We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Horrible Experience”
Review of Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Econo Lodge
Ranked #190 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed July 30, 2007

I want to tell you that I’ve never had such an experience in my life. The wife and I drove up to Austin from Houston and we found this place to stay on one of the travel websites. The deal was good, so we booked the room. Now, when we first got into our room I noticed a strong odor. I would have to say it was a musty smell probably from old linens or carpet. We debated as to whether or not to ask for another room as my wife and I are not as young as we used to be and my arm was in a sling. We decided to stay as it was too much trouble to take everything out of the room again. Now, I’m not one to complain about any old thing, but when I pulled back the sheets I noticed a spot one the pillows I intended to use. I could see this through the pillow case, so I took it off to look at the stain. It was about a silver dollar size and I didn’t want to touch it. I thought I could simply take this to the office and ask for another pillow. When I got there and told the manager, Mr. Patel, that I wanted another pillow he just stared at the stain. I asked him again for another pillow. He then said “I didn’t do that.” I said that I didn’t care who did it, I just wanted another pillow. He then stood up from his seat and said that it was not his pillow and told me I was trying to make him look stupid. I really didn’t know what to say to this accusation. I repeated my request for another pillow. Again he told me it was not his pillow and he started walking towards me. Since my arm was in a cast, I did not want to have any trouble with him and I left the office. My wife and I locked ourselves in the room and did not sleep well that night. We didn’t even use the shower. We left early the next morning and did not return to the office. I can’t say I have ever had such a bad experience at a motel. Fortunately I took some photographs of the pillow. All of this fuss over a stain on a pillow!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Houston_Motel_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2007

I found this on kayak.com and its partially my fault for searching for cheap hotels. I accidentally booked a smoking room. EVERY horizontal surface had multiple burns - dressers, bathroom counter, tv, bed. Looked so dirty. Managed to stay the night, tried leaving in the morning, but the door wouldn't lock. Took all my stuff in my car and looked for another hotel, none in town. Had a 5 day reservation at EconoLodge, but when I returned, they had checked me out and resold the room! Then to add insult to injury, when the Choice Hotel help line told the franchaisee that he had to find and pay for another hotel in the area, he was pissy to me! I called this the 2nd worst hotel, as the one he begrudgingly paid for me to stay in the next night was the worts hotel ever.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank joipodgorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

my room is just not clean and i can't really feel that comfortable in that dirtyroom. the staff just seem not to care about anything. i mean I am, paying my money to stay here and act like i am bothering them with a question!!!!!!!!!!! it's just very diapointeing to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jasonhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

This was the Econo Lodge at I-35 and I-290. Registration staff was not "owning" their services. Didn't know how the in-room refrigerators worked. Had no responsibility for the slow running "free Internet" on the public PC. Swimming Pool wasn't clean and they did not know how to get it sanitized. I was on my own. Isn't it the management's job to take ownership and fix what needs fixing or hire someone? Dead cricket sitting in the lobby for days.
No product in the soda vending machine. Seemed like par for the course.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank RubyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
111
Reviewed September 5, 2005

The rooms are dirty and tattered. There's mold on the walls. My first room was flooded from a leaking air conditioner, the smoke detector was disabled, the chain lock on the door was broken, the hot water handle in the shower was broken, the comforter on the bed was soiled and full of cigarette burns. In my second room the wall paper was peeling away from the walls exposing mold, wood on the walls was rotten and crumbling. The tissue box had been submerged in water, dried, and replaced for future guests. The tissues were brown!

The manager simply didn't care about any of these issues. He "didn't know" about any of the issues when I told him, and had no desire to correct them after he did know. He would not give a refund or reduce the rates for these filthy rooms.

Stay far away from this motel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 25, 2006

The review from the guest omits facts relevant to their stay. They had reserved a smoking room with one bed.Since they arrived almost at midnight, hotel was already sold out,we were unable to satisfy their requirement for a non smoking room.However the following day we gave them a non smoking room with two beds at no additional charge.Guest was still dissatisfied with this and wanted a full refund for his two day stay. Guest complained to City health department who came and checked both rooms, that guest had occupied about, and found them to be fully compliant with city codes. Guest also complained with corporate offices with a view of obtaining a refund for a stay they already had. The guest had the opportunity to relocate on the day of arrival (with a full refund) or even the following day if they were unhappy with the non smoking room. We were astonished to the fact that the guest went to such lenghts to obain a refund for services that they used.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
110
Reviewed July 28, 2005

n the morning of Monday July 25th, 2005 I called this hotel before leaving to Austin. I had a Traveler's magazine that is where I learned about this hotel and its' rates. When I called, a woman answered the phone with a sort of a spleepy and tired "hello", which led me to believe I had the wrong number (Most times employees say the name of the business when answering the phone) and I asked "Is this a hotel?" to which she replied with a "YES" in a very loud and annoyed tone of voice. Well, I knew that wasn't very professional, but I overlooked it, I had many things to do and didn't want to let that affect my mood for our get away plans. The main reason of this trip was to celebrate my partner's Birthday and I wanted things to be enjoyable. I asked this woman if she had rooms available and she said yes, ok good, I thought, we'll check it out. I called back, and this time the woman answered the phone saying the name of the hotel, I asked her at what time was check in time, to which she replied 2:00pm, I told her thanks and that was the end of the conversation.
We arrived to Austin around 3:10pm, got lost and asked for directions to the hotel, a man answered this time, he indicated us how to get to it and we arrived at around 3:30pm, walked in the lobby there was a woman at the front desk, we were tired from the drive and very hot, just wanted to shower and get comfortable. An older lady showed up behind the counter smiled at us and kept going about she was doing; she was amicable, we smiled back.
When I approached the woman at the front desk (she never even said hello) and told her that we were interested in a room and that we had a coupon from the Traveler's magazine, she replied "I'm not taking any coupons today" I told her that I was who had called her in the morning and asked if she had rooms available for that day and that she had told me that she did have rooms. She said that she had people come in all of a sudden (this was on a Monday) and that she could do it but at a higher rate. My partner and I were perplexed and looked at each other in silence. She repeated once again raising her voice some, "I could do it for a higher rate" and my partner told her that it was okay, that we'll just keep looking for another hotel, the woman just shook her head with indifference and we got out of there immediately. There was a puddle of dirty still water in the parking next to the entrance that we almost tripped into on the way out, my partner looked at it and said "maybe we're not missing out on anything".
We looked on the hotel; coupon magazine to search for another hotel and chose Hearthside. We went in and were greeted by a nice man named Steven, we told him that we needed a room and had a hotel coupon, he said he had rooms available and when he learned that we were celebrating a Birthday told us he'd give us a bigger room for the same price. We thanked him happily! We told him that we weren't treated very nice at the hotel we went to before there, he asked for some details...
But the ending of this travelling story is good, we had an excellent time during our stay. The people who worked at Hearthside were very helpful and kind.
Thanks to Steven, Darío, Jason and the security guard that works nights. Everyone always treated us with kindness and respect, the way professionals treat their guests and potential guests, in a very welcoming way and surroundings. We're glad things ended up the way they did, we stayed 3 nights, 4 days and had the greatest time, enjoyed ourselves very much. Thanks to the Hearthside hotel crew.
The rates at Hearthside were about the same as the Econo Lodge; with amenities and a way better attitude towards the public.

Kind regards, we shall be back. :-D

Stayed: July 2005
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 25, 2006

We accept travellers discount coupons upon a walk-inn basis. We as the coupon states do not take reservations for coupons.We would suggest to any guests considering a special occasion stay to book a guaranteed reservation at prevailing rates and avoid any dissapointment for their occasion. All of our staff have been proffessionaly trained and have over 22 years of hospitality experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge North Austin
Econo Lodge North Austin
#150 of 201 in Austin
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#155 of 201 in Austin
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Austin-University Area
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723-1025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $50 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing