We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Might be my favorite hotel in Austin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Ranked #22 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Might be my favorite hotel in Austin!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is clean, but most of all it was extremely QUIET! We did not hear anything from other rooms or outside. When we woke up yesterday morning and looked outside we noticed the Austin Marathon going on right outside and we did not hear any cheering, etc until we opened our balcony window. The only drawback is that it is pretty far from my daughter's school, St. Edwards, but we might just overlook that inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristifow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Kristifow,

I'm so glad you had such a good time! One of the benefits of a hotel that is not directly located on the entertainment district is the quietness of our area. It’s good to know that even during a busy event like the Austin Marathon we can preserve that sense of tranquility, and I’m very glad to hear that this was your experience. Also, I can empathize regarding our proximity to Saint Edwards. I myself am a Hilltopper, and with traffic, getting to the campus can take a while. Nevertheless, I'm so thankful for your kind words and honest feedback and I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again any time you're in the area.

Kind Regards,

Lee Bortner
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    278
    94
    32
    14
See reviews for
246
134
23
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went to Double Tree Suites this weekend for my birthday and I was blown away with how great the entire staff was. I was made to feel like a guest of honor from the minute I walked in. Danny at the front desk was extremely helpful and fun to chat with. I definitely would recommend anyone to check out this hotel. Besides the great front desk and housekeeping staff I was so impressed with the quality of their rooms. I definitely will be going back often! Thank you so much Double Tree staff! You made my birthday an event to remember!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanAS_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello RyanAS_86,

First let me start by saying Happy Belated Birthday! Sounds like it was a good one and we're so glad we could contribute towards that! Danny and the rest of the front desk and housekeeping teams are very good at what they do, and we really appreciate your kind words and recognition for them. Anytime you're in the area we'd love to have you again.

Again, Happy Birthday!

Warm Regards,

Lee Bortner
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very comfortable plush beds and bedding. Rooms were very clean & well appointed. Great location! A downer, internet service (except for AT&T) is not provided without a fee.
Overall, I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaVKingwood_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Diana,

It sounds like you enjoyed the overall feel and experience of the hotel minus the charge for guest room internet. I can understand your frustration with this, and I’m pleased to say that beginning in June of 2013, our basic wireless internet service will be offered free of charge to all guests. I greatly appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel including your recommendation, this means a great deal as I’m sure you know. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, I hope you come to see us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've stayed at one other Doubletree in the past, and it wasn't anything special, so I had low expectations coming in. That said, I was very surprised (in a very good way) at how nice this hotel is. We stayed in a 2-br suite - one room had a king bed, and the other had 2 queen beds. There was also a living room area and a kitchen.

Both bedrooms were very spacious. The decor in the room, and in the hotel overall, felt updated and modern. The bedding was comfortable, and the room was pretty clean. While there were only two elevators in the hotel, we never had to wait very long, so it works well.

Check-in was efficient, and they give you warm cookies, so that's a nice touch. As a Gold member, I got vouchers for free continental breakfast. I took advantage of that, and actually upgraded (for $3/person) to include hot meals (such as eggs, bacon, sausages, etc.) Breakfast tasted very good, so all in all, a nice deal for Gold members.

Location-wise, I know some people have complained about it. I mean, it's not super duper centrally located, but it's definitely conveniently located. We walked down to the main hub of Congress & 4th, and it took only 10 minutes. It was a short drive to Franklin Barbecue, and also a short drive to UT-Austin, so no complaints from us.

All in all, this hotel has made me reconsider my opinion of Doubletree (at least Doubletree Suites), and I'd have no problem staying here again, or recommending it to others!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dagongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello DGNYC78,

I’m so glad to hear you had such a pleasant experience at our hotel and thank you for the compliment regarding our décor. We completed a year-long full renovation March of 2012, so it’s nice to hear the changes are both apparent and appreciated. I’m also very happy to hear you felt treated especially well as a Gold Hilton Honors member. If you ever find yourself needing hotel accommodations in Austin, please think of us. We’d be happy to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was a very good experience when I stayed there last September. The location was very nice. It was bang opposite the Texas Medical Association where we had a meeting. The stay was very comfortable. The suite was very well-appointed, though I couldn't get one with a view of the Capitol, as the Hotel was fully booked. Places like the Bob Bullock State History Museum and Truluck's restaurant were walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saumya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments and TMA is a great neighbor of ours!
Safe travels and hope to see you again!

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales and
Wild about Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great hotel for a family that wants to be near UT Austin. Very good rooms, and everyone loves the cookies. Service was good. The only drawback is that there isn't much around the neighborhood without a bit of a walk. Not much in the way of nearby restaurants. You have a nice kithen, but no supermarket, just an unusually poorly stocked convenience store nearby. If you have kids, you really need a car to go anywhere they will like. This is a town for people who want to go to clubs. It is a very nice town, but the kids probably would have been happier in San Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TominLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Happy your family stayed with us and enjoyed our suites! They are perfect for a business traveler to a family of 6! I hope you heard and used our complimentary shuttle within a 2mile radius of hotel. This covers most of downtown's area including Whole Foods and HEB Grocery Stores. San Antonio huh? Well they do have that green creek downtown and Shamu... But hope you had a boat tour on our downtown Lady Bird Lake, or visited our Trail of Lights and Tree in Zilker Park, or had the best ice cream ever at Amy's, or saw a 3D movie at the IMAX theater, or experienced NYE at family friendly 1st NIght at Auditoreum Shores with live music, great food, and firework show, or... please call me or ask one of our bellman next time you're family's in ATX, we'll show you a great time full of wonderful memories!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales and
Wild about Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Traveled to Austin for a brief stay to attend my brother's wedding. I was with my sister and shared a Queen Suite. Room was spacious and had a separate living room and kitchenette. The hotel was clean. Area was okay but a bit desolate at night. Service staff were attentive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments, but 'desolate' is pretty extreme. I mean, we're not on or next to the entertainment districts and i'm happy to say we're close enough to downtown's entertainment districts to enjoy (7 blocks away) yet far enough away to miss the revelry, noise, and destitutes. And our complimentary shuttle van can take you from our front door to any downtown club, lounge, cafe, bar, shop, or restaurant you want. And just blocks surrounding our hotel is a Starbucks, the locally famous Chili Parlor, Cherry's Pizza, The Clay Pit Restaurant, and the Dog and Duck Pub, to name a few evening spots.

Thanks for staying with us and mentioning our clean suites and attentive staff!

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales and
Wild about Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Address: 303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#18 Business Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Austin. Enjoy a warm greeting with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at this comfortable hotel. Among Austin, Texas hotels, this DoubleTree hotel places you in the downtown business district and within minutes of all that the city has to offer. Walk to the University of Texas and the Texas State Capitol from our Austin, Texas hotel, which is 11 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. Visit the Sixth Street Entertainment District, Barton Springs Pool, or explore the area around this Austin hotel with our complimentary shuttle service. Corporate guests are in easy reach of many regional and national companies, the Austin Convention Center and favorite local restaurants and nightlife. Retreat to a spacious suite at the DoubleTree Suites Hotel Austin. All of our suites offer separate kitchens, living areas and private bedrooms in sophisticated surroundings. Upgrade to a two-bedroom suite, Penthouse or Executive suite for a wrap-around rooftop balcony with breathtaking city views. Host a meeting or event in this downtown Austin hotel's 5,000 sq. ft. function space, including the beautiful Rose Garden Terrace. Let our professional staff assist you from planning to execution. Stay fit in our fitness center, or relax in our heated, outdoor pool and patio deck. Savor delicious American or Southwestern cuisine in our 15th Street Cafe, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and then retire to our popular 15th Street Lounge. Book your stay at our Austin, Texas hotel and experience true Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing