We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected from a Doubletree Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Ranked #52 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what I expected from a Doubletree Hotel...”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree Hotel in Austin for 2 nights and were pretty disappointed in our stay. The location wasn't too bad- you definatley needed a car to get to downtown where we mostly went but the distance wasn't bad, maybe 5 minutes or so away. But the hotel itself left a lot to be desired. Parking was complimentary, as was the yummy cookie we received at checkin but the advertised free wifi "throughout the hotel" worked awful. I wasn't able to log in once, but my husband was successful once in the parking lot. The bed was comfortable but the room itself could use much updating. The AC unit was partly off the wall, lots of scratches and missing paint off the walls, and the shower was pretty small. The staff seemed pretty friendly for the most part but I doubt if we end up back in the Austin area we would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileyrnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    322
    186
    102
    50
See reviews for
241
168
63
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Doubletree is a very nice, clean hotel, with friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay and were welcomed with a warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. Very delicious! We had difficulty finding the hotel, even with our GPS and had to ask for directions. We noticed that they provide a laundry area although it is not mentioned in their hotel policies. They also provide a laundry service. The room has no refrigerator or microwave oven. Also, a free breakfast is not provided. They do have their own restaurant and Denny's is next door. Overall, the quality was good---wish they had a refrigerator and free continental breakfast; that would have made it perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Pros: Newly updated interiors, good service and location.

Cons: Crazy loud AC unit. Seriously. Good thing I sleep like a rock. That could have just been my room, but I have no doubts if I wanted to change rooms the staff would be happy to do so.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel and staff are wonderful! The staff greeted us immediately, the room was in perfect condition, and even the room service was great! Great location, extremely close to campus and downtown!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hotel was clean and the rooms were spacious. Very modern feel, though the lighting was a little dark, but reasonable. The lounge was comfortable and the place was quiet despite it's location on a highway. I would actually say the location was good since it's only a couple miles from downtown (figure $6 cab fare to 6th Street). The staff was superb and extremely friendly; they quickly responded to anything that came up during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

When checking into the hotel asked if we could upgrade our room from a king suite to a room with 2 queen beds. The one hotel desk employee told us there were no queen bed rooms available. This was not true because I went on line and there were over 10 rooms available. Hotel staff did not tell us where the elevator was located nor were they helpful with answering other questions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Childress, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in August. The hotel is in the midst of a renovation, which they were very up front about. Having stayed here last year, I was able to compare the old rooms with the new. The new suites are very lovely. They were modern, yet very restful and comfortable. They include a kitchen as well as a living area and bedroom. However, I could've done without the constant hammering and drilling at 8:00 in the morning. I understand that a reno takes work, but couldn't they have started maybe after 10:00 a.m.? The night we arrived, the valet service was very poor. The valet manager was not working at the time, who is fanstastic. We were not offered any help with our bags whatsoever, in fact the guy just stood there while we took them out of our vehicle ourselves. That was a disappointment. When we got to the room, I was so excited to see that a movie was available that I've been wanting to watch. I couldn't find it on the menu, though. I called the front desk and the guy just said, he hasn't checked the movies lately and didn't know if it was showing or not. I thought he could've checked for me instead of just passing the buck to engineering. My only other beef was that they charge $10.95 for slow internet per night PER DEVICE! I thought this was ridiculous. My husband used his laptop, and I used an ipad so we were charged separately for that. Room service food was awesome. We had breakfast twice and dinner and dessert once and both times the food was served quickly and tasted fantastic! Overall, this is a nice hotel in a great location to downtown, just a few disappointments.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristint724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.7 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing