We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and value for Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Ranked #158 of 200 Hotels in Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and value for Austin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Downtown Austin is a pretty expensive location for a mid-size city. Glad for the La Quinta. The accommodations and amenities were a good value because the location and proximity to 6th. If you want to stay at the Four Seasons go down the street and spend $400. This is a fine value hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaccoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    121
    127
    90
    92
See reviews for
87
80
49
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked this last minute from the visitor center, when we came in the staff was unfriendly. Musty smell all over the place, spotty wifi. Could not find ANY bottled water at the hotel (all vending machines were out - except the last one that stole my money - got refunded). Parking staff was good, though.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javascrybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Location : PERFECT if you want to visit the area : Capitol, The Bullock Texas State History Museum, UT !!
Valet parking, great breakfast, clean room, please change those courtains ! great and very helpful staff !
Ready for a 3rd stay !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliiiiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Worst Hotel Stay Ever! I have stayed in my share of hotels lately and this one is a dump! The noise from the street is load. I have attached a picture of the phone. I picked it up with a towel and put them on the floor so I would not accidently touch it. You could tell that no one had cleaned under the sink for a long time either. The breakfast area was so crowded and the pickens so so. I settled for a banana and waffle. They only had one waffle machine working so the line was long. The beds were ok but the pillows were so lumpy, thank goodness there were 4 to a bed so I found a good one. The french doors to the bathroom did not close together. I was glad I was only in town for one night or else we would not have stayed. Valet is $13.00, the holet adds this to your bill and there is no place else to park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASmith333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I tend to stay at La Quintas when I am in the south where they are plentiful because of the general quality of service and the cleanliness of the room. This was no exception! The front desk clerks were helpful, and the valet parker even more so. I was having issues with my car, and this worker actually called a mechanic friend of his so that I would be able to get my car looked at.

The cost was a little higher than I was used to, as was the having to pay for parking. The location was great, though. I was very near the capital, 6th street was a short walk away. I would not have minded staying even longer if I wasn't so concerned about cost.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank lostinspace4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable hotel that is walking distance to pretty much everything in downtown Austin, then La Quinta Capitol is the right place. My husband and I have been staying there for ACL weekend for the last three years, and we plan to use this hotel in the future when we visit Austin. It's an old hotel, and it isn't pretty to look at. Don't expect the guest rooms to be any different. The beds, HVAC, and the TV are upgraded, but that's about it......there aren't any plugs on the nightstand for charging cell phones.....these rooms are almost solidly stuck in 1985. But we don't care. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the AC works like a charm, and we didn't have to use our car for four days.....everything is a comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Address: 300 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment...see more District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck," a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge." Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol with a Free Bright Side Breakfast arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swimming pool to cool you down. Capitol Metro busses stop across from our driveway. The hotel is easily accessible, just 3 blocks west of I-35, and within walking distance of all major area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing