We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Ranked #22 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Within walking distance of the State Capitol, and not far from the U.T. Campus, as well as all the night spots on historic 6th St. We had a 2 BR suite on the 8th floor. Staff are very friendly and courteous. Room was pretty good sized, flat screen TVs, up to date room furnishings, very nice bathrooms (read that as plural). Decent view of the city. If you drive, there is parking available underground, or you can use valet. One word of warning though. If you use the underground parking, it is cramped, so don't expect to fit a larger vehicle like a full size pickup, big SUV, or something like that. You'll have a tough time. It isn't the cheapest thing around, but in my view, you get what you pay for. By the way, they do take pets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi RussP from Washington!

We are close to many destination events, thank you for mentioning it! And happy you experienced our very popular 2 bedroom suites! They are perfect for families, girlfriends weekends, even work associates who burn the midnight oil working together in the living area yet have their own private bedroom and bath! And thank you for mentioning our cozy self parking underground garage, it's perfect for cars, but you're right, please don't try to park your King Ranch truck down there. Please let our bellmen assist with valet for larger vehicles. And we do love our 4 legged well behaved and pampered guests! We accept pets 40 lbs or smaller who must be registered with our Front Desk along with parent's cell phone numbers! And i will certainly share your staff comments to our team members! Thank you for noticing how friendly and courteous they are, we are in Texas and truly believe in Texas size hospitality! BTW, did you know our Capitol building is taller than our nations Capitol building!? Just a tidbit from Texas to Washington! HA!

Thanks again for the time to write and your feedback and here's to more fun and memorable travels!

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales and
Wild about Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    264
    92
    30
    13
See reviews for
239
129
20
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff was great, the rooms are a little outdated yet comfortable so no complaints, lots of dining choices very close by (walking distance), parking was not so easy and was not expecting to pay at this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear dynr,

Thanks for the comments and time to write. I am wondering though what you meant by "a little outdated yet comfortable" since we just completed a major renovation and surprised you didn't notice! I have to send you our 'before' and 'after' photos so you'll appreciate our transformation. It is a huge difference and our loyal repeat guests can certainly attest to that.

Ahhh, the parking. It is like treasure in downtown Austin as in most major downtown cities. Our nighlty self parking fees are very competitive and although our garage was made for cars and not Texas size King Ranch trucks we also offer Valet services.

Thanks again for the nice comments! Please let me know when your travels bring you back to ATX. I want to invite you for breakfast to tell you all about our renovation and show you our before photos!

Here's to safe and memorable travels,

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales and Marketing
and Wild about Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We wanted to get away from Dallas for the weekend and decided to stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin for the weekend prior to Halloween. Despite being a busy weekend for the hotel, we had exceptional service from every staff member we came into contact with, our rooms were cozy and well kept, cookies were warm upon arrival and the card in our room was personalized beyond the typically found generic ones from GMs. Also the proximity to 6th street, UT, the Capital building, and the museum made this the perfect hotel for our stay. We will certainly stay here again and recommend it to all of our friends and family visiting the area. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myearout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Myearout,

So happy you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel! And I can't wait to share your comments with our General Manager Joe Bolash, who prides himself in writing personal hand written welcome cards to our guests! He is one of a kind!

Our team members are use to busy weekends, think UT home football weekends, UT Graduation, SXSW, Texas Relays, Austin City Limits Festival, any and all outdoor festivals, Grand Prix, etc, etc, etc!! Gotta love Austin! Typically most weekends are busy for us due to our central downtown location and proximity to so many downtown events, festivals, marathons, and destination facilities. We certainly are happy to have you return and thank you so much for recommending us to your friends and family visiting ATX!

Here's to fun and memorable travels,

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Austin and
Wild about Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Was at doubletree as conference was at medical association across the street. Very nice hotel at a bargain price. Nice pool. Will return
Meals - huge portions
One plate good for 2
Staff friendly, knowledgeable

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Basl,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! We appreciate it much and hope to see you again soon. I will share your staff comments at our monthly all employee team meeting!
Happy you enjoyed the food too, our new Executive Chef Ryan comes to us from a locally well known and favorite restaurant and we're happy to have him!

Here's to memorable travels,

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Austin and
Wild about Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my first time staying at a DoubleTree Suites and was very happy with my experience. The suite was very clean and well-maintained. The bed was very comfortable, as expected from Hilton hotels. The bathrooms had modern fixtures with a great showerhead and good water pressure, although I found it inconvenient that there were no towel racks by the sink.

The sofa was modern and comfortable, perfect for watching TV. The kitchenette had a full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, dishes and utensils. The dishes didn't seem like it was touched for a long time, and the dishwasher didn't look clean to me. I ended up washing the dishes by hand before I used them, just to be safe.

Internet access is good for reading emails, surfing the web. The hotel also provides shuttle service within 5 miles, which is convenient. Overall, I liked my stay at this hotel and would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear iaccess,

Welcome first timer, to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Austin!

Glad you enjoyed our hotel, services, and amenities and I will certainly share your dishwasher/dishes feedback to our Executive Housekeeper.

Happy you also utilized our convenient 'Sweet Ride' complimentary shuttle service (a 10 passenger van) which is based upon availabiltiy (first come, first served) within a 2 MILE RADIUS of hotel.

And thank you much for your comments and recommendations!

To happy and memorable travels,

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales and
Wild About Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at DoubleTree Suites for 4 nights from Sep 23 to 27, 2012 for a business trip. They gave me one King-bed suite with a separate living room and kitchen.
The only reason why I picked this hotel was its location: it's close to U Texas at Austin, the State Capitol, downtown, etc., but it turned out to be much better than that.
The room was very spacious and there were microwave, refrigerator, toaster, dishwasher and a kitchenette. Moreover my room had an awesome view of the capitol building and the downtown Austin,
One added benefit was their free shuttle service to nearby locations.
I'll definitely stay here again next time when I visit Austin.
The day-time front desk staff member (I forgot her name) had the best smile I ever seen on any of the Hotel workers.
I'd give 5 stars for the location and 4 stars for everything else.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms command awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay_NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Jay NorCal,

You said it! We are not your ordinary hotel!

Jay, I'm so happy you found us and enjoyed our location, suites, services, and amenities!
I love, love, love to read we converted a newbie to a repeat guest! Please let me know when your travels bring you back to ATX! And thank you much for the 5 and 4 STAR status!

And I'll definately share your 'smile' comments with our front desk agents!

Here's to exciting and memorable travels,

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Austin and
Wild about Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This Doubletree property was recently renovated and provides large, spacious guest accommodations in like new, beautiful condition. However, the best attribute for the weary business traveler, or someone with mobility or other functional needs, is the fact that the property itself, it's lobby and hallways are not huge like some hotels. Travel from parking garage or valet to front desk to room is not an exhausting experience. The business center provides computer options (choose between a PC or iMac) and the printer is loaded with paper (no extra charge) although the room is smallish. The business center is a good option to avoid in room Internet charges if you are not a Hikton Gold or Diamond member. The little guest services store next to check in seems new since the renovations or maybe I don't remember it from previous stays. The store seems like an afterthought and is poorly stocked. The refrigerators (think dorm room size) with several in a row are on the floor which makes them impossible to see into in spite of their glass doors without crouching on the floor. I am willing pay high prices in these Hilton conveniences after a long day but this shop's paltry & inconvenient offerings just ran me off. In such a beautiful property with all other details so well finished, this shop is a disappointment to a weary traveler. Considering the kitchens in the suites, I can imagine an assortment of offerings that would allow a weary, privacy seeking guest some options to the in room dining menu. If you are staying here, consider stopping at the Starbucks or 7-11 down the street before you check in. The restaurant and in room dining are both good but, as always, the prices must also be a consideration. I had a caprese salad that was quite good in the restaurant although short on fresh basil. Restaurant and room service staff were incredibly polite and attentive. The valet area seemed understaffed during my stay at checkout. No one ever answered when I called down in advance for the car but were friendly and quick when I appeared in person. Check out (with some special requests to split my bill between credit cards - business card for room, personal card for food & drink) was a bit slow but after some conversation with the young woman it appeared she was new on the job and had never had to do something like that before. In the end, she got the job done and was pleasant enough about it. This hotel is in a terrific location and puts extra space into the guest rooms instead of the common areas. A design concept truly reflecting an Austin sense of cozy Texas hospitality. You will pay more to stay here than some other hotels between the room and parking rates plus Internet charges if you are not a Hilton Gold or Diamond customer. But if you can afford it, it is worth it. Really should get five stars...with a little more attention they will.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SESomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildaboutAustin, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear SESomers,

Thank you for such a thorough and honest account of our facility and services.

Our suites are larger than most and very spacious and comfortable, and you are also correct about our hotel size, offering 188 suites which makes it easier for us to know all our guests by name and face. We have a large loyal guest base and hope we made a new one out of you!

Although you did find our 'opportunity' and are correct again regarding our Gift Shop. It is new and we are still in the planning stages and 'tweaking' it. And working on upgrading and stocking it with useful and memorable austintatious items! Thank you much for the tips and promise upon your return you will enjoy a new shopping experience!

Yes! There is 24 hour 7-11 convenient store a block from our hotel and Starbucks is just caddy corner to the 7-11. We love them both and are so convenient to have nearby.

We work on our attention to detail daily and appreciate your feedback. Plus, your 5 Star rating is the best compliment ever!

Hope to see you return soon, and here's to exciting and memorable travels,

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Austin and
Wild about Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Address: 303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#18 Business Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Austin. Enjoy a warm greeting with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at this comfortable hotel. Among Austin, Texas hotels, this DoubleTree hotel places you in the downtown business district and within minutes of all that the city has to offer. Walk to the University of Texas and the Texas State Capitol from our Austin, Texas hotel, which is 11 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. Visit the Sixth Street Entertainment District, Barton Springs Pool, or explore the area around this Austin hotel with our complimentary shuttle service. Corporate guests are in easy reach of many regional and national companies, the Austin Convention Center and favorite local restaurants and nightlife. Retreat to a spacious suite at the DoubleTree Suites Hotel Austin. All of our suites offer separate kitchens, living areas and private bedrooms in sophisticated surroundings. Upgrade to a two-bedroom suite, Penthouse or Executive suite for a wrap-around rooftop balcony with breathtaking city views. Host a meeting or event in this downtown Austin hotel's 5,000 sq. ft. function space, including the beautiful Rose Garden Terrace. Let our professional staff assist you from planning to execution. Stay fit in our fitness center, or relax in our heated, outdoor pool and patio deck. Savor delicious American or Southwestern cuisine in our 15th Street Cafe, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and then retire to our popular 15th Street Lounge. Book your stay at our Austin, Texas hotel and experience true Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing