We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for a 2 bedroom suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Ranked #21 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Recommended for a 2 bedroom suite”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

There are not many hotels in downtown Austin where you can get a two bedroom suite, which makes this a very good cost effective choice for that reason alone. The hotel is comfortable and quiet and within a healthy walking distance of the main attractions. The river is about 1 mile away. The Capitol and the University campus are both an easy walk. The breakfast buffet is reasonably good if a little expensive. Parking is difficult if not using the hotel car park - which is also quite expensive - like all parking downtown. There is not much in the way of restaurants close by but local delivery of sandwiches until the early hours of the morning is available and very handy for late night arrivals. It is roughly a half hour drive to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have good views of the Capitol building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granada100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny C, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Granada100,

Thank you for leaving such a thorough review of our hotel and service. I am so glad you enjoyed your time as our guest. Our hotel is in the perfect location to allow peace and quiet while still maintaining short walking distance to most of Austin popular destinations. I apologize that you did find great value in our breakfast offerings and the many restaurants that are nearby our hotel. If you return to our hotel again, we have an expansive list for dining as well as late night offerings as well. If you need any assistance should you choose to return, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Danny Craven
daniel.craven@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    281
    94
    33
    14
See reviews for
254
136
23
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business but my family came along for leisure. Upon arrival, the desk clerk was unfriendly and treated my autistic son very rudely. She would not acknowledge him when he spoke to her. She needs to learn how to treat people who are disabled. When I asked her for directions to local grocery stores she said she could not help me and that I could google it on my smart phone. They advertise that the "free cookie" is a big deal but are reluctant to give them out to all guests. She said, "Oh do you want to give him the cookie with all the sugar?" This hotel is NOT for the disabled and NOT family friendly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny C, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Patty H,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am so sorry that your time as our guest was not enjoyable due to a challenging arrival and welcome. I would like to speak with you further about this visit; if you do not object, I can be reached at the email address below. I will be happy to call you directly around your schedule. Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Craven
daniel.craven@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The location is not ideal for exploring Austin. The rooms were decent enough. The elevator was awful and barely worked correctly. The staff, although pleasant, were not very good with service recovery. Will look at other options the next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wander2wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny C, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear 2wander2wonder,

Thank you for taking time to share you experience as our guest. I am so sorry to learn that you stay at our hotel was not outstanding. Our elevators were just recently modernized to help ensure our guests do not experience excessive delays for service to and from their suites. If you do not mind, I would enjoy the opportunity to speak with you further. If you do not object, please reach out to me at the address below. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Craven
daniel.craven@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times and have yet to be disappointed. Unlike many of the other hotels the rooms are large and it is very quiet. The room was about the same price as other hotels in the area. Staff is always friendly. The only down side is there are not many places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny C, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Anthony P,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to our hotel as well as leaving a review of your most recent visit. I am glad to learn that you have always enjoyed great service and been pleased with your suite when visiting. The next time you visit, please check in with our Bellmen/Concierge Team, as they have a number of great restaurant recommendations that are all within close walking distance to our hotel. I hope we may come to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Craven
daniel.craven@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Suites and had a fantastic stay while visiting with family. We felt very much at home because of all the extra space you have with a suite. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was larger than those in most hotels. Everyone was extremely nice and the cookies were warm and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny C, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sandra D,

Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review of our hotel and service. Our recently renovated hotel allows our guests to have a little extra space when stretching out to relax each night. I am so glad you enjoyed our cookies as well. Hopefully we may come to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Thank You,
Danny Craven
daniel.craven@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were impressed by this hotel. Customer service was excellent and all the staff remembered us and greeted us when we returned from our outings. The front desk was particularly helpful. Although the location wasn't perfect there is a complementary shuttle which will take you to restaurants, etc. The suite we had was spacious and perfect for our needs. All in all a very positive revue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KokoLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny C, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear KokoLB,

It truly makes my day to read such a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking some time to share you experience as our guest. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our Front Desk team so they may know how much you appreciated their hard work. Hopefully you may come back to Austin and return to the DoubleTree Suites again soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Craven
daniel.craven@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I took the kids for a baseball camp to Austin. The hotel room was nice enough but it was so loud I couldn't sleep. You can hear traffic all night and apparently there is a fire station nearby so you hear them withe siren all night as well. The room was not cleaned well during our stay. The lady would leave the room glasses dirty and not replace them. I had to ask for towels/washcloths more than once. The breakfast was supposed to be free the way I booked but I had to haggle with the front desk to get my 8 year olds meal covered. The breakfast buffet was frequestly out of stock but the ladies there worked hard to make things right. I would also mention there are not many restaurants within walking distance. And finally the parking deck is the worse. My key card never opened the gate. I had to park on a steep incline and call the desk to get the gate open every time. The spots in the dungeon were so tiny. I have a small SUV and we had to squeeze out of the car. The staff was nice and the rooms were large but I personally would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank azrazeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny C, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Azrazeus,

Thank you for leaving such a thorough review of your time as our guest. I am so sorry to learn that your experience was not enjoyable or worthy of a better rating. The challenges you mentioned - outside noise, hotel breakfast, and parking - certainly are troublesome but also preventable; I am sorry we did not better respond to your concerns to provide a solution. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about this recent visit. If you do not object, I can be reached at the address below.

Most Sincerely,
Danny Craven
daniel.craven@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Address: 303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#18 Business Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Austin. Enjoy a warm greeting with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at this comfortable hotel. Among Austin, Texas hotels, this DoubleTree hotel places you in the downtown business district and within minutes of all that the city has to offer. Walk to the University of Texas and the Texas State Capitol from our Austin, Texas hotel, which is 11 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. Visit the Sixth Street Entertainment District, Barton Springs Pool, or explore the area around this Austin hotel with our complimentary shuttle service. Corporate guests are in easy reach of many regional and national companies, the Austin Convention Center and favorite local restaurants and nightlife. Retreat to a spacious suite at the DoubleTree Suites Hotel Austin. All of our suites offer separate kitchens, living areas and private bedrooms in sophisticated surroundings. Upgrade to a two-bedroom suite, Penthouse or Executive suite for a wrap-around rooftop balcony with breathtaking city views. Host a meeting or event in this downtown Austin hotel's 5,000 sq. ft. function space, including the beautiful Rose Garden Terrace. Let our professional staff assist you from planning to execution. Stay fit in our fitness center, or relax in our heated, outdoor pool and patio deck. Savor delicious American or Southwestern cuisine in our 15th Street Cafe, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and then retire to our popular 15th Street Lounge. Book your stay at our Austin, Texas hotel and experience true Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing