We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Ranked #56 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed one night while visiting family in Austin. It was a nice clean hotel, convenient to the freeway. We used the pool in the afternoon. It was decent - no hot tub. We drove to 6th St Saturday night and it was just a few minutes away. Our room was on the 5th floor and on the I35 side of the hotel, and we didn't hear freeway traffic. We also had the breakfast buffet the next morning. We were a little late getting down there and they were starting to pick things up. But one of the waitresses told my husband they would make him some more pancakes and she came back to the table with a few pancakes for him. And she offered my friend some more fresh fruit from the kitchen. She was very sweet.
Overall it was a nice hotel, clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was convenient. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 985 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in accommodating my needs. Enjoyed the fitness room and outdoor pool, both very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of selections. Room service was prompt, and the food quite good. Rooms were comfortable and clean. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of trees. If you want a view, ask for a room on the fourth floor or higher.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cb3adef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I would definitely come back here.

i LOVE THE WARM COOKIES!!!

Our check in was easy and our room was very clean and spacious.

it is not far from downtown as long as you have a ride/car

I would like to see more of a nicer bar in the lobby area.. but that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the kind comments and feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is much appreciated. We look forward to your return to our hotel while in Austin in the future.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Everything about this hotel (with the exception of the cookies) was just "meh." We chose the hotel because my coworker and I were here on business and are both Hilton Honors club members. The service was good and the rooms were clean, but there was nothing fantastic about this property. The view from my room (of which I'm including a photo) was of a cemetery...not awesome. If I had stay somewhere else in the hotel I would've gotten to choose between a view of I-35 or the Denny's parking lot. At least the cemetery was quiet. (No zombie attacks are part of the reason I rated this hotel so high.) Additionally, there were things about the room that seemed just off: a very musty smell, flat sheets being used as fitted, lighting in the bathroom so dim it makes candlelit dinners seem as bright as the second coming, etc. As far as the "pros": despite the view the location is decent for school visits and game days because it's both near the highway and not too far from the university (still would need to drive/cab unless you just love a good long walk), there is a Denny's next door if you like Denny's, the toiletries are high end (Crabtree and Evelyn...fancy) and then of course, there are the cookies, which constantly taunt you, beckoning you to walk down stairs (leave your pride in your room) and ask for just one more.

Overall, I would say at the rate we got the room we actually got a deal, but I would not pay much more to stay here, especially if I was just coming down to party on 6th street (too far to walk, and you shouldn't drink and drive!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leb9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University. I sincerely appreciate the positive comments regarding our amenities as well as the service you received. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service and exceeding our guests expectations. While I cannot change the view of the cemetary, the positives are the quietness of these rooms as well the cemetary is a historic state cemetary and many of our guests like to walk around and look at the historical figures buried in the cemetary. While our location is not in the heart of downtown, we are very convenient to the University of Texas as well we provide complimentary parking at our location. Thank you again for your business as we look forward to your return.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Rooms were quiet and very clean. The staff was very friendly and the cookie I got when I checked in was very good. The lighting in the bathrooms could have been a little brighter for putting on make-up. But overall, a great and clean hotel. Great location to get downtown. We love to stay here when we come for baseball games at Disch-Faulk field.

Room Tip: Hotel is centrally located - close to just about anything. I found my room to be exceptionally quie...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate the kind comments regarding your stay and was happy to see that you enjoyed your time while at the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University. We look forward to your return to our hotel the next time you visit Austin.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on an anniversary trip to Austin. The price, location, and Hilton amenities made it our choice for the vacation. All in all, it was a great choice! We paid a little extra to get a downtown view on a higher floor which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. The bed was also great! This would be an ideal location if you were planning a visit to UT as it is just across the I-35 overpass. Close proximity to the capitol and downtown. It is also in walking distance to some great restaurants (East Side Cafe, Vivo, El Chile, Players and Hoovers). Would recommend this to singles, couples, and families.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyboy549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the positive response and good feedback as your feedback will be used to provide positive reinforcement with our associates. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to your return to the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Friendly staff, nice/clean room, bar in the lobby and breakfast in the morning. $8 cab ride to downtown. Can't ask for much more! Just do yourself a favor and don't read the nutritional facts on the cookie. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FenderBender2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate your kind comments and will certainly pass them along to the team members. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University and we look forward to your return when in the Austin area.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area

Address: 1617 North Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $146 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing