We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look No Further” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Austin South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Residence Inn Austin South
Ranked #86 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Look No Further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed here 2 weeks for business. I can't say enough good things. The staff here treated me like a long lost friend and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. I've never had staff at a hotel tell me hello and ask if I had a good day when I came in every evening. I experienced no problems and this was one of the cleanest rooms I have stayed in (and I check my rooms carefully). The kitchen area/refridgerator were spotless as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the seperate sitting area.

While the pool area is small, its is well stocked with towels and chairs. It even has a grill if you want to grill out. The happy hour is well stocked and the "snacks" could make a dinner for most.

Thank you Daniel, Shawn, Jennifer and the entire staff who made my stay great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merees17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    59
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
22
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
PHX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

The place is old, dirty and unkempt. The beds are uncomfortable due to the old mattresses. The internet connection is a joke. My room smelled of smoke. A colleague's room smelt of dog urine. This is not the place for business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorstWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanPlain, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are so sorry for the issue you experienced while staying with us. We take pride in ourselves on being the cleanest and friendliest hotel, but in this instance it appears we failed to live up to our mission. Please know we work very hard to ensure every guest room is 100% clean and inspected before guest arrival.

I personally want to apologize for this issue and ensure you it will not happen again in the future. If you are ever back in Austin I invite you back to give us another try. I will make sure your stay is perfect.

Sincerely,
Ryan Plain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento Valley
Level Contributor
282 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 787 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

May 2010. We had the opportunity to spend one night at the Residence Inn, Austin South when we were in the area. The hotel is located in a Marriott Oasis, next to a Courtyard, Fairfield Inn, Spring Hill Suites, and Marriott FSP on a frontage road next to the freeway. It is not near the airport therefore you do not hear any air traffic but the freeway is on one side so you might want to ask for a room on the quiet side. There is plenty of free parking in the parking structure around the hotel.

The frontage road and turnarounds take a bit to get use to. I would not say this property is the easiest to get into.

Check-in was delayed to many early check ins, so we drove to County Line BBQ on the Hill for lunch. On our return we received one bedroom suite. This property is one big box Marriotts and similar to properties we stayed in at Houston University West and Alamo Square on this trip.

Our front desk person was a local person and was friendly and attentive. My room, was very comfortable and standard big box residence inn decorated.. The bed was comfortable. The room was quiet too. Lighting in the room was good with lamps on both sides of the bed, on the desk, and a floor lamp. The work desk was small and their was office-style chair. Smaller Residence Suite and a bit dated but clean.

The TV was had a lot of cable channels as well as a wide selection of pay-per-view movies.
The bathroom was clean. Lighting was good, the towels were plentiful, and the shower worked well – immediate hot water with plenty of pressure. Bath amenities include shampoo, conditioner, lotion.
The hotel public areas were clean and well-kept, but could use an updating to the style of the rooms.
The hotel has a small swimming pool and hydrotherapy spa. Sliding doors open onto a patio with additional lounge chairs. Next to, and with windows looking onto the pool, is a very complete exercise room.

Breakfast was your standard Residence Inn fare and I'd say it slightly better than average.

I recommend this property if your looking for reasonable accomodations and have a car.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeminarTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Tx
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

This was our second time to stay at this property and it has now become our second home when we come down for the ROT Rally. Daniel and his staff take the word 'guest' to a high level and successfully make you feel welcomed and comfortable, greeting you by name with a smile as you come and go. The ice maker in our full-size refrigerator was not working, and when they were unable to repair it during our visit, Daniel personally filled up the freezer's ice bucket from the large commercial ice maker, and added complimentary ice cream bars with a note of apology for good measure. The ice cream was a surprising and great treat after a day of sight-seeing. The extensive, self-service breakfast buffet should satisfy any and every dietary need and taste, with everything kept fresh, tidy, and well-stocked throughout the breakfast period. Incredible value for the price!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just returned from stay at Residence Inn South. Can't say enough good things about the hotle and especially the staff. GM Miguel and front end manager Daniel could not have been more accomodating. They really made our stay special.The hotel is nicely located, well maintained, roomy and comfortable. The breakfast and manager's reception were like icing on the cake. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Austin. Only four miles to downtown but away from the hectic pace.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is the best place to stay on business. They offer complimentary happy hour every evening Monday thru Thursday and most nights the food is enough for a meal. They also offer a free hot breakfast everyday. The staff is very friendy and accomodating and they remember your likes and dislikes. I stay here everytime I go to Austin.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizmccombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

The Marriott Residence Inn provides good value for the money. You get a small kitchen suite, with full fridge, cooktop, sink, and basic cookware. There is a door separating the bedroom area from the livingroom area for more privacy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmasDad34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#113 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Austin Marriott South
#44 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin South

Property: Residence Inn Austin South
Address: 4537 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Austin South is within driving distance to many of the area's attractions, including the unique ambiance of 6th Street, the excitement of the University of Texas and Longhorn football, and Austin's Town Lake with miles of hiking and biking trails. All pet-friendly suites have fully-equipped kitchens, flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and separate living and sleeping areas. The property also features complimentary breakfast and weekday evening reception, outdoor pool, fitness room, and outdoor multi-purpose Sport Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing