We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Ranked #53 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2006

This is not a child-friendly hotel but it seems to be a very "animal" friendly hotel. Our first few hours, my children (ages 2 yrs and 9mos) ended up with black feet and knees from crawling on the floor. Yuck! So we were moved to a new room with cleaner carpet.

The TV won't stay on a channel and keeps switching to menu. They tried to fix it, but it still doesnt work.

There were no sheets for the pull-out. The sofa smells like dog breath. There are dogs everywhere in this place!! It's more like a kennel than a hotel! And for the price at $190 (including the tax) - it's insane how crappy this place is!

The stove didn't work so someone had to come fix it. The first time we reported it, the maintenance man, did not believe me and didn't do anything other than adjust the burners. The second time, he realized I was right and had to replace the entire stove-top because the large burner was not getting hot! Would have been nice if he would have checked it out completely the first time through.

The pool is tiny and unheated so even in September in Texas, it was too cold to swim.

The maid service keeps forgetting to leave linens and coffee... very simple things to remember.

The front desk however have been exceptional!! They are the only good thing about this dirty, kennell-esque, over-priced hotel.

And kid-friendly like one reviewer stated? Not at all. They don't have cribs like they advertise, they have PLAYPENS. Which are uncomfortable for babies in an extended sleeping situation.

Also, the reviewer who stated they had a 2-bedroom suite must have been reviewing the wrong hotel because this one only HAS 1 bedrooms - call them and ask. I would have switched us to a 2 bedroom in a heartbeat if we could have avoided having my 2 yr old sleeping on the stinky pull out sofa.

And as far as suites in the area... this is the only one that has had any availability. Now I know why. Even with Candlewood and Staybridge being more expensive, they are booked solid which is why we have NO CHOICE but to tough out our stay here in this crappy, overpriced, stinky, constantly something wrong hotel.

I am definitely not happy, and yet... I'm actually a very easy going person. I definitely give this a "terrible"rating. As I sit here, smelling the dog stink from this room.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank QuinnW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2006

The Residence Inn at 3713 Tudor in Austin, TX is not only a great place to stay but the surrounding area is hillly, tree lined and just filled with upscale shops and restaurants. The staff, from the front desk folks to the housekeeping staff, is as friendly and helpful as you could possibly want them to be. Our room was immaculate and the bedding and mattress appeared to be very new as was the kitchen faux wood floor. We had a one-bedroom suite with full kitchen on the top floor. The carpeting felt clean and/or new also. Even though we were on the third floor the water pressure in the shower was excellent. Although there were many families with young children staying the weekend we were there our bedroom seemed to be insulated from the noisy chatter. We found a marvelous restaurant to have dinner at on Saturday night because the hotel had an extensive book of menus for local dining venues in their entry way.

The only drawback I feel about this hotel is that they only have High Speed Wireless internet downstairs in the breakfast/manager's reception room. So many really cheap hotels off this service in all their rooms that I really have to wonder why a nice place like this doesn't provide the service throughout. Hmmmmm. Otherwise, this a a good place to stay and rates are reasonable for the nice suite a guest has to stay in while visiting.

7  Thank texasroseII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2006

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite for five nights. The rooms are average in all respects. The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. The location was pretty good - restaurants and shopping close by. It is a ways to downtown only if you get caught in rush hour. The pool is small, however, ok if your intention is just to cool off and not swim for exercise.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanbean37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2006

Just got back from a weekend trip to Austin with my family. We spent two nights at the Residence Inn Arboretum in a two-bedroom, two-bath room. All in all a very pleasant stay. The hotel has been very well-maintained and the staff were very kind and responsive. Right off the highway but very quiet. A Whole Foods and a bunch of restaurants are a very short drive away (but not really within easy walking distance). The only negatives are a very small pool that is in the shadows most of the day and it can be a bit of a drive into downtown Austin when the traffic is bad, which seems to be almost all the time! Easy access though to the Hill Country due west of Austin.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TommyV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Round Rock, Texas
13
Reviewed September 30, 2003

First of all the staff was excellent!!! I am platium with Marriott Rewards and prefer Residence Inn for both the room and amenities. The buffet in the morning was great and I loved the High Speed Internet, I have found a new home while staying in Austin.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelito27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton K, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seiko3seiko3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton K, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Northwest Austin
Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Address: 3713 Tudor Blvd, Austin, TX 78759-6567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
#50 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $99 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum features an ideal location just off the Mopac Expressway and apartment-style suites that are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms. This great location offers guests easy access to Austin's top destinations including 6th Street, Lake Travis, and the Domain. The pet-friendly suites are highlighted by separate living area and sleeping areas, a fully-equipped kitchen, and modern amenities including HD TVs and free WiFI. Start your day off in the brand new lobby with a free breakfast buffet offering a selection of healthy yogurts, scrambled eggs, and freshly made Belgian waffles, and unwind in the evenings with complimentary drinks and appetizers at the weekday social hour. Get in a workout in the 24-hour fitness center, maintain your active lifestyle with a game of basketball or tennis on the outdoor SportCourt, and soak in the sun in the afternoons with a relaxing swim in the outdoor pool. With a prime location and thoughtful amenities, the Residence Austin Northwest/Arboretum is among the best Arboretum hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing