We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Average room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Ranked #156 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, Average room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We frequently stay at La Quinta wherever we go, but this was the first time we stayed at this particular hotel. The room was exactly what I expect out of La Quinta - clean with the essentials, but not a lot of extras.

This hotel is setup strangely with a courtyard in the middle where the parking/parking garage is. Our room faced the courtyard and it was loud a few times because of this. (There was a biker rally in Austin during our stay, so that didn't help any.) Also, it is valet only so it will cost you an additional $13 a night on top of your room rate. Valet can be slow and get backed up, so be sure to allow plenty of time to get your car when you're ready to leave.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is within easy walking distance to the capital and to 6th street. We walked to both on Friday night and felt very safe.

Since this hotel is downtown, beware of street closures. We had a difficult time getting to the hotel due to 11th street being closed. Luckily, it opened back up soon after we got to the area, otherwise I'm not sure how we would have made it to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JandJ618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    119
    122
    88
    89
See reviews for
86
80
48
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not the worst hotel but certainly not the best. When everything else is booked up downtown, there is usually availability here. The staff is very nice. The rooms a adequate in terms of cleanliness but not immaculate. If you need a place to stay downtown and sleep in a hurry, this is the place to select.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our toilet wouldn't work the whole time we were there and we asked maintenance to fix it twice. Good location though and fairly attentive staff. For what you pay, it's pretty average. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not nearly as clean as it should have been for the price which was excessive. Rooms were gloomy and dank smelling. The valet only parking just adds to the already high price. I waited 20 minutes on one night after returning to the motel after a night sight seeing just to get the valets to t ake my car keys because they were that backed up.All inall a very disappointing experience. Breakfast however was really good.

Room Tip: It is in a great location for business or sight seeing at the capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose this hotel for its close proximity to UT Austin and the Capitol. We stayed 2 nights, and the $160 per night price we paid over UT's graduation weekend was the "best price" we could find for the area, booked many months prior. At that price we weren't expecting much more than the basics, but we were disappointed even in that. Our nonsmoking room smelled of cigarette smoke. The rooms we booked (2 double beds) felt old and dingy and in no way resembled the bright rooms shown in photos on the hotel website. We could see daylight through the top and bottom of the door when the door was closed. It was not possible in our room to keep the air conditioner fan on constantly using the high, low, or auto fan settings. When the fan clicked off, you heard everything going on outside of the room, including all the activity at the valet station and in adjoining rooms. As a result, we didn't get good sleep either night of our stay. We returned to the room at 4 pm during our first and only full day in the room and had to call the front desk to request housekeeping to clean our room and replace some towels. My in-laws, who were staying a few doors down from us, had to do the same. We did not use the valet parking, as one of the attendants in the valet area appeared stoned when we asked for directions. Maybe he was, maybe he wasn't, but we decided to follow our gut after taking in the general feel of this hotel.
On the pro side: The front desk staff seemed friendly. The beds were comfortable enough, and the shower strength was good. The breakfast foods and coffee served in the morning were just okay.
Anywhere else, I would expect to pay no more than $75 dollars per night or so for this quality of hotel. From my first step onto the property, I regretted my decision to stay here, and I'd wished I'd spent more to stay in a more pleasant place.

Room Tip: Choose a higher quality hotel in downtown Austin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustToBeFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Address: 300 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment...see more District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck," a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge." Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol with a Free Bright Side Breakfast arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swimming pool to cool you down. Capitol Metro busses stop across from our driveway. The hotel is easily accessible, just 3 blocks west of I-35, and within walking distance of all major area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing