We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central
Ranked #122 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could be Better”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had to change rooms several times. The first time they didn't have a key to room safe so we had to change. Then the shower broke and we had to move. Apparently the maid broke it while cleaning so they had to move us. They didn't even offer to help with the move. The hotel computer rarely worked so I wasn't able to print directions or my boarding pass for my return flight. This seemed to be acceptable. One morning biscuits and gravy were advertised yet they had no biscuits. While most of these things are minor in the scheme of things it keeps the rating at average. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly enough so if they can work out the little things this could have been a great trip

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbyrnes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I would like to thank you for your feedback. We use all feedback as a learning tool so when you take your time out of your busy day to let us know how we are doing and what we need to improve on our staff takes it to heart becasuse we want to be a great hotel guest love. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    18
    15
    11
See reviews for
35
27
5
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Everything at this hotel was wonderful, especially the personal assistance provided by Lesley Easley, the GM. I left a shirt in the closet of my room and Lesley personally came to my aid with a solution that was "above and beyond." I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone and again thank Lesley and her staff for all their efforts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJBarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We would like to thank you for your warm feedback. We try to go above and beyound for our guest and treat them like family. We are so happy that your stay here was great and we are looking forward to serving you again. Thank you once again for your warm feedback.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel was the most affordable one that had last minute availability for SXSW music fest. Check in is at 3 and parking is free. However, we got stuck in a smoking room, and two of us had asthma, so that night was torture, because the hotel was completely booked. We were able to open the window (on the 4th floor) and yes it opens all the way up. I don't know how safe that would be if you have children staying with you.

The next morning, the person at the desk was happy to switch us to a new non-smoking room.

It's about a 10 minute drive from 6th street. and there's lots of food options a short drive away.

The shower gets really hot, but the water pressure in the toilet is really bad.

The free breakfast is standard carb-heavy pastries, powdered eggs, and plastic bacon.

The cookies at the desk are really good.

Parking is free.

The staff is friendly, but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: ask for non-smoking room. The smoking floors smell horrible (not just smoke smell).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Reasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback all reviews help us to build a better hotel and staff to service our guest and become a Great hotel guest love.

Thank You!
Lesley Easley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overall the staff was extremely cordial and professional. The GM, Ms. Easley is extremely hospitable and ensures that your stay is comfortable. I travel to Austin quite a bit on business and there is no other place that I stay but here. They certainly treat you like family as soon as you walk in the door. The breakfast area is always clean and the equipment if always functioning properly. Keep up the great work and see y'all soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank for your postive feedback we are so happy your stay was great. We are looking forward to your return. We do try to treat our guest like family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Overall the staff were professional and helpful in ensuring my stay was comfortable. The GM did show extreme attention to overall accommodations. The breakfast area presentation was clean and always stocked to meet the needs of the patrons. The front desk staff did follow up with calls to the room to make sure that I was well accommodated. The hotel is centrally located in the Austin market for those needing to conduct business throughout the area. There were many eating establishments in the immediate area to satisfy different taste. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback we apprciate the time you took to give us a review we take all reviews good or bad and use them as a learning tool to help all of us to give great customer service. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We were put in the fourth floor in a "smoke free room". As soon as we got off the elevator we smelled cigarette smoke. The closer to the room we got the, stronger the smell. It was very strong outside our room. As if someone was smoking next to me. Our room also smelled strong. So we called the front desk and he said sorry but we are sold out. Even when I told him I would get sick with a migraine the worker didn't care. I was also worried we would stink like a casino at our job training the next day. We had prepaid so we were stuck. Not going back there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingersr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We would like to thank you for your honest feedback, your feedback helps us to make the neassary changes to be a great hotel were you feel your treated as family. Sorry for any inconvience we may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Benito
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

These is my second time reserving rooms for our school district and we will always come back due to the great service we have received. Lesley Clark Easley has been a great help in assisting with the reservations. I have had to cancel and add a couple of rooms and she has been patient with me. Great service. No complaints.

Room Tip: For business speak to Lesley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melyssa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback Me and my staff love serving you and your groups. Thank you for your continue loyalty. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Hampton Inn Austin-North at I-35 and Hwy 183
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central

Property: Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central
Address: 8500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78753-5646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the North Austin area is the beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel conveniently located off of the IH 35 and Hwy 183. This gorgeous hotel with 101 over sized guest rooms is within 10 minutes of downtown Austin where guests can enjoy the famed 6th Street, the Texas State Capitol, the Austin Convention Center, and the UT campus. The Holiday Inn Express is 20 minutes from Austin-Bergstrom Airport. In addition, we are less than 15 miles from Lake Travis, the Bob Bullock Museum/IMAX Theater, the Austin Children s Museum, and the Frank Erwin Center. Finally, there are several shopping malls within a ten mile radius. A few of the many companies located near us include MCI, Dell Computers, Applied Materials, Apple Computers, and Samsung. The Holiday Inn Express in North Austin is perfect for the business traveler. We offer complimentary high-speed Internet (both wired and wireless) access in all of the guest rooms. All of our guest rooms have spacious working desks with ergonomic chairs, and desk phones with speaker capabilities, data port, and voice mail. Each morning guests can enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast, which includes fresh, warm cinnamon rolls, Smart Roast Coffee, and many more items that will more than satisfy any guest's hunger. Above all, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel s professional staff awaits the opportunity to attend to your every need. Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing