We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was quiet and peaceful. The associates were very nice and polite; experienced no customer service issues. The hotel room is spacious and comfortable. The bed was very soft and the room was clean. Usually I happen upon hair in a hotel's sink or bathtub. I experienced none of these issues.

The breakfast is average. They advertise a "hot breakfast" and that is pretty much the best way to describe it. They serve sausage patties (not sure if beef, pork, or turkey), eggs (powdered or something else), and you can cook your own Belgium waffle. I hate to complain about it, given it was complimentary. However, I preferred the cold breakfast- cereal, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, and juice.

Overall, this hotel stay was a great deal, particularly because we were in town for a very short while. I wouldn't dare pay over $100 per night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    166
    60
    37
    21
See reviews for
105
109
42
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you like being surrounded by freeways, with no restaurants or other areas you can walk to, the Hampton Inn is for you. I was told there was a shuttle downtown, and there wasn't. The breakfast was so bad: omelets with Velvitta-like cheese, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Life_Plein_Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I'm a returning customer to this hotel. Never had a bad experience. Excellent!!! We enjoyed the king size bed and its layout. My only recommendations is to add breakfast options for person(s) who are on a specific diet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is an excellent choice for this category of hotel. It isn't the Ritz, of course, but a reasonably priced, clean, fairly modern hotel. The bedding was nice and new and fresh. The duvet appeared to be freshly laundered. The bathrooms were clean and well kept. Carpet pretty clean too. The lobby and breakfast areas very well kept also. Breakfast is what you expect...decent food to get you going in the morning. I ate the oatmeal with almonds and raisins. The eggs were so-so, but again, not terrible. Staff was all very friendly. They had varying degrees of knowledge of the surrounding area and what you might want to do. But all tried to be helpful. It is close to the airport and there is a complementary super shuttle to and from it. It is also close to downtown and many other attractions. I was surprised at how bad the traffic was in Austin so I would make sure you have a hotel that is sort of close to where you need to be each day. But if you want to be in South Austin I highly recommend it here. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel itself is nice -- a typical Hampton Inn. Not much on front desk service (varies widely depending on who was on the desk -- and we had to ask for water; never got our snacks.) but the breakfast area was clean; enough choices there too.

The room was large with a king size bed, refrigerator and microwave. No view -- as it's in an industrial/highway area. Considering it is near the various highways, the room itself wasn't bad noise wise although we could hear our neighbors coming and going.

So, I'd say this is a good business venue with one caveat. Nothing is really near by. And it's hard to get to at first until you learn all the back roads and the constant weaving aorund of I-35, Ben White, and the side feeder roads. So you'll want to go to dinner before you get back to the hotel as once there you just won't want to venture out again into Austin's traffic.

So Co area for funky shops and restaurants is a lot closer than you think...and you can go there without taking I35 if you research the back roads. Only took us about 15 minutes.
But plan for rush hour traffic and back ups on I-35 every time you venture out from the hotel -- one of the downsides....

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade or at least a high floor and to be as far away from I-35 as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvicePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Austin. Glad to learn you liked our hotel. As you know, Austin is a very busy city these days with all that comes with that. For those who are unfamiliar with our area, we like to refer the Onion Creek Grille pasta kitchen across from us for a nice dinner. Sounds as though you found the interesting So Co area and enjoyed some of Austin's cool spots. We hope you will be back to stay with us again, and let us share some other local fun places and less traveled routes. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this Hampton Inn a week ago for a night. The service was great, Marina was so warm and friendly at check in. Breakfast was also surprisingly good. Several hours after we checked out and returned home, I realized that I'd left my engagement ring and wedding ring in a cup next to the sink in our hotel room. I called in a panic and less than an hour later, my ring was safely in the locked safe in the manager's office. The next day they over night mailed it back to me.

I can't tell you how grateful I am to Marina and the staff at Hampton Inn. Their honesty and willingness to help me really puts them head and shoulders above the rest.

As a side note I also like that they wash the top blanket. No comforter that has seen dozens of vistors without a wash! The bed felt clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amymharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although it was a new hotel, it felt like it had been there a while. the room was very comfortable and the layout of the room worked very well.

The staff was very responsive and helpful.

Great job!

John Villanueva - OfficeMax

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vnueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Austin Marriott South
#41 of 203 in Austin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South

Property: Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Address: 4141 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744-1048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Austin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#47 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You may need more than one trip to experience the vast offerings of Austin, the capital city of Texas and the "Live Music Capital of the World™." The Hampton Inn® hotel in Austin-South/Airport Area is located in the Southpark Business Park, and about five minutes from Town Lake, the University of Texas, Sixth Street, and the Austin Convention Center. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 123 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South Hotel Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing