We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Ranked #50 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Denver, United States
1 review
“Convenient location, great stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel was easy to get to, very close to the heart of downtown. Everyone was friendly and took care of my entire family. We had several rooms in the hotel, all booked separately, which took time and effort to treat us as a group, and we couldn't have been more satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    310
    176
    98
    49
See reviews for
226
163
62
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice tidy room and friendly staff. We had rental bikes and got around fine from this location and used the city bus several times with a stop just blocks from the hotel. Our first room had a broken air conditioner, but they moved us to a much nicer room and all was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved the convenient location of the Double-Tree near the University in Austin, TX. We had a great time in Austin, and our hotel seemed to always be just a 10-15 minute drive from everything we wanted to do. It was great to be able to get back to the room to rest or freshen up, and when we did, our room was definitely an inviting and comfortable place to be. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank kjcara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The room had a strong odor to it..We had to be moved rooms..The bed I had trouble sleeping on.. The price seemed high..I was not impressed with the front desk..Breakfast was very good..I personally will look elsewhere when the need arises again..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjc1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear cjc1977

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our property, your clean room and a qualtiy breakfast. However, I would like to apologize for the odor in the room and an uncomfortable night sleep you experienced, as this is not a reflection of the standards we have set for our property. The issue has been resolved and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn back your loyalty by providing quality service in all areas during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Not as close to downtown as we thought, about a 25-30 minute walk and not the prettiest walk- Hotels in downtown Austin in general seem expensive, worth exploring other options, such as renting out a condo or apartment /. home for the weekend. The staff was not super helpful and seemed fairly indifferent to our stay. Breakfast not included at this hotel- the Denny's across the street a better value than the hotel breakfast.

Room Tip: Explore alternative housing rentals versus hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcacuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Vcacuna,

The location of the property is near downtown but we recommend a short 3 minute, $10 cab ride to bring you to the downtown hot spots. As you point out we are proud to offer a great value to the expensive downtown hotels. My apologies that the service you encountered was not up to our standards. I will make sure to correct this issue. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn back your loyalty by providing quality service in all areas during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived on Easter Sunday in the afternoon after driving from San Antonio. Though we were early the staff graciously was able to accommodate my request for an early check-in due to an allergy-related headache (oh, TX oak pollen!). Our room, a double queen, was spotless and the air temperature was perfect to allow a nap with the hopes of alleviating my headache. (I've checked into other hotels where the cleaning staff had the air conditioning blasting only for me to arrive to a room that felt like a meat locker!) The updated bathroom was spacious and very clean, as I would expect. I will say this, however, our bathtub faucet/shower did drip unless pushed extremely hard to the furthest point. I didn't report it to the hotel staff because I really just wanted to rest and settle in. Though the room contained two queen beds there was more than ample space to settle in with three sets of luggage and carry-on bags. There was a fair-sized flat screen television and a large desk, allowing the three of us to not feel that we were practically on top of one another or tripping over suitcases during our two day stay.

This location is just blocks from UT campus which is very convenient. Easy on, easy off the interstate. Please note is is NOT really walking distance downtown (look at a map before you book!). There is a Denny's "retro-1950's"-style diner adjacent to the hotel parking which worked out nicely for the two teenagers traveling with me who needed to eat. The pool is outside, so swimming was not an option during our stay since it was early April. And we love being able to get the complimentary Wall Street Journal each morning.

I would definitely stay at this Doubletree again. For the record, I am a Hilton Honors member and have a fair amount of travel history with many levels of Hilton properties throughout the country so I consider my review here fair and balanced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissElizabeth007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear MissElizabeth 2007,

Thank you very much for your great review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a valued well travelled Hilton Honnors member we understand your needs and expectations. We proud ourself to go above and beyond to make sure that all of our guests are satisfied with their stay.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the future Miss Elizabeth!

Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

So this Doubletree is a bit further from downtown, but closer to the convention center. These are both good things. If you want to go down to sixth street, it is an easy less than 2 mile walk with sidewalks the whole way. The hotel itself is perfectly acceptable, decent fitness room and pool, with a decent breakfast. The rooms were adequate, although the showers were a bit on the weak side. Staff was helpful and overall the hotel was clean and neat. After seeing the rooms some co-workers had at other hotels nearby, this place was a bargain.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the side away from the highway for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Wanderingkale,

As a very well traveled guest we really appreciate your great comments about our property. We are proud to offer our guests good service, a nice spacious clean room within proximity to the downtown hot spots and convention center at a great value.

We hope to see you again soon in the future!

PS Bring the co-workers :)

Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
0.7 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing