We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Ranked #160 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Mineral Wells, Texas
2 reviews
“Downtown Austin”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I had a great stay at the La Quinta Inn near the capitol. I was pleasantly surprised to have valet service for my vehicle and the gentlemen were great. They helped me get my luggage out and loaded onto a cart when I got there and helped me load it all back in when I was ready to leave. The room was very comfortable. I had three wonderful nights there.

They also gave me a good tip on a good restaurant nearby - Serranos. Awesome!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    121
    129
    92
    94
See reviews for
90
81
49
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Pros: convenient location, nice staff, okay breakfast included in the price.
Cons: old, thin walls, can hear outside noise.

I think the management and staff are really trying to keep this LaQuinta in decent shape -they are nice, the room was clean, and breakfast was basic, but it did the job. However, the building is old (not in a good way) and I could noise from the street/ surrounding rooms/ a loud guest talking outside woke me up several times during the 2 nights I spent there. At around $100/ night, I did not expect anything fancy, but uninterrupted sleep was one expectation that was not met.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likesT0Travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I picked this hotel as we were driving into Austin. I scoffed at the $100 room price, hoping I could get a better deal but after I called around and found that the other hotels were booked or more expensive, I settled with this one. When we walked in, we were greeted with a strong musk. There was no standing water (like I read in another review) so because I couldn't figure out where the odor came from and figured it was just because it was old, I didn't say anything. The bathroom was tiny, but honestly, that's not that big of a deal to me. How much room do you need in there anyway? The vanity area was big, which was the only perk to this room. Back to the bathroom.. I know the toilets are old, but when its running off and on and you can't even flush it properly because the inner workings in the tank need to be adjusted, there is a problem. I opened the tank up and messed with it enough to satisfy myself. So again, I didn't see the need to say anything. I saw a bug. That would normally be it for me. But after the boyfriend killed it and assured me that it was the waterbug type but there shouldn't be anymore, I stayed quiet. We stayed on the second floor on the outside part of the hotel nearest the door with the stairs. I didn't realize that every morning, I would hear the travelers with their wheelie bags outside as much as we did. We must have been woken up half a dozen times each morning! At this point, I'm not saying anything just because I don't want to go through the hassle of repacking just to move 15 feet and then unpacking. What else? Room service walked in on us! Yes, we were decent, but if you're going to walk into people's rooms, wait a few seconds after you knock! You don't knock as you're walking in! Some TV channels did not come in at all. I'm not talking about the PPV channels or anything fancy... I'm talking FOX. Lame. Parking was way too expensive, but it seems inevitable in the downtown area. The valet guys where probably the friendliest out of the whole staff. I probably would have tipped them if I didn't already have to pay 13 bucks a day for something they only did maybe 4 times total. At the time when all of these little things were happening, I didn't want to say anything. Partially because I don't want to be "that" person and partially because I didn't want to deal with the hassle. But now that I'm thinking about it, I definitely should have. The accumulation of all these things most definitely warrants a trip to the front desk. Since I couldn't do it, I'm just going to let you guys know so that you don't waste well earned dollars on something that very well might lead to disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSALES, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Jenny L:

I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us.

I was very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations in so many aspects of your stay.

We welcome all guest's feedback and encourage it to continually imprive our facilities and services.

I can assure you that we have addressed the physical issues you had with the room and have used this as a continuing trainging tool with our housekeeping staff to further avoid such problems.

I would like to be able to get in contact with you as we would like ot be able to make this up to you and your boyfriend.

We strive to ensure that our guests are 100% satisfied and I do hope to have a chance to speak with you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Dennis Lancette
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinlan, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you book at this hotel, DO NOT allow them to put you in rooms 107 to 110. If you do you will get the noise from the street through the windows and the screeching tire noises from the VALET parking on the door side. The a/c in our room was only adequate. I had to keep adjusting it as it would reset itself. For almost $100 per night plus parking, this hotel was NOT worth what we paid.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in the rooms next to the valet parking garage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALVIS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I did not have the best experience at this hotel. I arrived at about 10pm ready to settle into my room and get some sleep. When I got to my room there was a strong mildew odor in the room and there was standing water in the bathroom, so I immediately called the front desk. Of course, they moved us to another room. From their conversation, they apparently thought the leak was repaired but no one checked it before we got there, so we had to deal with it. The room we moved to was comfortable and pleasant and we did not have any problems there. I also did not realize when I made the reservation that the hotel rooms are not in an enclosed building but the doors open to the outside which is not my personal preference.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shilesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I chose the La Quinta Austin Capitol for a week's vacation last month. My choice
was driven primarily by financial considerations - the other hotels in the area
seemed absurdly expensive; however, the location by the Capitol and within reasonable walking distance to downtown and the University was a plus. Let me say right now that I read many of the reviews before I reserved, so I knew what to expect as far as the building layout and room location. I requested and got a
top floor room overlooking the pool and downtown which was most preferable to
the lower floor rooms, especially those in the courtyard with no view and right
next to the parking area.

That said, there were both positives and negatives to my stay at this property
Let me begin with the negatives. When I arrived at the airport around 6:00 P.M. (the only flight I could get out that day) I called the motel to say I would be on my way as soon as possible.In the course of our conversation I asked to con- firm that my relatively late arrival would not cause a problem with my reserva- tion.Christine, the young lady at the front desk told me no as long as I didn't arrive around say 11:00 P.M. at which time it would be assumed the guest would not show up and the room would be released (this with an online credit card reservation). In all my past experience a credit card reservation held a
room all night but not here, so please beware and arrive early enough. Once
past this issue which I could ascribe to hotel policy, Christine turned out to be very helpful and courteous throughout my entire stay and I did not blame her
personally for what she explained to me.

Another problem is the exterior corridors to and from the rooms which allows for
little or no privacy with the curtains open, so I had to keep them shut almost the
entire time. The cooridors also gave me a problem during my Saturday night
there when I heard all the unruly nightclubbers returning to their rooms until
around 2 or 3 A.M. In addtion, other guests were congregating around a lounge
area the floor below me. In this regard, I must say that Austin is big party down with a big music scene, year round, so this may be a problem in every hotel in town. However, the rest of the week went without incident and was blissfully quiet
the remainder of my stay.

There is also no business center on the property, so if you have no computer
you are out of luck. There is however a FedEx Kinko's downtown on 3rd Street
off Congress Avenue (across from McCormick and Schmicks Restaurant)
where you can check e-mails and surf the Web for 20 cents a minute.

So enough with the negatives and on to the positives. As mentioned above,
Christine was extremely helpful and courteous with all my travel needs and gave me unfailingly good advice on sightseeing and dining tips. The same could also be said of Renee also at the front desk who was equally helpful with getting me
set for each day's activities. Housekeeping was thourough and puctual each day.

My room was surprisingly better than expected which certainly helped me at the
comfort level and helped ease much of the experience listed above. The room
was for starters very clean and spotless. Then there was the upscale, new fur- niture (in my opinion) big flatscreen TV with lots of channels, radio, recliner, iron/board, large desk with comfortable business chair and most of all the big comfy king bed with equally comfy pillows. The bathroom was typical motel style with the sink in a alcove at the end of the room and the shower and toilet behind a door, but no problem as I've seen this before. There was also a coffee maker and a small alcove next to the closet with a mirror and a shelf for a computer, cellphone etc.

The complimentary breakfast is served in a dining area across from the lobby
and is continental with three varieties of cereal and juice, pastries, muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, and coffee/tea. I would have liked a hot item or two
but what was offered got me off to a good start.

The pool looked very inviting but didn't use it as I was sightseeing day in and
day out. As to which, the heart of downtown is about six blocks down the road,
the Capitol is two blocks back of the motel, and the university is about a 20
minute walk - if you vist in the summer, take the bus to the university as it gets
very hot. The Sixth Street district downtown sould be visited with its many
excellent restaurants and clubs. Also, the bat watching at the Congress Avenue
bridge is a must-see every evening around 7:30 P.M. from March to I believe,
October. This is a bit further walk from the LaQuinta but you may also take any
bus going down Congress Avenue - the bridge is in back of the Radisson Hotel
on the lake.

So to sum up, I would consider the LaQuinta Austin Capitol for a future stay
because of the price, location, staff and better that average rooms for a pro-perty of this class, but if I got a good deal on another downtown hotel, that may
be too tempting to pass up.

Room Tip: Stay away fron the courtyard facing rooms as there is no view and you face the parking area. The ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Simply a little too far from the downtown attractions, but very close to the Capitol. It was also a busy weekend for the City, and I thought that the price paid (i.e. $184) was too high for the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JotaJota56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Address: 300 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment...see more District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck," a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge." Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol with a Free Bright Side Breakfast arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swimming pool to cool you down. Capitol Metro busses stop across from our driveway. The hotel is easily accessible, just 3 blocks west of I-35, and within walking distance of all major area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing