel chains are doing that, and I find it offensive. They should put a new roll on the spindle! Second, the carpet was a bit worn but not bad. As far as recommending them for families, not sure about that because there did seem to be some sort of college-age party going on there with lots of coming and going from rooms. Not sure what that was about. However, we didn't hear any disturbances once in our room. If this hotel is not regularly used as a party hotel by college kids, then I recommend Drury Inn in Austin for families.

  • Liked — Price; pet friendly; clean.
  • Disliked — College party going on; worn carpet.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank OrdinaryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoast_Girl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We just got back from the Austin City Limits Festival. We booked our trip late and couldn't get anything closer to downtown Austin, so after l looked on the reviews here, and saw that we got a pool and free breakfast for a fairly reasonable rate, I booked the Drury Inn for 5 nights.

There were 3 of us so we got a one bedroom suite - pull out couch bed, 2 double beds with a door that closed to that room, microwave, small fridge, 2 TV's, etc. Good price for all that.

Free breakfast was great and lots to offer - waffles, eggs,cereal, pastries, juices, toast, etc etc. We never did actually use the pool since we were so busy. The front desk was nice and always very helpful - I had an emergency and had to use internet somewhere, and the front desk girl gladly gave me free access to their business center for email and printing. So nice! I also had a package picked up and it was done with no problems.

The only downside I can think of for this hotel is the decor in the rooms and carpet in the hallways is a little dated. Definitely needs an update - not dirty or anything, just worn out and looking like more like the early 90's than 2006. If they spruced up the rooms with some better decor, it would be less depressing. Other than that, it was a fine stay.

Lots of free parking, close to a few restaurants, but a bit painful to drive into town each day (that was our fault). If you can stay closer to downtown, do it, but if you need easy highway access and find yourself in the area, it's a good value!

  • Liked — free breakfast, good rate
  • Disliked — dated rooms with brick walls, old bedspreads, etc.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank VanBC_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Neches
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

At check in the attendant was not very friendly, I had been quoted a different price by the 1-800 number and when I got there it was a bit higher price. This is a great great hotel, the rooms are excellent the pillows a little hard, but the rooms are VERY clean. The breakfast was GREAT I have 2 teen boys both weigh over 250 they gave the breakfast a BIG 10!!!! ALL in ALL it was a great stay!! We will be back~

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

We just got back from a week-long spring break vacation in Texas. We stayed at four different hotels, all different chains, and liked the Drury Inn in Austin best. It is very kid-friendly, though there is a range of clientele there (business, families). The breakfast menu is extensive (although the staff person immediately starts putting everything away at the stroke of 9:30); the happy hour spread is, as noted by others, really a full dinner, esp for kids with baked potatoes, chicken, meatballs, tossed salad, etc. Having stayed at a Courtyard in San Antonio where none of this was included (and where dinner isn't served at all), we really appreciated the convenience and cost effectiveness. The pool looked nice, though we didn't have time to go. It is right off the highway but it appeared that the rooms were sound-proofed; we had a big window but there was zero noise. If you avoid the rush hour traffic, it was less than a 10 minute drive to the LBJ library, downtown, etc. We weren't familiar with this chain, but decided to try it based on tripadvisor reviews and we were favorably impressed!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank M&CMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin-North Central
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Austin
Crowne Plaza Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
0.3 mi away
Habitat Suites Hotel
Habitat Suites Hotel
#52 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Austin North

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Address: 6711 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > St. Johns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#25 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Austin North 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn & Suites Austin North is centrally located off I-35 near the University of Texas at Austin. It's a quick, 15-minute commute from the hotel to the Austin Convention Center and downtown attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast and end it with free cold beverages and hot food at our 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Austin North
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North Hotel Austin
Austin Drury Inn
Drury Inn Austin Texas
Drury Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing