We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Friendly staff! Looking foward to my next visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Ranked #22 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Temple, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Friendly staff! Looking foward to my next visit!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Austin. The capital is minutes away and there is a 7-11 within walking distance.
The rooms are spacious and very clean with a modern look. Loved the kitchen area, and not to mention the warm cookie that was given to us at check in.

The staff was very accommodating especially Jennifer and Chelsea at guest services. I wouldn't recommend Austin land and cattle restaurant for a family of 5 though as it would've cost us $200 just to dine there. Maybe somewhere a little more kid friendly :)

Our overall experience was excellent and we enjoyed having a balcony. Thank you so much for treating our family like your own!
Oh yes, the bellhops were awesome! See you very soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    281
    96
    33
    14
See reviews for
256
137
23
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The quality of the accomadations is quite good -- clean, not crowded. Our room faced 15th Street which made for interesting views but a lot of noise, 24 hours a day (!) from the street -- traffic, and sirens. Oh, the sirens! 15th Street is a major traffic artery in the Capitol area, so every emergency responder is going to use that street, sirens roaring.

The hotel is useful if you have business in the Texas state Capitol campus, which is a five-minute walk from the hotel. But, you are going to pay a hefty price for the location.

Parking is $20 a day extra, though you have in-and-out privileges. No breakfast is included, but if you eat what they offer (a standard continental breakfast AND eggs, bacon, sausage) you are going to pay a price that in other parts of the city will purchase you a 12-ounce T-bone dinner with baked potato and salad.

Those on Capitol business may find the location justifying the hefty prices. Others should look to hotels along the I35 corridor.

Room Tip: If I use this hotel again, I will ask for a room on the side of the hotel AWAY from 15th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was fine for an over night stay. Location was pretty good as we wanted to stay downtown. Pool was packed and somewhat small and very limited chairs to lay out and lounge in. Otherwise overall room was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Desiree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed the hotel. We arrived at 2pm and were able to check into our room. The gal that checked us in did not offer us the cookies, and I forgot to ask...how does that happen? The entire room (bedroom, bathroom, sitting room and kitchen) were all very clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, however, the mattress on the sofabed was horrible and I don't know how my daughter slept on it - you could feel the springs and there was no cushioning at all, so I would not count on using the sofabed in the future. The kitchen was nice - a small, full-size fridge, sink, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and a few dishes. I would stay here again and shop at the Whole Foods about 8 blocks away to stock the fridge, but I would be sure to buy some paper plates and plastic ware as there was only one set of silverware. The blackout drapes were awesome and it kept the room so dark I will remember to bring a nightlight with me next time.

The hotel is close to the capitol and about 9-blocks from 6th street. We did not mind the walk at all as we enjoy the exercise and it really is not a bad walk. The hotel lobby had 3 different types of chilled, fresh fruit/vegetable water available - very nice on a warm day. We had a car, and thankfully a small one, as I had read reviews about the size of the parking garage (and spaces) under the hotel - it is small and so are the spaces! If I had my Suburban with me I would have opted for valet parking, which looked like it was located right outside the main entrance of the hotel, with limited spaces. Self-parking is $19 and like most hotels, unfortunately, they charge for wifi, so be sure to consider those extra costs when booking a room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Wa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent two nights here this weekend and have nothing but great things to say about this property. I'd requested early arrival at noon on their website. I called from my drive in to ask if it was possible to check in before 11:00. The woman answering the phone said they had been planning on the noon check in but would hurry things up to be ready an hour earlier. They had our suite clean and waiting when we arrived just prior to 11:00 a.m. All the Upon Arrival requests were stocked in the suite. Everything in the suite worked perfectly, including the really nice TV's, kitchen appliances, AC, etc.
Danny the manager was such a gracious host and remembered our names every time we saw each other in passing. Our flight today is at 6:30 p.m. so he offered late check out at 4:00 p.m. which gave us time to visit the nearby history museum, have a late lunch at the Texas Chili Parlor next door and relax before our flight. Every staff person we met was friendly and helpful. When Malcom the concierge heard we were going to Austin Land and Cattle for dinner he ran up to the 15th floor and tucked a "complimentary appetizer" voucher under our door. He also arranged for the shuttle to take us to dinner and bring us back to the Doubletree afterward. We have always stayed at the Hilton downtown but this was such a nice visit thanks to Danny's hospitality that we'll be back here again!

Room Tip: Top (15th) floor corner suite with large terrace was fantastic. Especially with the view of the cap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drea389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear drea389,

Thank you so much for the feedback! We are so proud of the friendly and authentic service our staff provides and I'm so glad to hear that you got to experience it first hand! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Lee S. Bortner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When staff says a resturant is "within walking distance", that means within 6-7 blocks. Internet is restricted to only ONE device (even after paying). No free wifi. Comfy beds, nice big 2 room suites. Don't expect to watch TV as all stations are fuzzy. Overall still happy though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Conor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Conor T,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory. We have relayed your comments to the appropriate hotel management and are working towards fixing some of the problem areas you identified. I hope that you'll stay with us again in the future so we can provide you with a truly hospitable experience.

Sincerely,

Lee S. Bortner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although our meeting room didn't have FOLIAGE, the 'professional pictures' show a good representation of this hotel. The elevators need a serious overhaul, the front desk staff is really mediocre (but the EARLY-MORNING team is spectacular - and thanks to Bertha for her great service to our group all week!) and the parking garage is just plain scary. But the bar is lovely, bartender attentive and the rooms are large and comfy. Oh and the shuttle was a VERY pleasant bonus to take 8-9 of us to dinner - and pick us up! Close-by restaurants were good and the convenience store (7-11; of course - it's Texas!) had a good stock of hotel necessaries! The real downside was this hotel is up near the capital, and not down near 6th St. But it was quiet and we WERE there for a business trip...

Room Tip: Sleeping rooms on 2nd floor are the same floor as the meeting spaces - so decide if this is a good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Susan P,

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to host you at our hotel again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Lee S. Bortner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Address: 303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#18 Business Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Austin. Enjoy a warm greeting with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at this comfortable hotel. Among Austin, Texas hotels, this DoubleTree hotel places you in the downtown business district and within minutes of all that the city has to offer. Walk to the University of Texas and the Texas State Capitol from our Austin, Texas hotel, which is 11 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. Visit the Sixth Street Entertainment District, Barton Springs Pool, or explore the area around this Austin hotel with our complimentary shuttle service. Corporate guests are in easy reach of many regional and national companies, the Austin Convention Center and favorite local restaurants and nightlife. Retreat to a spacious suite at the DoubleTree Suites Hotel Austin. All of our suites offer separate kitchens, living areas and private bedrooms in sophisticated surroundings. Upgrade to a two-bedroom suite, Penthouse or Executive suite for a wrap-around rooftop balcony with breathtaking city views. Host a meeting or event in this downtown Austin hotel's 5,000 sq. ft. function space, including the beautiful Rose Garden Terrace. Let our professional staff assist you from planning to execution. Stay fit in our fitness center, or relax in our heated, outdoor pool and patio deck. Savor delicious American or Southwestern cuisine in our 15th Street Cafe, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and then retire to our popular 15th Street Lounge. Book your stay at our Austin, Texas hotel and experience true Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing