We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austin DoubleTree” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Ranked #58 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Austin, United States
1 review
“Austin DoubleTree”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The room I stayed in was small for the price, but the over-priced ammenties like snacks and drinks and the lack of basic items like a refrigerator and microwave make this an undesireable location for my purposes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    298
    174
    97
    48
See reviews for
219
163
60
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Nice hotel. Very clean. Friendly staff. Free parking (which is a huge plus in Austin.) When I walked in, I asked what's within walking distance and was told, "depends on what you mean by walking distance," which means there's nothing really close (except for the Denny's next door). My biggest complaints were that they don't have bins for recycling and the lobby and restaurant were very cold (in May). Next time, I'd rather stay at a Hampton Inn just because there was no fridge or microwave in the room. I had a view of cemetery (but I didn't mind considering that the alternative a view of the highway). Big plus - the window opens! Also, ice cold water (some with fruit, some plain) was always available in the lobby. That was really nice, especially considering we had no fridge and weren't offered the normal Hilton Honors water. The warm cookies upon arrival were great, and my Hilton Honors membership scored free breakfast buffet (normally $13) as well. Our room was a very good size, comfortable, pretty, and very quiet. I recommend this hotel if a fridge isn't important to you, and if you don't mind taking a car (or a long walk) when you go out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were traveling for business in the downtown area and the location of the hotel was a definite bonus. The staff was friendly when we arrived as well as when we checked out. The room was very clean and well-maintained. Beds were comfy. A/C worked very well, which is a must for me when I'm in Austin. The staff at breakfast was also very friendly and helpful. The food was good and there was a great selection. I will definitely stay here again when I am in Austin!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rebekah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I love the location of this hotel! We walked to the Capitol State building, the Texas university art museum, the Bullock museum of history, and 6th street, where there are many great restaurants and shopping. There is ample free parking. they give you warm cookies as you check in. There is a pot of fresh good coffee in the morning and a a container of ice cold water with oranges and lemon the whole day for when you get thirsty from walking outside. There is a nice lobby with a big screen TV where you can relax, a bar to hang out at night and an office center. WiFi is free. The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom a good size, stocked with nice amenities. There is a coffee maker and a microwave but no fridge. My only little complain is that the aircon is situated beside one of the bed (we had a 2 queen bed) and blowing directly into the bed and since I like it cold, I did not mind it but my husband complained about being cold. Other than that, I love my stay here. The staff at check in provided list of restaurants near by, they were friendly and helpful. They would also call a cab for you. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanberry, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a nice hotel with a great staff and comfortable rooms. The location is good and easy to get to. The only real issue that I had was that there weren't enough coffee packets or creamer in the room even though I requested extra. Also the breakfast buffet was just okay. The food was lukewarm, and the bacon was perfect one day, then greasy and limp the next. Also I like my breakfast potatoes to be fried, not just warmed up. But the staff was great, and the coffee and fruit were very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Librarian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our hotel stay only involved one night in Austin, Texas, but it was very pleasant in all respects. The hotel staff was professional and cordial and we would recommend this Doubletree location to other family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

A traveler's resting place is how I would describe this place. The front desk personnel were friendly and courteous. There is a very basic restaurant on site as well as a bar. The mood was upbeat and happy. Rooms were well kept, beds comfortable and bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gopal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides a homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing