We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Best Western I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Austin Airport
Ranked #138 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Best Western I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 16, 2007

I stayed at the Best Western near the Austin Bergstorm Airport for four nights recently. This was a fabulous place with superb amenities and great staff. The rooms were clean and tidy. The service at the front desk and from other staff was extremely courteous and prompt. The breakfast was excellent.

I was a little skeptical about the location, being close to the airport. However, I was surprised at how quiet the surroundings were and I did not get one bit disturbed by the outside.

Full marks to the management and staff at this motel. I wish there were more of them around the country!

About the small gripe I might have is that breakfast on weekends could be extended to 10:30 instead of 10:00 as is the case at many motels I have been to across the country.

Ronnie Britto, Tennessee

  • Liked — Clean to the core
  • Disliked — Entry form the Highway
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tressy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    39
    22
    22
See reviews for
32
27
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Level Contributor
534 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

The hotel is very close to the airport when exiting on 71 East. We arrived at 1:00 a.m., exhausted, and happy to find our hotel so close. We stayed in Room #304 and had a view of a mobile home park. One portion of the park had several empty, dilapidated trailers. If traveling on 71 West, there are a few restaurants and two parking areas for airport.

I am unsure of the neighborhood, as there were "10 Traveler Safety Tips From McGruff" on the bed. All rooms had two sets of peep holes. The hallway lighting was unusually bright but was only lightly visible from under the doorway crack.

The room had a decent sized refrigerator (approximately 3 ft. x 2 feet) with ironing board, small table and chair, and coffee maker. Furniture is inexpensive and basic – no frills – but functional. There is also a nice sized area for clothing with a metal rod. The heating/air conditioning unit is over the curtains and when the black out drapes are drawn, the drapes “balloon” out from the air blowing underneath it. However, hotel room was clean.

Because the hotel is near Highway71, you can hear the traffic. Also, the sounds of aircraft taking off from the airport can be clearly heard. Lastly, the sound of running tub water can be heard from the rooms of neighboring hotel guests. Hearing these noises may be undesirable for those sensitive to sound.

Internet is free, but an Ethernet cable must be obtained from the front desk with a deposit fee. The continental breakfast is available 6 a.m. to 9:30 a.m., Monday – Friday, and 6:30 a.m. to 10 a.m., Saturday – Sunday. We did not eat at the hotel but noted that the eating area is large and separated from the main lobby. There is a nice array of vending machines in the main lobby next to the reception desk for drinks and snacks.

The Best Western Airport offers basic amenities at an affordable cost. For those seeking higher quality accommodations onsite at the airport, I noted a very new looking Hilton (it looks round in shape from the freeway). I believe the hotel is a good value for the price. Hotel staff is very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is sufficient for those on a budget or for a brief stay (we paid $74.00 including tax for three people under AAA Discount).

  • Liked — Good accommodations for a very reasonable price
  • Disliked — Lack of amenities such as restaurants; possible safety concerns
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2006

We stayed here for a soccer tournament over labor day. They overcharged us for all 30 rooms we booked. They kept no records of which rooms belonged to who, and couldn't tell who checked out and who hadn't. They charged me twice, for a total of five nights, even though I only stayed 2. The second charge was initiated after I checked out. The desk people have no manners or intelligence. The rooms were disgusting, smelled of smoke, the window locks were broken. The hotel is in an unsafe area, there are no restaurants nearby. When I called to inquire about the 2nd room charge, I overheard hotel guests arguing with the clerk about the conditions of the rooms, and they told them they could leave if they wanted, but they would still be charged.
This place does a great disservice to the Best Western chain, which usually has good hotels. I would prefer to sleep in my car vs. staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We had to stay at the Austin overnight airport unexpectedly. We called several airport hotels, but all were full except for this one. That should have been a warning for us. Then again, we were out of choices. Our experience began with the hotle shuttle. They told us they would send someone over for us right away. It took three telephone calls and 30 minutes for someone to finally pick us up (understand that the motel is only about 2 minutes from the airport). We asked for a non-smoking room. The room they gave us smelled like a well used ash tray. We demanded another room and they reluctantly accomodated us. The room was adequate -- what you'd generally expect from a low -end traveler's motel, except for the dead crickets in the entry way to our room. We took care of those ourselves because we were tired and didn't figure anyone at the front desk would care. In the morning we took advantage of the much touted "full hot breakfast" that we were told was open till 10AM. We didn't arrive till 9:45. By that time, most of the food was gone and they were cleaning up around us. The server clearly didn't want to be there. There was some hot food, but we're not sure what it was. The quality left something to be desired. We would have been better off with the offerings at the local McDonalds. We opted for cold cereal and coffee. Check out time is noon. At 11:15AM we asked to have the hotel shuttle take us to the airport. We were told that the shuttle stopped running at 11AM -- no one told us this when we checked in, nor were there any signs posted. When I asked what we should do, we were told they could call a cab for us. That they did. The most frustrating thing about our entire stay was they attitude of the hotel staff when we voiced our concerns. It was obvious they just didn't care. We're going to write the manager to give him an opportunity to make amends. (Note that when we asked for the manager's name, they would only give us his first name. They said he didn't allow them to give out his last name ... hmmm.) If he does, we'll post that information too. But right now we're not expecting anything. So our recommendation is don't stay at this place, and if you find yourself as we did, having no other choices for accomodations at the airport, spend the money for a cab into the city.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank freeman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 24, 2002

Needed a room close to the airport.....yep, it is!
Sounded like the roof was the runway. Other than the noise, poor mattresses, and being surrounded by trailer parks, cheap bars and propane dealers,
the room was clean, the staff pleasant, especially the woman in the breakfast room. Breakfast was, well, as good as a meal at the Stop 'n Go.

Stale bagels, sticky pastries, frozen waffles and sausage and biscuits. There was fresh fruit, choices of cereal and coffee, all fine. But for a cheap price of 57 bucks, not too bad. Would I stay here again?
Probably not, unless I had no choice. Nice staff, but scary environment walking to and from car for a single person. And no place to eat nearby.

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hilton Austin Airport
#57 of 203 in Austin
1,042 reviews
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
South Austin
Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Austin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Austin Airport

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Austin Airport
Address: 2751 TX Highway 71 East, Austin, TX 78617-2261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Austin Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin Airport hotels - Quality Inn & Suites Airport hotel in Austin, TXThe 100 percent non-smoking Quality Inn & Suites® Airport hotel is ideally located with easy access to Interstate 35 and State Highway 71, just one-half mile from the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Free airport transportation is available. This Austin, TX hotel is also close to the Texas Capitol, the Austin Convention Center and the University of Texas at Austin, home of the Texas Longhorns. The Circuit of the Americas race track, home to the Formula One United States Grand Prix, is easily accessible from the hotel. Enjoy the beauty of central Texas with a visit to Barton Springs, featuring four natural springs on the grounds of Zilker Park. Barton Springs Pool is a man-made swimming pool fed by the natural spring water, and is popular year round with an average water temperature of 68 degrees. Nicknamed the "Live Music Capital of the World," Austin boasts many great music venues, bars and night clubs throughout the 6th Street arts and entertainment district, which hosts the annual South by Southwest (SXSW) interactive music and film festival. Many great restaurants can be found in the surrounding area. This Austin, TX hotel offers many fine features and amenities, including: •Free continental breakfast •Free coffee •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free local calls After a busy day of meetings or sightseeing, relax and enjoy a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool and a workout in our exercise room. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences like the public computer with Internet access, in-room desks, and access to copy and fax services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with flat-screen televisions, microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature sofa sleepers, wet bars and whirlpool bathtubs. A safe deposit box and laundry facilities are available on the premises for added guest convenience. Whether traveling for business, vacationing with the family or taking a road trip with friends, the Quality Inn & Suites Airport hotel offers you ideal accommodations, affordable rates and Texas-style hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Austin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Austin
Quality Inn Del Valle
Del Valle Quality Inn
Quality Inn Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing