We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept, horrible execution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #63 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel itself is fine. The property, while maybe not as lush as the pictures on the website show, is fine. The location is great, and despite "Sugar's" being next door doesn't really feel unsafe.

However, I have never stayed at a property of this size that didn't have management on site 24 hours. This proved to be a major problem.

Returned to the hotel after seeing a concert at Stubb's in Austin. The key didn't work to our room. This shouldn't be a big deal, however it was after 11 pm and there was no one in the front office to assist in getting a replacement key. Was given 2 keys at check-in, of course the first one worked fine, but the other was still in my wallet, so I didn't bother grabbing the other. This isn't the first time, and certainly won't be the last time I've been given a key that didn't work. This was the first time I wasn't able to get a replacement.

It was roughly 12:30 AM, had a dead phone after spending most of the day in Austin. I literally had to kick-in the door to the hotel room. This may seem drastic, however there weren't any other options. Once I was able to access the room, did call the number they give in case of after-hours emergencies. The person answering was extremely unprofessional, and gave no indication that they were employed by the hotel.

After the frustration, didn't even stay the night.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Austipulation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 579 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

The beautiful grounds and salt water swimming pool will make you feel like you are on a tropical getaway. Free drinks and snacks everyday during happy hour! Amazing free breakfast with lots of healthy options!
I stayed here for 6 days and I wish I could stay longer. There are a few minor problems, like the tvs are really old and not many channels. But really, you won't care once you see how beautiful this place is.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toastlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with girlfriends for a weekend. The hotel is very nice, needs a little updating, but very clean. Breakfast buffet, which was included, was very nice. Lots of hot and cold food, and excellent wait staff. Happy hour is very nice, with limited snacks, and a three drink minimum! The front desk was excellent, and even provided us with complimentary wine openers when we realized we forgot to bring one. Very reasonable, and they even divided up the bill seven ways, so we could all pay for our share on our own credit card. They are eco friendly and have many herbs available for use, if you were cooking. The rooms all had stove, refrigerator. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan36384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here on the recommendation of a friend's husband. The grounds are well cared for with lovely plants and trees. Happy hours drinks and snacks are a nice and welcome touch. Breakfast is really some of the best I've had as far as free breakfast goes. But, when breakfast is very busy, they can run out of seating, food and plates/napkins/silverware/glasses. They do their best to keep up. The clean-up staff can be a little over-eager to clear tables (lost my plate a couple of times when going for a drink refill!).

Front desk and cleaning crews are very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are very clean but dated with some signs of wear and tear. The kitchen is great for when you just want to eat in. Noisiest dishwasher ever, though. Wifi works great.

My only other issue was being awoken 2 out of 3 nights by people clomping up the stairs at 3 am in heels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstenpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Front desk was friendly. Rooms were old but fairly clean. Decent price. Breakfast was excellent. When we checked in our keys would not open the door and we had to wait about three hours for the maintenance person to repair. When making the reservation we asked for a baby bed. The morning we were to check in I checked with the front desk to make sure there was a baby bed and was told there would be. When we arrived and checked in we were told that there were no baby beds available - first come first served. If we had been told that earlier we could have made other arrangements (brought a pack n play, made reservations elsewhere) but by the time they told us it was too late. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARLA55649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really like the concept of a hotel based on green/sustainability principles that is still comfortable and welcoming. Location was good - the haunted house in the mall parking lot across the street was a bit loud, but that's a seasonal thing. Staff was great, rooms were outfitted with a somewhat retro look (fauxhogany!), comfortable beds, fantastic hot breakfast! The only complaint I had was that the upstairs bedroom (3rd floor) had ants everywhere. Maintenance had gone home (at 4:30pm on a Sunday) so no ant spray available. Had to get to a wedding so we couldn't press the issue - luckily the ants had apparently gone to bed by the time we got back to the hotel; they were still there but not in a mass drove. I'll try it again - it's worth another shot.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcc99a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A good place to stay if you don't need to stay in downtown or near the University, but it's really not all that far away to drive there anyway. Our stay in this apt-like hotel was pleasant. It was clean, and the happy hour and breakfast was enjoyable. The furnishings are a little dated, but not a big deal. It would be great if they could have an exercise facility. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#49 of 203 in Austin
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 203 in Austin
1,293 reviews
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $104 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing