We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Nearby Hotels
$258
$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$140
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$150
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown(Austin)
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Austin(Austin)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
278
190
66
44
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
190
66
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuper shuttleroom was cleanaustin airportoatmealan early flightcomplimentary breakfasteasy accessthe breakfast areashort driveclose to downtowna great staywould stay here againconvenient locationbusiness tripfront desk staffhighwaydryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 602 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Because we had an early morning (6:30 a.m.) flight out of the Austin, TX airport (AUS) on Sunday, June 9th, for the sake of convenience, my husband and I opted to spend the night before the flight at an "airport hotel." We were not looking for luxury accommodations - we just wanted a decent, comfortable place to spend one night close to the airport and a shuttle to get us there on time early the next morning. Although I normally do a thorough search of reviews on hotels before booking, all I had was my iPhone, so I went straight to Expedia and found a vacancy at the Hampton Inn Austin/Airport for $113. on Expedia. Instead of booking through Expedia, I decided to call the hotel directly to confirm that they provided shuttle service. Rebecca answered my call and assured me that shuttle service to the airport was available at the hotel. When our cab arrived Saturday night to take us to the Hampton Inn Airport at the address on Governor's Row, the driver said, "That's not at the airport. It's about 15 minutes from the airport." Of course we were concerned, but because it was so late (10 p.m.) when we discovered the hotel was not in close proximity to the airport, we opted to keep the reservation and arrange an earlier shuttle for the next morning. Upon arrival at the hotel, we asked Rebecca why this hotel was being promoted as an "airport hotel" and we were told that it used to be one of the closest hotels to the airport, but now other hotels are much closer, including another Hampton Inn. Before we left the front desk, we arranged with Rebecca for an airport shuttle for 5:15 a.m., which we assumed would allow adequate time on a Sunday morning for our 15 minute ride to the airport for our 6:35 a.m. flight. The next morning we arrived at the front desk at 5:10 a.m. and waited for our shuttle. When it didn't arrive on time, we asked the person at the front desk where the driver was. That's when we learned that there was no Hampton Inn shuttle service (at least not at that time of day) and the arrangement was "airport shuttle by Yellow Cab" which they hotel pays for by voucher. The person at the front desk followed up with Yellow Cab in our behalf, and eventually cab arrived - 20 minutes late! At that point, we were concerned that we would miss our flight, but the stress intensified when we arrived at the SWA curb check-in and discovered a very, very long line of people attempting to be served by one agent. We ran inside and discovered another huge line, wrapping in on itself many times. At this point we were trying to determine what our options were and if we could still get out of AUS that same day without having to incur a huge price increase for a same day ticket purchase. When we finally got to the front of the line and were able to speak to an agent, we were told that our flight had been delayed by a few minutes, and if we checked our bags and ran, we might be able to make it. We asked if there were other flights available later in the day and were told that all flights that day were totally booked. Of course, we could remain at the airport and attempt to go stand-by. So we checked our luggage (which was too big to carry on) made it through security and ran to our gate with our carry-on luggage. Miraculously, we made it to the plane and made it home, although half of our luggage did not. That necessitated a return trip to the airport to pick up our missing luggage, which arrived two hours later. In conclusion, I would strongly recommend against staying at this hotel in order to simplify catching a flight at AUS - unless you arrange shuttle transportation at least two hours prior to your scheduled departure, or unless you have your own transportation and intend to "park and ride" at the airport. My rating for service at this hotel was "Poor" based upon the stress we experienced around transportation to the airport. The people at the front desk were polite and trying to do their job. We were never told where the system broke down - whether it was with the hotel or Yellow Cab. Other than that, the hotel was as expected - a decent, clean place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJunkieAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience returning to the airport after that very short night. We are sorry you were so rushed, but glad to learn you made your flight. We sincerely appreciate that you mentioned our hotel staff being polite and helpful and our rooms clean. Our actual full name is Hampton Inn Austin-South/ Airport Area. The later part is to intended to help locate our hotel, rather than to define a specific proximity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

AC started to spit out HOT air on a 90 degree day. Was told this was "normal" and that it would start to cool the room soon. In a different room, AC could not cool room to even 70 degrees. Internet was VERY SLOW, every evening. It was hard to get basic work related things done due to slowness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. We completely understand how these issues affected your stay and we have taken action. An e-mail was sent earlier today to let you know how we will make this stay up to you. We want you to know your comfort is our priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

the room was good, the bed was fairly comfortable, enjoyed refrigerator in room. The pillows left a lot to be desired. On check out day, the breakfast attendant was very rude. location to all places needed to visit in Austin was very convienent

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Your feed back is very valuable to us and we thank you for taking time to share your experience. We apologize for the pillow and know how important they are to a good night and you can be assured, it is being addressed. How our guests are treated is the most important item of all and I would like to speak with you personally concerning the breakfast staff. Would you be willing to call me and let me know the details? I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rebecca at the front desk is awesome. Our room was very nice, and the breakfast area was a great place to spend time with family. Price is reasonable for Austin (expensive city to visit). The location is relatively convenient to downtown if you have a car. Definitely too far from restaurants and other attractions to do without one.

Room Tip: The King Study rooms have a fold-out couch that's great for kids.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad you had a good time while in Austin and we are hoping you will keep us at the top of your list for the next time you come to visit. Your kind words were shared with the staff and your special acknowledgement of Rebecca was shared as well. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My fiance and I had a very comfortable stay at the Hampton Inn; this is our second say. We are both wheelchair users and found our room to very accessible. The bed was lowered, the room was spacious for two wheelchairs and the bathroom was very large with a roll-in shower and an option of two showers benches. The only draw back is the toilet. It's a bit low, but manageable if you have someone to assist you. Other than that, it's a cozy place to stay and we'll be staying again in the future. We totally recommend for disabled travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews