We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super & unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #50 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super & unique”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a jewel! The rooms are spacious and lovely; the bedroom had a very comfortable bed and its own TV. The kitchen is well-equipped. We had no problem with wifi. Its lovely, quiet grounds are a real attraction for us, and there's a pool with patio for relaxing. The staff is wonderful, and breakfasts and happy hour are sumptuous. Their green attitude is a real plus. It's a bit tricky to find but is close to I-5 & 183 so is very convenient. It's our top choice and is definitely 'worth a detour'!

Green Features: This is a wonderful feature and in no way means the amenities are less than great.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    203
    62
    35
    24
See reviews for
179
187
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I recently completed a 2 night stay at the Habitat Suites. As other reviewers have said, the property is showing a bit of wear and tear and the decor is a bit outdated. That said, the suites are very spacious and have everything you need, including a kitchen equipped with all of the basics you need to fix yourself something to eat. I had a 1 bedroom suite near the pool. The internet was very good -- the staff was very friendly and helpful -- breakfast was fantastic -- and the happy hour was a very nice touch. My only disappointment was that the hotel doesn't have an exercise room of any sort.

I will definitely choose to stay here again next time I'm in Austin.

Room Tip: Seemed like all of the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCWorldTraveler704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ran an event at Habitat Suites April of 2013. I knew going in that the hotel was a little outdated so I was not surprised by the actual rooms. But I was surprised to find that the beds were very comfortable, the hotel staff was one of the friendliest I've encountered and we run events all over the country, the breakfast was the best I've had at a hotel, and the daily complimentary reception was a real plus. I also appreciated that I could go to the dinning room at any time and have fresh delicious coffee and tea. The hotel was quiet and charming. I appreciated having a full kitchen which made my stay so much easier. Lots of great restaurants within a mile of the hotel, and in just 15 mins we were downtown. We had a great experience here and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, inexpensive, and accessible. This is a deal. It is 10 minutes from downtown Austin. The suites are roomy and fully equipped. There is a wonderful hot breakfast and a happy hour (with cheese, veggies, etc) included in the price. All this for $89. Prices vary with weekends. The only suggestion would be if they updated their lights and tvs a bit, but for the price, well worth it.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you can't do stairs, request first floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green which explains the lighting in the room. The grounds were beautiful with lots of flowers and trees, and there were birds everywhere. Strict non-smoking policy, too!
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Yes, it's a little older. Yes, it's not in the center of hip Austin. Yes, the TVs are small; agreed. But it is clean, thoughtfully provisioned and the breakfast is outstanding. Friendly, helpful staff were everywhere. The pool area is charming. It is quiet.

Also, I have sensitivities that will cause eczema when my skin is pummeled with chemicals, especially fragrances. This was the BEST hotel room for me in that regard. Clean, but clearly environmentally caeful...no fake perfumes anywhere. The bed sheets were washed in eco-friendly detergents, I could tell. I still would have had to bring my own soap but I really appreciated the lack of perfumes in the bedding and towels.

Room Tip: Wi Fi was best closer to the pool area.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are all about this. Even the coffee is organic.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InfrequentTraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This could be one of the best places to stay at in austin, as it is not too far from the downtown area. The main problem is that it is not maintained properly :
a) Too much dirt and dry leaves around the property and inside the pool area.
b) The phone system is too old and in our case it did not work in the master room.
c) The TV system is obsolete and limited to just a few channels. The unit in the master room was hard to get it to work. The TV units are the old type.
d) The toilet paper is recycled, very hard for feminine use. There are so many different recyled options that are a lot smoother.
We plan to stay 2 nights and we change it just one, due to not feeling comfortable.

Room Tip: Visit the room before getting to stay in it. pictures in the website do not reflect the reality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hill Country, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay that would allow me to get to the Capitol at 8:00 a.m. without fighting traffic. All of the downtown places are expensive and have exorbitant parking fees. I noticed Habitat and was suspicious because of the price. The area doesn't look great, a mostly boarded up shopping mall, vacant office buildings, and a strip club-- but the Habitat complex is like a little bit of heaven tucked into all that. It is a former apartment complex, so you don't get a room, you get an apartment. The grounds are lushly landscaped and the parking areas are well-lit. Our apartment was very clean, aside from some peeling wallpaper and stains on the sofa. There was a full sized coffee pot in the kitchen along with enough locally roasted coffee to make a full pot! A full, hot breakfast is served in a lovely dining room and is attended by two very pleasant gentlemen. The person at the front desk recommended a route to the Capitol that avoided the interstate. We drove to the Capitol in about 15 minutes! If you don't have a car, there is a bus stop across the street and a Metro rail stop about a half-mile down the street. I will definitely be back to the Habitat Suites!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing