We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surviving SXSW easier at Homewood Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Ranked #8 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surviving SXSW easier at Homewood Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Instead of staying within walking distance of SXSW this year, I ended up at Homewood Suites NW (stayed at Four Seasons for the last two SXSW conferences). Turned out to be a pleasant surprise.

Short answer: For the price, this is a great hotel, and the staff is amazing. 5-star service without the extra cost.

Pros:

Free wi-fi (this is such a refreshing change of pace, especially for business travelers).

Staff consistently, absolutely awesome. All of them, but Tom and Esther in particular helped me out more than once. Went out of their way to help SXSW guests overcome the challenges of being far from convention center. Even used their own van to ship guests downtown when the official SXSW shuttle service, R&R, wasn't coming by as often as they said they would.

And even though they were fully booked on my departure date, they provided a late checkout, and when the main cab company in Austin, Yellow Cab, was totally unreachable, the staff found additional services to help guests get around Austin.

Free Wi-Fi. Reliable, too.

Breakfast included (nice!), and they have a small shop with snacks, sweets, drinks, frozen foods, etc. available 24 hours a day (also nice in a pinch if you find yourself arriving back at your room at 2am and in need of a late-night snack - not uncommon for SXSW).

Happy hour available during the week, but I was never back in time to check it out.

Rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and flexible when it comes to working (outer room has table with power plugs right next to it at waist height (not a foot off the floor), extra chairs, sofa, etc., and plenty of room to rearrange things if you need to). The bathroom in my room was spacious.

Did I mention free wi-fi?

Cons:

No room service and not much within walking distance, but since the rooms have kitchenettes, that may not be an issue. Sam's Boat restaurant right next door, though, so you aren't totally out of luck.

Overall, the decor is great, but once in a while, you'll find something out of place (the shelf in my closet had been repaired but in a makeshift kind of way (walls not repainted, etc.)).

Had a first-floor interior room facing the courtyard. Got some noise in the morning a few days which prevented me from sleeping as late as I preferred.

***

Never used the pool.

I was really worried about the extra hassle of being away from the convention center, but my interactions with the staff always eased the stress of navigating the chaos of SXSW.

Room Tip: Since this is a courtyard layout, with interior rooms facing the pool area, you may want to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgoldin, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Hosaka, thank you so much for taking the time to give a really thought out review of the Homewood Suites Austin NW/Arboretum! I am glad you had such a good experience with the staff and service. We really strive to create a pleasant experience for at the hotel and with the chaos of SXSW we were just trying to help out the best ways we can. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our amenities such as the internet and breakfast. Hopefully next time you come you will be able to check out our happy hour! I apologize that you were woken up early due to noise. Next time you stay with us just make a request to stay in a quiet area of the hotel and we will do everything we can to accommodate this request. Overall, I am glad we were able to ease the stress of SXSW and hope you enjoyed the festival. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    152
    39
    10
    16
See reviews for
272
81
22
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Overall nice stay. Initially very hard to find especially at night. GPS wouldn't recognize address. Staff fantastic. Lovely area. Several items in room broken. Light fixture on wall in bedroom, closet doors, and towel rack in bathroom. Claire exceptional service provider. Son loved basketball court. Pool water too cold.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeartotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgoldin, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Hello yeartotravel. We really appreciate taking some time to write us a review and I am glad that overall you have a nice stay. I am sorry that you had a little trouble finding us! I don’t know why GPS’s have such a hard time picking up our address, but we have discovered that the GPS finds our sister property the Hampton Inn; they have the same parking lot as us but a different street address (3908 W. Braker Lane. Austin, TX 78759). I am glad you had great interaction with the staff as we are constantly striving to make sure your stay is as pleasant and comfortable as possible. While our pool isn’t heated, the heat in Austin certainly helps most of the year. If you ever come to stay with us in late spring, in summer or in the early fall you will be able to enjoy the water as a warmer temperature! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

My first time in Austin was made so much easier by the staff and experience at the Homewood Suites. Very convenient location to travel to the office, and just as great when exploring in the evenings. Taxi to downtown is reasonable and Sams Boat just a 2 minute walk. When I'm next in Austin I will be staying here again. Just one niggle, would be nice to have a bar in the hotel for those evenings when you just don't want to venture far!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VXRJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgoldin, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hello VXRJay and thank you for taking the time to review the Homewood Suites Austin NW/Arboretum. We are pleased that you liked our hotel and found our location to be centrally located to businesses and leisure activities alike. I am sorry that we do not have a bar in the hotel but am happy that we offer the Welcome Home reception Mondays-Thursdays, complete with beer and wine. Another restaurant you could try the next time you visit is the Roaring Fork; they have a great bar area and are less than a five minute walk from the hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just in town to de-stress and enjoy some family time, and needed some hill-country views, a walk around beautiful Town (Ladybird) Lake , and some delicious barbeque, of course. The spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite was a perfect fit for two couples and a toddler. The hotel is in a lovely, park-like setting and very quiet, set back away from the main roads, but in a very convenient location to Mopac and 360. Parking is plentiful and free. Our suite was spotless, and the living room furniture was cozy (loved having moveable cube ottomans to put our feet up on, instead of a hard coffee table). We did not bring a computer (time to destress) but Wi-Fi was free too. The beds and bedding were very conducive to a great night's sleep. Esther at the front desk was one of the friendliest hotel staff we have ever encountered, and very knowledgeable about the area as well. They anticipated the toddler and had a pack and play already set up for us, even though we did not request it because we brought our own. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and yummy, with the hot foods hot and the cold foods cold, and the woman running the buffet was very friendly as well, greeting guests as they came in and making sure everyone had what they needed. Compared to the price of some of the standard hotels in Austin, we got a great deal on top of everything else. Management should be very proud!! Looking at the Monday through Thursday evening menu (posted on the frig door) for a 'complimentary light' repast, I would choose this hotel if I had to travel to Austin for business--the menu looked terrific.

Room Tip: Request a 'quiet' room--this has always worked for us, in any hotel. Usually it's the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOYFUL56Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgoldin, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
What a fantastic review; thank you JOYFUL56Texas! I cannot begin to express how much we truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review of the Homewood Suites Austin NW/Arboretum. It made Esther (and my) week to read such a wonderful comment about her, as well as our breakfast attendant. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

On a recent visit to Austin we had the good fortune to select the Homewood Suites near the Arboretum in NE Austin. Although away from the popular downtown area this hotel has all you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Friendly staff, great food at breakfast with extended hours on weekends, well appointed rooms with complete kitchens. With a AAA discount and HHonors points to boot it is a tremendous value.

Room Tip: Second floor at the back of the hotel for walk in parking access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyv305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgoldin, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you Garyv305, for writing a review on our hotel. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself at the Homewood Suites Austin NW and saw the value of everything we include in our rates. If you come back and stay with us Monday through Thursday, you can even get dinner and drinks too! Hilton Honors points are definitely a plus as you mentioned, you can cash them in for free night stays at any of the 3750+ Hilton properties worldwide or for other awesome rewards. We hope that you choose to come back and stay with us again although we can certainly understand if you would like to use your points to go on an adventure to a more exotic location such as Peru or Italy! However, if you decide to stay more local and are in Austin again, please come back and stay with us, your home-away-from-home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Wonderful place to stay - nice staff. Free dinner and wine/beer (Shiner of course) every night, staff was friendly. Comfortable beds, flat screen tv. also had a pool but it was too cold. Walking distance to Sam's boat restaurant but not much else. Would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumnlover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgoldin, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Autumnlover1, thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Homewood Suites Austin NW/Arboretum. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about our service and about the amenities we provide, including our evening reception with some local Texas beer. We are glad you felt at home during your stay; we want you to feel like part of our family and we look forward to having you “come home” again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We went to Austin for the football game and met up with family at this hotel. They had chosen the place to stay. I will stay there every time I go to Austin. It was so nice. The bed was incredibly comfortable, everything was clean, lots of room to visit with family and many extras in the room. Close to every place we wanted to go. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reetee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgoldin, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Reetee50! We are pleased to be able to provide you with the perfect place to stay when traveling to Austin for any reason, including of course, going to a University of Texas Longhorn football game. Our location allows easy access to downtown and the UT campus without needing to pay substantially more money for parking (our parking is complimentary). We look forward to having you come and stay with us again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 200 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Address: 10925 Stonelake Blvd, Austin, TX 78759-5749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Austin
#7 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum Northwest is designed to make you feel at home, whether you're traveling for a few nights or longer. All guests can enjoy free WiFi, daily hot full breakfast and evening social, featuring a complimentary snacks and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings. Unwind in your one- or two-bedroom suite with separate living area and kitchen. Prepare Tex Mex recipes in the suite's fully equipped kitchen. Our suites have room to work and relax.Enjoy a workout in our fitness center or a refreshing swim in the pool. Our business center and meeting spaces offer an office away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Austin-Arboretum / Nw Hotel Austin
Homewood Austin
Hilton Austin
Austin Hilton
Austin Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites Austin Arboretum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing