We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh limes off their trees for my water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #54 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
azle tx
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fresh limes off their trees for my water!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My daughter has attended UT for 4 years and we have stayed in about 12 different hotels in Austin. Yes this place is a little hard to find even though it is 2 blocks off 35.. yes the kitchenettes are dated, yes the beds are a little hard....but the negatives stop there. The place is like a jungle oasis. There are lime trees, fig trees, blackberry bushes, a tree shaded pool/patio area and so many flowering plants. When we checked in I misread the breakfast times and showed up at 9:10 and breakfast was gone (sniff)..but Maudie and her sons took care of my husband and I, by bringing the eggs, sausage and biscuits back out so we didn't have to go out for breakfast- now that is IMPRESSIVE service! The next morning we made it to breakfast on time and had our choice of organic fruits and organic yogurt, vegetarian sausage, turkey sausage, organic eggs, filtered water and lots of other choices. There is also an afternoon happy hour with hummus, dolmas, crackers and cheese, wine and beer. The place adhered to quiet, non smoking non pets- which is great for allergy sufferers. There were even real ivy plants in the room. We will overlook the hard beds and stay there again, because it truly is an oasis in the big city!

Room Tip: It is a 3 story complex with exterior room entrances so if you don't want to climb the stairs wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redAzleTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    205
    63
    35
    24
See reviews for
182
188
19
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Driving up is a little confusing. You go off the high behind an abandoned mall to find this weird little oasis. Checking in was great. The gentleman was well dressed, super friendly and helpful. He informed us of our complimentary breakfast, which was all locally sourced and delicious. They also have complimentary happy hour but we weren't able to attend. It's only like 10 mins from downtown so not too bad. Every room was a suite and we were able to chose a downstairs room, which was quite clean and spacious. It's all very ecofriendly and environmentally conscious, which was appreciated. Helpful staff, comfy rooms and breakfast not to be missed. Not to mention the rate was super inexpensive. Great find and good people.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Habitat Suites was perfect - the staff was extremely helpful. When we arrived, the lock on our door malfunctioned, so we were immediately given an upgraded room which included two bedrooms and two baths. The full kitchen was stocked with everything you could need. Instead of a parking lot outside my window, I woke up to waving palm branches. The pool was surrounded by a beautiful variety of trees and plants. Breakfast was generous, wonderful, and cheerfully served with many ingredients local and organic. We liked it so much we decided to stay a third day (hitting on the weekend) and they were kind enough to give us our same upgraded room at the same price so we wouldn't have to move. Also nice that it was only 10 minutes from downtown attractions and activities.

Green Features: This is specifically advertised as a green hotel, locally owned, and not a chain. Breakfast featured some organic and locally sourced foods. The plants and trees were impressive and created a wonderful atmosphere.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was a little dated but was overall very satisfactory. It's away from the popular touristy areas but they are easily accessible. The complimentary buffet breakfast and happy hour were very good and the service was outstanding, there seemed to always be available seating for both. The eco friendly atmosphere was truly impressive. The hotel grounds contains plants you were allowed to pick and consume and has some really nice flowering plants for great visual appeal.

Room Tip: Has various room types, all with full kitchens which included a dishwasher
See more room tips
Green Features: They go to great lengths to be environmentally friendly which is refreshing, eco soaps and toilet paper.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DASH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here while in town for a wedding. Every member of the staff I encountered was awesome (with a special hat tip to Iris, Maudie, and Robert Jr.) The room, while perhaps a BIT dated in spots, was clean. The pool was great for the kids.

The climate control was outstanding. The kitchen, while we did not use it, seemed great. A refrigerator was provided, and bathroom space was ample. They replaced everything used on a daily basis. There are literally trees on the grounds from which you are permitted to take fruit, and maps provided so you know you're not breaking any rules.

Further, breakfast was wonderful, and the happy hour a real gem - 3 drinks per guest, on the house, and great appetizers. Parking is ample, they give you free use of a PC to print documents like boarding passes, etc.

Really just perfect from start to finish - I would definitely stay there again.

Green Features: Habitat makes an effort to not be wasteful without being preachy or impractical. I've been to places where I felt like the practices were plain unsanitary. That is not the case here - they "walk the walk."
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here last week of May. This was my third time to stay at the Habitat Suites in ten years. I believe the hotel is actually improving. My room was updated with new flat-screens and updates. Everything was very clean. The suites are perfect for longer stays with fridges, microwaves etc...very spacious. Safe area and very quiet. I really like the organic garden which you can utilize freely. This is the most environmentally friendly hotel I've ever seen or heard about. The only downside to this hotel is that it's a bit hard to get to. Highland Mall, next door, is pretty much dead. The hotel is not in walking distance to anything of note in Austin. But it's a great, reasonably priced, clean and safe place to stay. I do recommend it.

Green Features: Every hotel should follow the lead of the Habitat Suites in working toward environmental sustainability. They are doing great work here in that regard.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasShark73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a jewel! The rooms are spacious and lovely; the bedroom had a very comfortable bed and its own TV. The kitchen is well-equipped. We had no problem with wifi. Its lovely, quiet grounds are a real attraction for us, and there's a pool with patio for relaxing. The staff is wonderful, and breakfasts and happy hour are sumptuous. Their green attitude is a real plus. It's a bit tricky to find but is close to I-5 & 183 so is very convenient. It's our top choice and is definitely 'worth a detour'!

Green Features: This is a wonderful feature and in no way means the amenities are less than great.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing