We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice but could use some updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habitat Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #42 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice but could use some updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in this "apartment-home-like complex" for a weekend and enjoyed the spacious accommodation with the small kitchen (needs updating), and comfortable beds. This hotel is a "green" hotel which means the lights are all energy-saving and not as bright as normal lights. The cleaning supplies used are environmentally friendly and the food selection on the breakfast buffet reflects this theme as well.
We really loved our stay apart from the fact that the walls are very thin and privacy can be an issue in the apartments.
The hotel is well kept but the apartments could be a bit cleaner.
We will be back, I am sure, as reasonably priced accommodations in Austin are difficult to find and this is definitely one that is reasonable price and has everything we need.

Room Tip: The upstairs flats are the larger two bedroom ones but one needs to be able to walk stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianne109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    176
    59
    34
    19
See reviews for
158
161
18
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are looking for big, fancy, upscale this is not for you. But if you are looking for sustainable, reasonable price, comfortable, friendly and a great breakfast then you should check it out! We had a great two night stay here and it served as a great base for our activities. Very clean, although dated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tex42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was a little worried, since I did not know anything about this property, but it was a pleasant surprise. Not the best location, but convenient and hotel grounds are very nice! Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, very clean and well maintained. Full kitchen and a nice little living room with fireplace. Staff was very nice and engaging. Only downside were dated TV, but that was not important to me. Perhaps the best, included breakfast buffet I have seen an quite awhile, good variety, food was hot, and presented nicely. Would recommend this property to anyone traveling to Austin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdavis122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I used to live in Austin and I've been traveling to and from there for years. This is the best place I've stayed in this price range. I am very big on staying someplace clean while this hotel was dated, it was spotless. There's a full kitchen, living area, plates, cups, dishwasher, etc.
The bed is firm and comfortable and they even have quiet hours so you can actually get some sleep. I never sleep when I travel and I actually slept like a rock both nights we stayed here.

They're very big on sustainability so there are solar panels on the buildings, barrels collecting rain water, and many other things to help save the planet. The breakfast was also great- it was a full breakfast with eggs, fruit, pancakes, sausage, veggie sausage, oatmeal, bagels, juices, yogurt which is something you don't find in this price range in Austin.

All the staff I encountered were super friendly and helpful. It didn't feel like I was staying at a hotel.

Yeah, it's dated, but you're not buying the place. If you want to stay someplace that cares about the environment, and cares about their guests this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyArroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we have been coming here for 15 years, as it is near a relative's house. We really like the emphasis on ecology and sustainability. Office staff are competent and friendly. The suite kitchen is well equipped. The breakfast is fine, with organic yogurt, oatmeal, as well as eggs and the like. the Happy Hour is very welcome, although the food choices are not as extensive as it once was. Very relaxing to have a beer and snacks at the end of the day.

I do agree that the furniture is not comfortable, although the beds were fine and had nice warm covers and plenty of pillows. It all seemed clean. The sofa and TV are tiny. It was a challenge to find outlets to plug in all our electronic equipment for charging and use. The buildings are aging, but the price is quite good, especially on football weekends, when all hotels are charging a premium.

they do need to have rooms with 2 beds, as all rooms have king beds only, which meant the whole family couldn't stay here.

Room Tip: the two bedroom suites are all up stairs, so not suitable for anyone with trouble doing steps, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked this hotel sight unseen through a Hotwire Hot Deal so didn't even know what hotel it was until after we had paid. Let me tell you, we got a STEAL! The suites were spacious, well equipped, and really appealed to the 'green' in me. Sustainable, edible landscape made for fun harvesting in the mornings and live plants in each room, along with delicious fair trade coffee and charitable toiletries, really add to the experience. The breakfast each morning was a nice change from hotel norm and offered a variety of new and local foods to try. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was exactly as it should be. The staff was very helpful and we didn't have one issue or complaint. We enjoyed coming "home" to our little nook in the jungle each night we were there. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yougotrossed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The linens as well as the furniture are uncomfortable and gross. the wallpaper is mismatched and peeling. It has been reattached by caulking only to try and hide the gross wall behind it. It looks smells and feels like the while room was decorated and stocked from a second hand store. The rooms are big but then again it's Texas, everything is bigger down here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zackdft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#32 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
The Highlander Austin
#110 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing