We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Ranked #157 of 197 Hotels in Austin
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very clean reasonable and convenient location . Employees are very helpful! This lovation is near a lot of entertaining spots! We used our rewards and got a great deal!!! They are very bike friendly too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    119
    122
    88
    89
See reviews for
86
80
48
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I woke up expecting breakfast instead I felt like i was in a nursing home. The whole staff was ghetto and when we went to the fron desk to pay for our rooms, a niki manaj looking lady told us "y'all and yalls crazy money." When we were walking to our room one of the employees randomly said "just one person right". We told him he was rude and he just said we were being queens. The third day we were kicked out of the hotel for apparently being rude andwe were dominated and humiliated in front of everyone so we had to sleep in the car. Other than that it was a good stay I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank chrism_27d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is close to downtown, less than 10 min.
Considering the distance to downtown the price is relatively cheep.
The light stand has USB power adapter, it is very convenient.
The pool was open until late evening and the sound reaches to the room.
I could hear the shower noise in next rooms directly.
If you don't mind the noise, the room is good for the price.

Room Tip: The parking is valet only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miyahirodazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I know that this hotel is cheap and in a good location but DO NOT STAY HERE. I stayed at this hotel for a fun bachelorette weekend and almost everything went wrong. You can read the rest or just trust me that the price is not worth the free breakfast. It's just way to sketchy.

To start off, our cards never worked. We had to get replacement ones. Then on the first night, someone banged on all 3 of our doors at 3 am and called one of the rooms as well. Creepy? I know.

The next night we saw the security guard and asked him to watch our room because we were all girls and the night before scared us. So we go to sleep and wake up the next day with over $1000 worth of money and merchandise (a louis vuitton wallet). These items were in our room when we went to sleep which can only mean that someone came into our room during the night and took them.

SO....we go to the hotel manager and she tells us that she comps our room and all the charges. Well today I looked at my credit card and it was charged for $900. Some sort of joke. Of course I call the front desk and I have to leave a voicemail with the manager. I called customer service and filed a complaint. Then luckily my credit card company is amazing and they credited our account so La Quinta can suck it. Our lives were in danger this weekend and they couldn't figure out how to comp a room? Thank goodness for 6th street and pole dancing lessons or this weekend would have been a total bust.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. The room keys don't work so none of the rooms are good. I know this is true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

After reading the bad reviews for this hotel, I was afraid to stay here. I was meeting friends in Austin for "girls' night out", and this is the hotel where they booked their rooms. My husband travels weekly on business trips and spends over 175 nights per year in more upscale hotels, so I am able to stay at those nice hotels cost-free using his frequent-stay points. So, I was really dreading my stay at this LaQuinta. I slept in room 405 and was so pleased. The room was clean, updated, and the bed was excellent. I was so very pleasantly surprised. My only complaint is about the bad-tasting coffee provided in the hotel room. They need to provide a better brand. There is a Starbucks two blocks away, however. My friend stayed in room 134, and it smelled of mold and ashtrays. It was an ADA accessible room, and if I had been assigned that room, I would have been mad and asked to move. The hallways and elevators need much cleaning, painting and repairs, but that did not affect the quality of my sleep. The location is outstanding, and I will stay here again for my next inexpensive girls' night out. I will be requesting the same room again, just to make sure that I have another good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am torn on this hotel, for the price it is in a good location, but the overall hotel is in major need of a renovation. The room was big, but with little amenities. The hotel has a strange layout, which causes all the outside noise from the hotel to sound as though it is in your room. The house keeping in one to be desired as well. Nice walking distance to downtown and is on the bus line.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Address: 300 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment...see more District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck," a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge." Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol with a Free Bright Side Breakfast arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swimming pool to cool you down. Capitol Metro busses stop across from our driveway. The hotel is easily accessible, just 3 blocks west of I-35, and within walking distance of all major area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing