We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for location and families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Ranked #67 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Despite bump on first night, enjoyed hotel overall.

First time traveling with our one year old child and first time staying in a suite room. It's great with a fridge and microwave which is great for those huge Texas portion leftovers you get in every restaurant. No need for it to go to waste. Plus, anytime you want free fruit or coffee, they're always available in the lobby.

Austin is not a walking city, so being in a central area is not important as it would be in New Orleans for example. Glad we chose this one over the north location too since it seems to be better for getting around quicker due to being near freeways.

Now to my bump- the first night we were there we were exhausted after all the flying we did to get there since we are coming from far away. At 1:30am on May 4th, the fire alarm went off in the whole hotel. Not wanting to take chances, we quickly got out fast and went to the parking lot as most guests did. It took 20 minutes for the hotel people to figure out it was a false alarm.

I'm not blaming the staff for this, but I has hoping aside from saying 'sorry' they would throw in a tad of a discount or something to compensate for getting us out of bed at that ungodly hour!!

Overall, I would return to this chain though with family in tow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aurora90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. Congratulations on your first trip with the new family! I apologize for the fire alarm disturbance during your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you have been converted to "suite" living during your travels. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 523 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great place for a 3-night stay. Our king room overlooked the pool and was very quiet. But we sure did not need the bed's heavy comforter in the Texas heat. Fortunately, there was a light blanket in the closet.

Service could not have been better. Staff members were amazingly helpful, friendly, and knowledgable about the area. I made an online reservation the day before I wanted to arrive, and I requested a room without scenting cleaning products and away from the elevator. Staff made sure BOTH requests were fulfilled! Later when the in-room telephone misbehaved, a hotel employee was promptly there to fix it. A front desk clerk knew just where to find a nearby self-serve carwash. When the TV was blaring in the breakfast room, we were able to get the sound turned down. During our visit, we bought a new camera and accidentally trashed the camera box with the strap inside. Our garbage had just been taken out, so we asked if we could check the trash. A staff member volunteered to check the garbage, and he found the box, retrieved the strap, and had it delivered to our room in very little time!

Bonuses included the freshly baked cookies at the front desk and DVDs to check out for free (the rooms have DVD players).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay an outstanding one during your visit to Austin. The team is our asset and they enjoy making our guests happy. We appreciate your recognition of their hard work and dedication. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

There were several conventions in Austin 3rd weekend in April which meant we stayed in this property that was unfamiliar to us. It is very convenient because of its location near Ben White Blvd, which also meant that road noise was a bit of a problem in our 2nd floor room.

The room itself was spotless and comfortable. Towels were rather thin, but plenty available. Bath and Body lotion was a nice surprise. All staff members were pleasant and helpful. The buffet breakfast was better than the usual at similar properties. I would stay here again but on a higher floor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janefromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. I am happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with our hotel. As a new fan of our hotel, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A group of 5 women stayed here for 5 nights. The location is fairly close to the airport, but there are no restaurants in the area. Took us a few days to figure out the area and where things were located. The hotel is nice. Excellent breakfast. We didn't get to enjoy any of the dinners that they offer during the week. The 2 bedroom suite was perfect for 5 people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of your stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. Travelling with a group of five can be quite the adventure! I am happy we were able to accommodate you during your visit to Austin and we hope to see you next time.

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My mother, sister and I recently stayed here while visiting my son. The rooms were spacious, clean, and reasonably quiet. The housekeeping staff did a great job right down to the towel art. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices and there were enough tables. Check-in and Check-out were easy and getting to the hotel was convenient. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. I will share your comments with our housekeeping staff to let them know their towel art is appreciated by our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our family of 4 and traveling with 2 teenager friends of our kids stayed at this hotel overnight for a college tour and an outlet mall shopping. This is an excellent hotel for us and for this purpose because this hotel is located by I-35 in between our two destinations plus this hotel has real 2-bedroom suites, providing the privacy and space needed for 2 adults and 4 teenagers. The suite we stayed in has a bedroom with 2 beds and a bathroom. Then this 1st bedroom opens to a living room (which has a sleeper sofa though we didn’t use so don’t know if it is comfortable or not, a side chair and coffee table/ottoman) and kitchen (with a table and 2 desk chairs). On the other side of the living room/kitchen area is the 2nd bedroom with a king bed and a bathroom. 3 flat screen TVs total – one in each room. (Most hotels that we were looking for our stay have 2-room suites, so the layout is like a bedroom with 2 beds and a bathroom opening to a kitchen/living room with a sleeper sofa. Even though they can accommodate 6 persons, it doesn’t really give us much space or privacy like the Homewood Suites 2-bedroom suites). We didn’t cook during our stay, but we used the full size fridge to store some drinks and the kitchen sink/plates/knives for eating fruits (the lobby of the hotel has a couple bowls of apples, oranges, and bananas even outside the breakfast time, which is really great so we were able to snack on something healthy instead of something from a vending machine). The feature that sealed the deal for us is that this hotel is pet-friendly (we paid $75 fee for our 20-25# indoor dog for our stay) as we didn’t want to put her through the bigger stress of being boarded. The kitchen has hardwood floor and is small enough that we could block her off in the kitchen at night or when we were away while spacious enough for her (with her kennel under the table). The suite is modern and clean and does not have pet smell (so we believe that the hotel, as it should, puts the $75 fee to good cleaning after each pet’s check-out) which we were very happy about (we love our dog but she is well trained and not stinky so we aren’t adjusted to living with pet odor). Hotel serves good hot breakfast with plenty of fresh fruits, yogurt, and pastries. This is included in our room rate. There is also a Welcome Home Reception each Monday thru Thursday evening with drinks and a light meal. We didn’t get to take advantage of that, but we did see the daily menu calendar posted on the fridge in our suite and it offers a good variety each week. For examples, hamburgers w/potatoes & beans, chicken fajitas w/beans & rice, Salisbury steaks w/potatoes & corn, spaghetti meatball w/salad, meatloaf w/potatoes & corn on the cob, lasagna w/green beans, buffalo hot wings w/celery sticks, etc. So, the next time we stay and we are too tired after a long day of activities, we might just take advantage of the convenience of the evening reception. However, this location is also conveniently just 1-2 freeway exits from (traveling south but a not walkable distance) an eatery area which has Chili’s, Macaroni Grille, Twin Peaks, and a couple other restaurants. And, we must mention that, although the clerk answering the phone the day before our check-in was not helpful at hinting whether we would likely be able to check-in early or not, the clerk working when we did checked in was more than helpful at getting us check-in early (we did have to wait about 15-20 minutes for the suite to be ready; it was about noon when we were able to check-in, which was so helpful to us than the normal 3pm check-in given that we have our little dog with us). We also like that Hilton has e-Check-in so we could pick our own floor/location ahead of time. However, the website floor plan doesn’t match the actual room numbers at the hotel. So, the suite we selected on-line isn’t the location we selected even though the room # online and the room # at the hotel are the same #, but we didn’t mind either location was fine with us. Just wanted to mention that so those that are finicky about their room location would know that is a possibility! Overall: we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonTravelFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for your thorough review of our hotel and its amenities! I hope that you had a wonderful trip in Austin visiting the universities. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the accommodations exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin!

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for six nights on a business trip to Austin. I had an almost perfect stay. The hotel is in a good location near the intersection of two freeways. The hotel has two-room suites with a combined kitchen/living room and a separate bedrooom and bath. My suite was very clean and there was daily maid service. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and there were always plenty of towels. The kitchen was fully equipped with a coffee maker, two-burner stove, microwave, full sized refrigerator with ice maker and a dishwasher. The hotel serves a hot breakfast each morning and Monday through Thursday there is a manager's reception in the evening where they serve a hot entree as well as salad and bread. There was plenty of food if you wanted to make this your dinner. The reception also includes wine and draft beer. There is a small exercise room and pool. The hotel has a guest laundry but it only has two washers and dryers which were often in use.

The staff was very nice and attentive. I would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: I had a room at the end of a hall near the back entrance. I could see my car from the room and used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your stay with us at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. I am happy to see that overall your stay with us was outstanding. I have shared your kind words with our staff and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South

Address: 4143 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744-1048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $150 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of a 2017 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence and full renovation completed as of March 2017. Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-South/Airport is a an upscale, residential-style, all-suite hotel located in Austin, Texas, that provides corporate housing, temporary housing and luxurious accommodations for anyone traveling to Austin for business or for pleasure. We are conveniently situated at the southeast corner of IH-35 and Highway 71/Ben White Boulevard, five miles from downtown Austin and six miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. All guests can enjoy free internet WiFi, the daily complimentary Suite Start Hot Breakfast and the Welcome Home evening reception, featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (subject to state and local laws). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Austin South / Airport Hotel Austin
Hilton Austin
Homewood Austin
Homewood Suites Austin South
Austin Hilton
Austin Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing