We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Austin Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Ranked #22 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Austin Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I traveled to Austin on a business trip. Myself and a collegue shared a 2 room suite. It was big, well maintained and the kitchenette was an added perk. It's also within walking distance of the State Capital. The staff was excellent. The front desk supervisor Danny was sooo nice as was the maintenance worker Russell! They were just effortlesslessy friendly. Not to mention the Double Tree cookies are the Pièce de résistance!

Room Tip: You gotta try the cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello CLoGo,

Thanks for the feedback! Our large one bedroom suites with a King or 2 Queen size beds are comfortable for single or double occupancy business trips like yours. Our kitchenettes are in every suite and are a popular amenity among business and leisure travelers alike. Thank you again for the comments and I will pass along your kind words to Danny and Russell. Come back to see us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Lee Bortner
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    264
    92
    30
    13
See reviews for
239
129
20
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel dozens of times over the years (through 2 complete remodels now, most recently within the past year or so) and I really enjoy this property.

Virtues:
--Great location (walking distance to the Capitol and UT)
--Every room is a legitimate, large 2 room suite, complete with kitchen and supplies, and a door separating the living and sleeping quarters
--Quiet rooms (very little room to room or floor to floor noise)
--Famous Doubletree cookies at check-in

Minor inconveniences:
--Only 2 elevators, which is kind of a small number for a meeting hotel with this many floors. It isn't uncommon, when the hotel is largely filled with attendees for an on site conference, for you to have to wait more than a time or two to find an open spot on one of the elevators.
--Pool is outdoors, limiting usefulness for a few months each year.

All in all, not a bad trade off for what are some of the quietest and most comfortable, spacious rooms I've visited.

Room Tip: If you can get an upper floor room (above 8 or so probably), it will decrease the likelihood of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopofTXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello TopofTXtraveler,

How great to hear honest feedback from a returning guest who’s experienced several of our hotel renovations. Unfortunately we can’t increase the number of guest elevators, but we are undergoing an elevator upgrade beginning this month which modernizes not only the cosmetics but also our elevators’ functional features. I really appreciate your kind words regarding the virtues of our hotel and hopefully in the near future we’ll be waiting at check in with your warm delicious Doubletree cookie and introduce you to our newly restored zip elevators!

Warm Regards,

Lee Bortner
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Room was large and clean. It is nice to have a kitchenette. But, one big selling factor to us (a family travelling for leisure) was the "heated" pool. The pool area looks lovely online, but don't be fooled. It was dirty and towels were not available. Also the pool is absolutely NOT HEATED. It was freezing, and basically entirely unusable. I would recommend staying downtown, near the lake, not uptown near the state house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corner1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Corner1002,

I’m sorry to hear your experience at our hotel was disappointing and appreciate you bringing your concern regarding our pool to our attention. We’ve taken measures to ensure our pool is better maintained and pool towels are stocked. Both of these procedures are standard and it is unacceptable for our guests to experience anything less. Our pool is heated and should be kept at an acceptable temperature year round. Thanks to your feedback we have informed our Director of Engineering to check for problems that may be impacting our pool’s temperature. Again, our apologies for your unsatisfactory experience and we hope you’ll stay with us again to experience our standard of service and quality mandated not only by the DoubleTree brand, but our team members as well.


Sincerely,

Lee Bortner
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is clean, but most of all it was extremely QUIET! We did not hear anything from other rooms or outside. When we woke up yesterday morning and looked outside we noticed the Austin Marathon going on right outside and we did not hear any cheering, etc until we opened our balcony window. The only drawback is that it is pretty far from my daughter's school, St. Edwards, but we might just overlook that inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristifow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Kristifow,

I'm so glad you had such a good time! One of the benefits of a hotel that is not directly located on the entertainment district is the quietness of our area. It’s good to know that even during a busy event like the Austin Marathon we can preserve that sense of tranquility, and I’m very glad to hear that this was your experience. Also, I can empathize regarding our proximity to Saint Edwards. I myself am a Hilltopper, and with traffic, getting to the campus can take a while. Nevertheless, I'm so thankful for your kind words and honest feedback and I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again any time you're in the area.

Kind Regards,

Lee Bortner
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went to Double Tree Suites this weekend for my birthday and I was blown away with how great the entire staff was. I was made to feel like a guest of honor from the minute I walked in. Danny at the front desk was extremely helpful and fun to chat with. I definitely would recommend anyone to check out this hotel. Besides the great front desk and housekeeping staff I was so impressed with the quality of their rooms. I definitely will be going back often! Thank you so much Double Tree staff! You made my birthday an event to remember!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanAS_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello RyanAS_86,

First let me start by saying Happy Belated Birthday! Sounds like it was a good one and we're so glad we could contribute towards that! Danny and the rest of the front desk and housekeeping teams are very good at what they do, and we really appreciate your kind words and recognition for them. Anytime you're in the area we'd love to have you again.

Again, Happy Birthday!

Warm Regards,

Lee Bortner
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very comfortable plush beds and bedding. Rooms were very clean & well appointed. Great location! A downer, internet service (except for AT&T) is not provided without a fee.
Overall, I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaVKingwood_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Diana,

It sounds like you enjoyed the overall feel and experience of the hotel minus the charge for guest room internet. I can understand your frustration with this, and I’m pleased to say that beginning in June of 2013, our basic wireless internet service will be offered free of charge to all guests. I greatly appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel including your recommendation, this means a great deal as I’m sure you know. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, I hope you come to see us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've stayed at one other Doubletree in the past, and it wasn't anything special, so I had low expectations coming in. That said, I was very surprised (in a very good way) at how nice this hotel is. We stayed in a 2-br suite - one room had a king bed, and the other had 2 queen beds. There was also a living room area and a kitchen.

Both bedrooms were very spacious. The decor in the room, and in the hotel overall, felt updated and modern. The bedding was comfortable, and the room was pretty clean. While there were only two elevators in the hotel, we never had to wait very long, so it works well.

Check-in was efficient, and they give you warm cookies, so that's a nice touch. As a Gold member, I got vouchers for free continental breakfast. I took advantage of that, and actually upgraded (for $3/person) to include hot meals (such as eggs, bacon, sausages, etc.) Breakfast tasted very good, so all in all, a nice deal for Gold members.

Location-wise, I know some people have complained about it. I mean, it's not super duper centrally located, but it's definitely conveniently located. We walked down to the main hub of Congress & 4th, and it took only 10 minutes. It was a short drive to Franklin Barbecue, and also a short drive to UT-Austin, so no complaints from us.

All in all, this hotel has made me reconsider my opinion of Doubletree (at least Doubletree Suites), and I'd have no problem staying here again, or recommending it to others!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dagongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello DGNYC78,

I’m so glad to hear you had such a pleasant experience at our hotel and thank you for the compliment regarding our décor. We completed a year-long full renovation March of 2012, so it’s nice to hear the changes are both apparent and appreciated. I’m also very happy to hear you felt treated especially well as a Gold Hilton Honors member. If you ever find yourself needing hotel accommodations in Austin, please think of us. We’d be happy to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Address: 303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#18 Business Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Austin. Enjoy a warm greeting with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at this comfortable hotel. Among Austin, Texas hotels, this DoubleTree hotel places you in the downtown business district and within minutes of all that the city has to offer. Walk to the University of Texas and the Texas State Capitol from our Austin, Texas hotel, which is 11 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. Visit the Sixth Street Entertainment District, Barton Springs Pool, or explore the area around this Austin hotel with our complimentary shuttle service. Corporate guests are in easy reach of many regional and national companies, the Austin Convention Center and favorite local restaurants and nightlife. Retreat to a spacious suite at the DoubleTree Suites Hotel Austin. All of our suites offer separate kitchens, living areas and private bedrooms in sophisticated surroundings. Upgrade to a two-bedroom suite, Penthouse or Executive suite for a wrap-around rooftop balcony with breathtaking city views. Host a meeting or event in this downtown Austin hotel's 5,000 sq. ft. function space, including the beautiful Rose Garden Terrace. Let our professional staff assist you from planning to execution. Stay fit in our fitness center, or relax in our heated, outdoor pool and patio deck. Savor delicious American or Southwestern cuisine in our 15th Street Cafe, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and then retire to our popular 15th Street Lounge. Book your stay at our Austin, Texas hotel and experience true Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing