We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Nearby Hotels
$181
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$258
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Austin Central(Austin)(Great Value!)
$109
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$269
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lone Star Court(Austin)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ella(Austin)
$351
$329
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveler rating
352
332
198
106
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
332
198
106
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treefrank erwin centerwarm cookiesnice hotelclose to downtownroad noisewithin walking distanceconvenient locationwould stay here againeasy accessbeds were comfortableutdennysproximityconvenienceuber
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
753 - 758 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is my first time writing a review, but our experience was so bad that I thought others should know to not stay here! We arrived, and was greeted by a rude front staff. We took a hot elevator ride up to an okay room. The bed wasn't that comfortable, and the bathroom door would not close. Around 9pm that night there was a bad storm and all of the electricity went out. I understand they had no control over the storm, but an hour later after the storm ended and the rest of the block had power, we were still left without a/c (Texas Summer), completely pitch black room (might I add this is right next to a cemetery). Around midnight my husband went down to see if they knew when the power would be back on, and the front staff rudely told him that the only thing they could would refund our room and leave that night. We had our sleeping 4 year old, a dark room and an elevator that would not work, it was not practical at all to do. The next morning instead of saying we are sorry, even giving a complimentary breakfast they just took our keys and that was that. Would never recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues experienced during the power outage and will use your comments to better our practices when dealing with such issues in the future. We appreciate your feedback and if you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Dirty floors, filthy window - so filthy we couldn't see the view out of it, bartender with gross habits sums up this review.
Our entry and bathroom floor was sticky/filthy. The hallway carpet outside of our room was dirty - a used q-tip was at our neighbors door. Our bathroom sink dripped. The ceiling above the tub had a great growth of black mold as well as growing on the caulking around the tub.
The bartender downstairs was eating chips, wiping that hand on his apron and cutting up limes and lemons for the bar. No gloves, no hand washing - very unhealthy and disgusting!
Front desk staff were very nice but that would not entice me to come back ever again,
Do Not Stay Here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room and other areas of the hotel. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests to have confidence in our product. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff to address some of the areas you mentioned. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We got to the hotel around 4pm. Upon entering the halls there was no AC it was hot and muggy. We entered the room, also hot. The window unit was not working. We called the front desk, spoke with Mike who was surly. He responded "did you try the air?" When we explained we had been there 45 minutes and it was 78.9 degrees they told us to give t a chance to cool off. Maintenance FINALLY came. We were sweating. After being in this room THREE hours and the air conditioner being in pieces they finally decided it was beyond repair and sent us to another room. This room had the same problem except it was hotter. We called the front desk and Mike was still not helpful saying the hotel was 100% full when it was not we overheard him say it was only 60%. After refusing the rooms they offered that had "damp carpet" or our original room that they supposedly repaired the AC.. The maintenance man was able to transfer us to a regular room... Hmm guess it really wasn't at 100% occupancy. By this time it was around 1030 at night and our evening plans had been ruined. Will NOT stay here again and will tell others not to either. I was very disappointed because I love Double Tree and hope this is not a reflection of the direction the chain is headed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris10dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.


Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

NO A/C in hall areas'- bizarre no trashcans in room or bathroom turn on A.C in halls, would make for a better experience Denny's in parking lot convenient carpet in room was sticky...not sure why not comfortable walking around with shoes off

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice hotel, close to downtown, clean accommodations, but only two luggage carts in this large hotel. My wife is disabled, and we had to accept the kindness of other guests to help move luggage from our vehicle to our room. If you are traveling light then this is a good place to stay. If you see a cart, GRAB IT!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Chairman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews