We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a quick trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum
Ranked #92 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
La Grange, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick trip”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel when you really just need the basics, but want quality to go with it. The rooms are clean, the staff helpful, and the breakfast just right. This is the second time we've stayed here and I'd definitely use this hotel again. Our only problem was that the thermostat digital readout was broken. The top quarter of the digital numbers were missing, making them look like some foreign language. Trying to set the temperature was like a brain game, guessing what number it actually was. We eventually figured it out and were quite comfy in the room. The actual unit was quiet, so no issues there. We were in room 606 and it was very quiet. I'd also recommend that if you are using the pull out sofa bed, request a few more blankets. They supply one sheet and a thin blanket, which isn't enough if the thermostat is set for the people in the regular beds with nice, thick blankets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lojeslj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Arboretum, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you m'am, we appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We strive to make our guests feel as at home as possible at the Hyatt Place Austin Arboretum, and next time you stay with us and are planning on utilizing the sofabed as well, please let us know when you make your reservation that you'll need extra blankets and we will place them in your room in advance. Of course if you wait to let us know when you check in, we can get them up there to you pretty quickly! Thank for staying with us and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    134
    61
    32
    21
See reviews for
115
59
18
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

First, the good news: this is a conveniently-located, newly decorated property with spacious rooms and a large outdoor pool.

The bad news: the AC/heating implements make so much noise, we were awakened throughout the night whenever the unit went on! It sounded like a monster truck rally, and the front desk response was just "sorry, we'll have someone look into it."

The tub in the bathroom was badly stained and the community breakfast area was filthy (guests had to bus others' dirty tables just to have a clean place to eat their underwhelming continental breakfast options.)

I do like the Hyatt Place concept, but the Austin Arboretum location needs improvement.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank eva2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Arboretum, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
M'am we are so sorry that your experience was only "acceptable" here on your last stay. We strive to provide excellent service and accommodations. We always have 3 staff members on duty in the morning to assist with breakfast service and clean up, which by the way, is not just a continental, but a full, hot breakfast along with the items furnished on a continental breakfast. I have addressed this concern with our operations staff and General Manager to ensure that our Gallery Hosts are keeping the breakfast areas clean and well stocked. As for the AC unit, most are newly installed and top of the line units, and we generally hear comments about how quiet the units are, so we do apologize that you must have been in a room with a faulty unit, and that your complaint about the noise was not handled properly. Our policy is to offer to move the guest to a different room if there is ever any issue with their room. I can only assume that we either did not have one available at that time or that our Gallery Host simply did not respond they way they were trained to. In any case we do apologize and hope that you will stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you a more favorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

While this establishment wasn't by any means terrible, it didn't live up to our expectations from a Hyatt. At first we were delighted with the room because it had a divider between the bed and the sitting area. I like to stay up late and read while my husband is an early to bed early to rise person. Little by little, we realized the drawbacks, such as an ice machine only on the fifth floor (our room was on the first), poor quality pillows, and a comforter so heavy and burdensome we could hardly get in the bed. Once in bed, we were treated to night of freezing blasts of cold air when we were forced to huddle underneath the comforter, followed by periods of warmth when we had to take off all cover. We had to wake up to make each temperature adjustment. More small details that I didn't like were the lack of privacy in the room except for the bathroom, a lack of good coffee or hot chocolate or even a range of tea bags available in the lobby as I'm used to in other hotels. then, the best of part of staying in a motel, morning breakfast, was disappointing. Cut fruit salad (canned) but no whole fruit, no waffle maker, no bacon. The breakfast was understaffed and, therefore, the staff was detached and seemed uncaring about the large crowd of people in the too small eating area. Not terrible but notup to expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I had an extremely unpleasant stay at the Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum, 3612 Tudor Boulevard, Austin TX 78759. Without a doubt, staying at this hotel was the most distasteful hotel-experience we have had in decades of U.S. and international travel.

We arrived in Austin on Thursday, October 17, 2013 to celebrate the bar mitzvah of a cousin, and we departed on Sunday, October 20. The problems at the hotel started at check-in, an ordeal that we had to face after traveling twelve hours from our home in Western Massachusetts. The ordeal consisted of being assigned four successive rooms: room 517, room 506, room 504, and room 421. The first three of these rooms were completely unsuitable, and the fourth was barely satisfactory. But by the time we were moved into the fourth room, we were too tired to move again.

1) Room 517. Although I had requested a room with a king bed away from the elevators, we were told upon arrival that no such rooms were available. We were offered room 517, which had a king bed and was located, according to the person who checked us in, two doors away from the elevator. In fact, room 517 was located directly opposite the elevator, the ding-ding-ding of the elevator bell being clearly audible inside the room with the door closed. Because of the noise factor, room 517 was unsuitable.

2) Room 506. We went down to the lobby, where we were offered room 506, a room with two double beds located safely away from the elevator. When we entered, the air conditioner was blasting cold air, making the room extremely frigid and uncomfortable. The person who checked us in came up to the room but was unable to turn down the air conditioner, which was obviously in disrepair. Because of the malfunctioning air conditioner, room 506 was also unsuitable.

3) Room 504. My wife went down to the lobby, where we were offered room 504, another room with two double beds located safely away from the elevator. What awaited us inside was an experience unequaled in the many hotels in which we have stayed, which included a number of Hyatt properties that, unlike the Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum, were uniformly pleasant. When we opened the door to room 504, we discovered that the room was occupied by another guest, who fortunately was absent but who had left in the room a duffle bag, slippers, and a toothbrush. How embarrassing and outrageous to be offered such a room, which obviously was unavailable and therefore totally unsuitable.

4) Room 421. Again we went down to the lobby, where we were offered our fourth room, room 421, which was barely satisfactory. The room suffered from the following five cleanliness and maintenance problems:
• During our first two days we discovered hairs on the pillows and on the bed. These hairs were not ours. Whose were they?
• The carpet was dirty.
• The room had a terrible, musty, acrid smell that never went away.
• It was impossible to see out of one of the large windows, which was completely fogged over, probably because the seal separating the two panes had been broken.
• The problems did not end at check-in. When we returned to room 421 on our second day, the key did not work. We had to go down to the lobby to get a new key. Were we surprised by this development? After the dysfunctional check-in that we had experienced, we accepted the non-functioning key with complete equanimity. In fact, we would have been shocked if everything had gone smoothly.

Our experience points to something that is truly wrong at the Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum, which put us through this ordeal. How could a hotel chain with such an excellent reputation have a property characterized by serious cleanliness, maintenance, and computer problems, the last of which manifested itself by our being assigned to an already occupied room? When one reserves a room at a Hyatt hotel, one expects much more. Because of our experience, we are extremely reluctant to stay at another Hyatt hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard01002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. Our room was huge! I expected just a normal room with two beds, but there was a large living room type area with a big comfortable couch . Every single staff member was polite, enthusiastic, helpful. The breakfast was excellent - hot Egg McMuffin type breakfast sandwiches, waffles, fresh fruit such as grapefruit, melons, etc, yogurt, cereal, juice and coffee. I saw a man arrive too late for the breakfast and the staff kindly made him his own complete breakfast including hot items. In the room, hot water was plentiful and had good pressure. There was a free and convenient shuttle to shopping areas. I also want to shout out to Fairin, a staff member who was extra kind and friendly! What a wonderful asset to your team!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience staying at a Hyatt place. It was very cozy and located close to our office in Austin. Breakfast was great. Service was great. Leanne checked me in with a smile. Jason helped us plan dinner for the week and was very informative. Will stay again for sure while in Austin.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Foodiscoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Courtyard Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum

Property: Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum
Address: 3612 Tudor Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Austin
#47 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled, the Hyatt Place is located at the intersection of State Hwy Loop 1 and US Highway 183, and just ten miles northwest of downtown Austin. The Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum offers visitors access to some of the area’s greatest attractions including the Arboretum at Great Hills, the Domain, Gateway Shopping Center, University of Texas, and the Highland Lakes. We're also minutes from numerous corporate offices, such as IBM, Apple, Oracle, Dell, 3M, Charles Schwab, Microsoft, AT&T, eBay, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum Hotel Austin
Hyatt Austin
Austin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing