We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and walking distance to UT Austin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Ranked #57 of 197 Hotels in Austin
texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and walking distance to UT Austin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Staff changed the room for us.Towels were not there when we checked in.Good service recovery.
Very close to UT Austin.Great to stay for one night when you are visiting your child in college.very close to Denny's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shajijiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback regarding the towels. Your feedback is important to our continued success and will certainly be communicated to our team to ensure we continue to move forward. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University while in Austin. We look forward to your return.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    300
    175
    97
    48
See reviews for
219
163
60
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I don't know how many hotels that you all have stayed in, but I have stayed in several and this one rates as as one of the poorest. The only good thing about this hotel is location to 6th street and you get a GREAT cookie upon checking. Outside of the aforementioned factors, you have a hotel that is next door to a cemetery; looks nice at first glance, until you realize that lighting is bad, the AC is inoperable (it was hot when we arrived to our room at 830 in the evening. We set the AC to 68, didn't feel like anything below 80), and your king size suite is really a queen bed... Although I received a deal through hotwire, I don't think this hotel is worth the money. The morning crew was rude and when I voiced my dismay about my room, the concierge brushed it off as a third party booking issue. This wasn't my first trip using hotwire and other hotels allowed me to choose my room, I won't ever book at this doubletree ever again, at least not intentionally. Next time I want to hang out in Austin, I may have to break down and pay $200 plus for Embassy Suites...

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure you get a room of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you're here to visit campus or go to a game you can't beat the location. Rooms are nice and the service is quite friendly. Parking is super easy and free.

If you're traveling on business, keep looking. The wifi is virtually unusable and the hotel sits in an area with medium to poor cell service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your feedback about the speed of our wireless internet service at our hotel. We’re very sorry that it wasn’t working well during your stay. We’re currently updating the wireless system and hope to have a faster internet experience soon. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll consider staying with us again.

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wanted to be close to 6th street but not in the middle of all the craziness.

Staff was very friendly, room very clean and easy access to everything in Austin.

Price was right, will stay again

Room Tip: Interesting item, there is a cemetery behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSHotelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly pass along your kind comments to our team members. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return to the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University while in the Austin area.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very friendly front desk and staff. Nice property been coming to for years. Dennys rest in parking lot can walk to.
Room tip: if you like quiet, ask for a room facing the cemetery (seriously) vs the other rooms facing the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the kind comments regarding the service you receive from the front desk staff. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay as well continue to return to our hotel. I will certainly pass along your positive comments to the entire team to review and provide some positive reinforcement which always help in maintaining a positive customer focused team. We look forward to your return to the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University while in the Austin Area.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

My recent stay (May 2012) was probably one of the worst I have had ant any Hilton property. Stayed for 3 days leaving early to get out of the place. Two days the room was never made up. I had to call the front desk for linens and towels. The restaurant ran out of the more popular foods entrees. The breakfast bar was disgusting, old eggs (dried out) selections that had run out, and very poor service. The bar ran even ran out of some liquor. I asked why the run-outs and was told there was a concert across the street at the University, I asked if there were frequent concerts and was told that there were...if so, why did they run out of food and liquor? I lay all the problems at the feet of poor management...even the employees were shaking their heads in amazement of how poor the management was

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your feedback as it is through feedback such as yours that we can continue to improve. I certainly understand your frustration and share your concern. I can assure you that all feedback is taken very seriously and we will review your feedback to help make improvements moving forward.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level Contributor
344 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

At the end of a long road trip I booked the hotel for the wrong day - none canceling through hotels.com. The staff were great in helping us chafe the reservation without charging us. The hotel is a great location and very nice too. We will return here. Thanks again Bruce.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmccauley2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the kind comments regarding the service you received and will most certainly pass your comments along to Bruce. We pride ourselves in putting ourselves in our guests shoes and I was happy to see that Bruce provided a solution. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides a homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing