We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Ranked #111 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Everett, WA
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed hear one night on a two week trip through Texas. The room was very comfortable and quite large. The pool and hot tub were outstanding. The full hot breakfast was quite good. The only complaint was the hotel was very hard to find.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unknown_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    59
    25
    2
    7
See reviews for
53
19
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

A very nice, big suite with a wet bar, work desk, sofa, arm-chair, lamp, coffee table. Lots of room to spread out and get some work done. The Internet was fast and worked well at all times. The AC/heat worked great, the big HDTV had lots of channels, and the bath was well appointed.

The room faced the freeway but was very quiet. The bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds I've slept in (I like a soft bed) and I slept great the whole time there.

One complaint is that the breakfast area is a bit small and seems to be set up more for sitting with a drink than for eating -- only a few actual eating tables. That said, the food was good and plentiful.

There is a seafood theme restaurant adjacent that was very good, and other restaurants within driving distance. We went to one that had game on the menu, but I forget the name -- ask at the front desk.

Overall, a perfect stay for my colleague and I.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadillac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon gto
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Very close to the Domain (the best mall in Austin), and to a lot of restaurants this hotels offers you a very confortable suites for 90 dollars /night ,employees are friendly and nice all the time, the place is 15 minutes from downtown, and in a quiet zone, me and family enjoyed our stay there, can do better about cleanliness but i still recomend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank contador70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed one night in this hotel - was very clean and beds were comfortable. I liked everything about this room/hotel except that the beds were double beds instead of queen. Just a matter of preference when sleeping two people to a bed a double is just too small. Indoor pool was clean and liked the fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel7231122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This SpringHill Suites hasn't gotten the "hip" renovation becoming more common around the brand yet, but there is little wrong with the current decor in the rooms and lobby. Kudos to the owners for investing in good-sized 37" LG flat screen TVs in the room; there are just a couple of minor issues with channels like the Weather Channel coming in dark on screen, and the remote has locked out any ability to change things like brightness.

Service here can be a bit spotty. Some of the staff, mostly female, are perky and even remembered my name on Day 3 of my stay; some of the staff, especially a male at the front desk, were pretty vacant and unhelpful when I had an issue with the hotel's business center. The owners really need to invest in SiteKiosk or an alternative way to keep the business center computers from getting corrupted by kids downloading games (and malware). Of the two available computers in the center, one is locked down with a marketing site and you can't use it for Office applications, printing, or even web surfing! It's the blackest mark on this hotel. I ended up driving a few hundred feet to a Hampton Inn, where I walked in, sat down, and printed what I needed to print in about 60 seconds.

Breakfast is above the SHS average, including Kashi cereals and a locally produced muffin that is an order of magnitude above the SpringHill "standard." Cleanliness is near perfect. Except for the business center issues and a few staff members who don't know how to respond to them, this hotel is a good choice for Austin. As others have mentioned, its location and proximity to restaurants and shopping is a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenverBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I have used this hotel for a number of years for visits to Austin. Have seen the staff change over, a remodel, the recent addition of Flat Screen televisions and a remodel of the breakfast area. In my opinion, this is a good hotel for it's intended purpose. A short, stay reasonably priced hotel. The staff has varied from really good to fair, though overall they focus on a good customer experience and achieve their goal. The free breakfast is ample and the presentation well done. They hotel is kept clean and the exterior grounds are quiet nice.

As noted by another reviewer, the mattresses are showing their age following the remodel in '05-'06. While this is nit-picking, the change to a single, flat screen from two standard televisions creates viewing challenges when accompanied by teenagers. Internet service has been fair to poor for some time.

A positive is that this hotel is less tolerant of noisy guests, such as soccer and softball teams, and large parties who, in my opinion, at times believe their large block of rooms entitles them to rein over the property. This is not true of all of the groups; however, over a five-year period much is encountered. If requested, the staff will do their best to accommodate you away from large groups. A weekend issue can be spill over parking from the nearby Sam's Boat restaurant. At times restaurant patrons fill up sections of the hotel parking. And while it is posted the hotel will tow unauthorized vehicles, they rarely do.

Overall, in my opinion, a good hotel that is very convenient as large portions of Austin are accessible within 10-20 minutes. Numerous restaurants are nearby, and with the Domain shopping and entertainment area a 5 minute ride, there is much to do away from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasEXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed here as a family of 5 for one night. Rooms are spacious with little road noise however the noise from the AC more than made up for this. Admittedly we were a little spoilt having stayed at two brand new spring hills suites in Arlington VA and Orlando FL.
The beds were of good quality when they were bougjt but age and use has caught up and we found ourselves (both less than 150 pounds) gravitating towards the middle- so not good if you have back problems

Service- friendly and overall very good although the receptionist couldnt understand what a duvet or comforter was. The hotel is off a major highway so quite easy to get to.

Breakfast was the usual fare- again not as good as the newer Spring Hills but definitely a bit healthier then the Hampton Inns- where we saw people gorging themselves on multiples tubs of cream cheese, waffles, fruit loops, non-diet jelly etc. Skimmed milk aide- Surely in this day and age hotels should get with the trend and try and offer their patrons more responsible, health conscious fare?

Overall the good service and value made up for the old and worn feel of the hotel

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Northwest Austin
Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Courtyard Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Property: SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Address: 10936 Stonelake Blvd, Austin, TX 78759-5748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing