We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great economical, clean, quiet place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Ranked #56 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Heating cooling unit blower noisy and difficult to adjust temperature, otherwise okay to stay. Staff friendly, great parking, right of the freeway, one mile from downtown. Cemetery view is not great to look at, but very quiet compared to road noise from the freeway side. Lounge and bar area great place to gather or meet.

Room Tip: Cemetery view is not great to look at, but quiet and better than the freeway view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the malfunctioning HVAC and we’ve resolved the problem with our maintenance team. We appreciate your feedback and we're happy to hear this issue didn't take away from the other aspects of the hotel. We hope you will choose us again when in Austin.

Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 985 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very quiet and clean. Even though the hotel was fully booked there wasn't much traffic. The room was quiet and we were thankful for that since we were headed to bed by 9 pm. The staff was very accomodating by lengthening our check out to 3 pm due to running the marathon. We ate dinner and lunch in the restaraunt inside the hotel. Both times were empty; the food was very fresh and flavorful. The staff was courteous. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great bed and pillows and cleanliness. Great marathon-useful support. Bill had to be revised three times til accurate. Some staff great, others pro forma. Food: walk downtown!!! --and use the 15th St. crossing rather than the cumbersome 20th St. Bridge, unless you're headed for the University.

Room Tip: Rooms on west have downtown views and I-35 traffic noise. Windows need cleaning!!!! Three takes unti...
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were here for our usual couples night downtown, which usually involves a Hotwire booking so we don't have to drive. Having stayed in this hotel several years ago, and it was so bad, I was hesitant to go back this time. However, I got a great rate so decided to ride it out. Glad I did!! While the location isn't within walking distance for a downtown evening, it's a fairly close cab ride away. It was about a $6 or $7 fare to get to 4th & Colorado. If you're visiting UT, it's a perfect location. We were close to the interstate, and didn't experience any noise issues. Ask for a room on the upper floors facing downtown. You could see nothing but the UT stadium from ours. Bed was super-comfy, with great feather pillows & decent linens. Room was on the small side, but enough room for two adults (and probably two children in a double room, but I wouldn't do four adults). We had an excellent breakfast delivered by room service. Nothing overly exciting on the menu, but the do the classics well. They need at least one soda that is both caffeine free & diet. Service was friendly & efficient, decor is contemporary with bright colors (pops of orange). There is a small bar in the lobby area. Recommended for business, family, solo, or couples who are not shooting for a romantic evening. Not recommended for a romantic couples location if you're trying to impress.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing downtown. Specifically ask for a room that doesn't face the stadium.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice room. Not the best location, but used hotwire and unsure. Easy drive to eberywhere. Room was clean and nice- only problem was weird heating/air system that blows cold air under the system after set temp acheived.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxanne207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that you had issues with the HVAC system and have addressed that with our maintenance staff. We hope the next time you're in the area you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Wim Puttemans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very nice place and very affordable. Did not try the breakfast there, but liked that there was a restaurant within the parking lot to have breakfast at. Bed was very comfortable. Only minor dislike is very close to I35, so I could hear traffic. Not bad, but still could hear it. I would say here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of the most pleasant hotels in bustling Austin. Adjacent to IH-35 but not noisy. Great staff, very adequate restaurant and bar. For some reason even the cookie tastes a little better here at DoubleTree University.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevilDog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay and for your kind words regarding our staff and amenities. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the warm Doubletree cookie and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back with another warm cookie and the great service you have come to enjoy.

Shay Bourgeois, Front Office Manager 512-479-4000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area

Address: 1617 North Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $146 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing