We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 11th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #151 of 195 Hotels in Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I've never reviewed a hotel before but afte reading all of the other reviews, I felt it necessary to share my comments.

I stayed here for a week for SXSW, so it was a really busy time. This was the cheapest place i could find in the downtown area.

The reception and valet staff were fantastic... Really friendly and helpful.

My room was actually really nice and quite roomy. Plenty of space in the bathroom too and very clean.

The location was perfect, only a few blocks walk to 6th street.

We did pay a lot per night, but everywhere was overpriced at this time over the festival. As other people have said, it is more of a motel than a hotel, but it is honestly quite nice.

The lift and hallways are a bit old and grotty, but apart from that I was really satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moireeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    114
    102
    79
    74
See reviews for
73
73
46
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I recently stayed here for business hoping to save a few dollars. Big mistake. Some sort of nearby concert led to idiots in the hallways and adjoining rooms until close to 4 am. No one answered the phone at the front desk. I will never forgive the on-site operators or La Quinta for not doing more to protect those of us looking for a good night's sleep before a full day of work on the road. The rooms were about as expected for a budget place. I was given a free night's stay in the future, but the asst. manager did not reply to my subsequent e-mail. I can't recommend this place and will spend a few bucks extra to upgrade in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JG39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Here for five days @ $150 per night. There's very little natural light in the room that looks out onto the walkway that everyone uses. So you can't leave your curtains open unless you want everyone staring into the room. Breakfast is free but no wonder, it's very basic and pretty grim. I'm here for SXSW otherwise I would have walked straight out and gone to a different, better, hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertsione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed for three days on a conference trip. Like other reviewers said the staff are friendly but the hotel is motel style and all the materials are old and cheap. The carpets look good but the bathroom floor is old and worn out. Small desk, some sockets a bit unstable with electricity, ie didn't always power and the bathroom was dark and small. Also, no hair conditioner.

On the positive side, the room was clean and so were the bed sheets. There was a small fridge and microwave oven and, most of all, free, fast, stable, and wireless Internet.

Great location on 11th and Trinity, two blocks from Sheraton and next to the airport flyer bus service which will take you to and bring you from the airport for $1.

Not a pampered stay but good value for money. I got the room on Priceline for $70 including breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms are motel style with doors accessible from outside. But most are accessible through card...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The staff work very hard and are very friendly. However I have described this LQ as a motel not a hotel, which I suspect it is.

The place could do with a complete refurb; the rooms feel old and slightly damp. The bathrooms are particularly dark and tired.

The usual LQ inclusion of Wi-Fi and standard breakfast were available.

Couldn't ask for a better location in terms of proximity of the Capitol Building and some eateries.

Again, LQ points did not appear on my account.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was in Austin for a wedding and needed a cheap place to stay. Compared to other hotels in the area the price was right. The room was large, had a small fridge, a desk and the bathroom was clean and new. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The hotel staff was extremely nice and the valets were always on hand for getting the car. There was also a pool (although it was too cold out to use it), but it looked nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl4489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Address: 300 E 11th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 195 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment...see more District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck," a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge." Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol with a Free Bright Side Breakfast arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swimming pool to cool you down. Capitol Metro busses stop across from our driveway. The hotel is easily accessible, just 3 blocks west of I-35, and within walking distance of all major area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing