We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUCH Better Stay Than Expected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North to your Saves list
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9121 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
GM SPECIAL GET UPTO 15 %
Ranked #129 of 195 Hotels in Austin
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“MUCH Better Stay Than Expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a one night getaway in Austin we stumbled upon this hotel. Cheap and clean is what we were looking for. I read the reviews for this hotel on Google and Yelp and became hit with fear. I can tell you not half of what I read was accurate. Hotel was clean, and quiet. Not a Marriott but not a Motel 6. This is a great place to grab a room and expkore weird Austin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pabrown210432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review . We are glad you had great experience at our hotel . Hope to see you again .
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    23
    12
    26
See reviews for
24
24
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at Orangewood Inn only for 2 nights, on my weekend get-away to Austin. Since I decided very late to go to Austin, this was one of the few options left, probably because of the Memorial Day extended weekend.
The price was ok ($130 for 2 nights, single room) and well... what can you expect in US at that price...
For a short stay it's ok, the room is clean and you have the necessary ammenities. A good thing is that breakfast is free, the regular American breakfast. Parking is also free. Even if it's on the highway, it's very close to the entertainment area and downtown Austin.

What I didn't like was that the hotel is kinda noisy, not only because it's on I-35, but I could also hear everything in the rooms next to me and the noise in the outside parking (I stayed on first floor). There was also a strange smell on the corridors, but that was because they were renovating. Like I said, the place was pretty clean.

They have free wi-fi, but it's veeeery slow and it drops all the time. I could not get a good connection on my tablet so if you need to work on something, be prepared, you won't be able to do much online.

Overall, it was more than enough for 2 nights, I wasn't there most of the time, the bed is comfortable, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the lobby, as the wi-fi signal is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreea-Urcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review . We apologize for any issues you faced during your stay . We would like to inform you we have upgraded our internet infrastructure to 50 Mega Speed .Hope to see you again .
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Outside looks like an hourly motel, and the main halls are under construction, but the room is so Art Deco that you forgot that the outside looks like crap. Also the hot breakfast and waffles helped. Very quite and good property security guard. Just 5 min from UT and food. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for your review . We are glad you had good experience while stay at our hotel . We hope to see you again .
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin Tx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was a Ramada Limited and had stayed here before. Same as before omfortable beds as well as clean and organized. In a great location and is recommended for all families. What I can say is the service of this new company Orangewood inn has a much better customer service and are very friendly. Best service in town hand down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baezusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for your review . We are glad you had good experience while stay at our hotel . We hope to see you again .
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin Tx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

There was so much dust and there were black stains on the floor and the halls were extra musty. Scary place to stay. the only good thing is they were glad to not charge us for the rest of the stay since I had booked 3 nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Hotel.
At Orangewood Inn & Suites,we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. We have addressed these issues and have completed major renovation including hallways. Thank you for providing us with the feedback needed to serve you better. My hope is that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We've just stayed at the orangewood inn (same logo, different place) in austin. Dont confuse it with the reviews on here (otherwise you'll be expecting a dishwasher and patio!) the inn option was clean although generally smelt of smoke in the corridors.

Helpful?
3 Thank pinkcamelno9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southeast Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel has changed from Ramada Limited Austin North to Orangewood Inn and Suites, Austin North.

We've stayed here several times before and this used to be a quality hotel, although an older one. The people operating it provided a quality stay at reasonable prices with excellent customer service. Since the change they've really gone downhill. They have spent a lot of money painting and replacing floor coverings in the Public Areas and are cutting back literally everywhere else.

The breakfast was minimal, the breakfast room is small and cramped for this size of hotel and there is unused space available for a remodel.

They’ve obviously studied long and hard on how to cut back but they had better hire someone to improve the customer service and satisfaction or they will be facing some more big changes in the future!

Room Tip: Look Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garygorsich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#156 of 195 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#125 of 195 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Orangewood Suites
Orangewood Suites
#123 of 195 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Econo Lodge North Austin
#141 of 195 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Economy Inn Austin
#128 of 195 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North

Property: Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
Address: 9121 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 195 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Austin North Hotel Austin
Ramada Austin
Austin Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing