We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin South
Ranked #91 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Accommodating Staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, typical of other Residence Inns, which are great for longer term stays. We stayed for 4 days in June when there was a problematic "beetle migration". The way the staff handled this was excellent. We were moved to a higher floor where there was no problem. The hotel and our rooms were very clean. We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of the lobby area in the evenings when food was served. The breakfasts were full of variety and tasty. The staff continued throughout our stay to assist with questions in a knowledgeable and friendly way. I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMiss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor. As you mentioned in your stay we are great for long term stays. Our Residence Inn all-suite hotel offer spacious studio, 1- and 2-bedroom suites with room to eat, work, and dream. Our suites are designed to provide extended stay travelers with everything they need to thrive on long stays. Plus guests will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, Wi-Fi, evening socials and grocery delivery service.

Our staff is our greatest asset as we are always willing and able to assist as any guest need or issue that may arise.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Austin!

Sincerely,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    60
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
23
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel is not within walking distance of any restaurants or groceries store. I stayed here for one week. The inn is in need for updating . One elevator, kind of scary to ride., so I took the stairs even with luggage. It's equipped with a stove full size refrigerator, and you can write a groceries list and the staff will shop for you and add the bill to your invoice. There is also a barbecue grill outside the main entrance.

My comments, when you are on travel do you really want to be cooking or barbecuing ? I say No. The hotel has no restaurant , so they make up by offering free dinner from 6-7 . After free dinner on the first night ummm I passed the remainder of the stay. Italian was actually tacos and pulled pork was unrecognizable.

Options: free shuttle to 6th street downtown Austin . Runs from 6-midnight,serves the 4 Marriott hotels next to each other.
Room was quite nice , but beetle infestation was a concern.
Overall 3 stars. The front desk was polite.
Fitness center: 2 treadmills, 1 bike, a few weights. Next to the front desk. Not really the best set up.
Austin is no a walking city, unless you are on 6th street walking from bar to bar.

Room Tip: Stay downtown Austin for a better experience. You would be near bars and music and you can walk arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H2oaqqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings,

First of all Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip advisor it is much appreciated.

To address some of the great points you made we are happy to share the following with you:

* Although we do not have a varied selection of restuarants in the immediate area we do actually have an in room dining service for those who prefer not to eat out/cook or grill, let us bring dinner to your room directly. This actually comes from our nearby Sister hotel the Marriott Austin South which has a full service restuarant on site at the hotel in which our in house guests are allowed to access at all times.

* As part of the Residence Inn brand, in addition to our complimentary breakfast we are one of the very few hotel chains that provide a complimentary dinner service including beverages on a rotating schedule Monday-Thursday. Our in room literature provides a full listing of our rotational menu options.

* For the benefit of other readers we do provide a FREE shuttle service to downtown Austin as you mentioned which is exclusively for our Marriott guests in the area. When downtown in Austin I truly hope you got to check out some of the WORLD CLASS dining options we have in the city. It truly is a special city when it comes to any food fanatics out there. Anyone wishing for a great recommendation simply needs to stop by the front desk and allow our associates to make a recommendation for you in addition to printing a menu for you en route.

* As you mentioned our features are created towards our long term guests with a select service vibe. We do strive to ensure a clean and friendly service with a variety of hotel features. Although we may not have the features as some of our full service hotels we will do whatever we can to ensure you expectations are met.

We truly hope this information will better serve both yourself and other readers whenever you are next in Austin!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The staff was wonderful - so helpful and very professional! Our accommodations were the perfect home for my husband and I, our daughters, son-in-law and 2 month grandson. We had plenty of room in the 2 bedroom to relax as well as welcome friends and family to see the new baby. Location is perfectly situated, convenient to airport and to all of our family and also to many great restaurants and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGS2014July
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. As you mentioned, our 2 Bedroom Suite is a great option for families as it gives you plenty of room to relax and with the additional bathroom it makes getting ready for the day much easier. We are convenientely located off of IH-35 and 290 which makes for easy access to the airport, downtown, or any one of the local area attractions.

Our goal is for our guests to be extremely satisfied with all aspects of their stay and based on your comments we succeeded. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Austin.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very courteous, professional staff (especially guy working evening of June 8). Lobby updated & fresh, with apples & cookies available. Nice breakfast. Corridors & rooms rather dim & in need of updating. A beetle migration problem in Austin resulted in my waking up to a live bug in my bed! Left a dress behind which manager found & is shipping back to me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the freeway. Much quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: As an avid recycler & "green" person myself, I love when hotels offer this.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank August0893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear our staff was courteous and professional. We pride ourselves on being one of the friendliest hotels in Austin and I am glad our pursuit of that goal was evident by you. As you mentioned in your review, we do have complimentary apples and cookies available in the lobby daily as well as a great breakfast available each morning to help you start your day.

I am terribly sorry that you had to experience the beetle migration taking place in all of Austin. Experts tell us that the beetles like our location due to our spacious suites, complimentary social hr., and southern hospitality. With that being said, we have been working with our local pest management company, Ecolab, to rectify any and all pest issues at our property.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope that you will give us
another chance to serve you on your next trip to Austin.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus oh
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Won the hotel on Priceline. Was allowed to check in early which is a big plus. Front desk was super accommodating the whole stay. Breakfast was very good and a nice selection. It was never crowded. Room was nice--kitchen looked to recently upgraded. Bathroom was very small. It is in a cluster of 5 Marriott properties and they share services. Went next door to the courtyard to use the pool and hottub. Pool is heated but was very cold. Pool at residence inn was small and not heated. The hotels offer a free shuttle to and from 6th street area. It was about 7 miles from downtown and the airport. Only negatives were the location on a frontage road making it hard to get to and the views were of other hotels.

Room Tip: We faced the Red Roof inn and didn't get much I 35 noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is our crowing jewel - thank you so much for posting your lovely comments. We are blessed to have a team of individuals who strive to not only meet, but exceed our guest's expectations. Taking care of our guests comfort and cleanliness are our top priorities. As you mentioned in your review, we do have a very good and nice selection of food at breakfast. We have many offerings on our complimentary daily breakfast buffet including eggs, sausage, Texas shaped waffles, yogurt parfaits, cereals, and a selection of pastries and bagels. We are also very fortunate to be in a cluster of 5 different Marriott brands with different types of amenities that our guests can utilize. A big perk to staying at our location is the use of the complimentary evening shuttle provided by the Marriott to downtown where one can experience some of Austin’s great dining and nightlife options.

Once again, thank you for the review.

Sincerely,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is not in a particularly attractive location, as it is near a very busy freeway, and the swimming pool has been built on this side. The pool is very small and looks in need of attention. They have concreted over the whirlpool, which is a big mistake!
The rooms are the usual Residence Inn ones.
Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Emily on reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westsussex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor, it means a lot to me and the team. I will be more than happy to share your comments with Emily and the entire staff here at the hotel, I know how much they will appreciate that you took time out of your day to share your praise about how friendly and helpful they were.

As you mentioned in your review, we are located near IH-35 and Ben White Blvd which provides easy access to downtown Austin, the Barton Creek Square Mall, Congress Avenue, and many other Austin attractions. We also have a great complimentary daily hot breakfast with a variety of healthy and indulgent options to help start your day on the right foot. As is the case we with many hotels in Austin, we did concrete over our hot tub at the beginning of 2013. If any of our guests would like to relax in a hot tub please feel free to utilize our sister hotel, the Courtyard by Marriott which is located right next door to us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend, meeting family members from out of town...

First of all, it took 5 phone calls on a Friday night to get anyone to answer the front desk phone. I let it ring at least 10 times, each time. Then, when someone finally picked up, I was put on hold & the person never returned...

Second, when we checked in, the staff member announced our number room, aloud, for all to hear.

Third, the furniture in the rooms is quite worn & the upholstery is not clean. Stains, etc. There is no sponge or washcloth to wash dishes. There is a dishwasher.

Fourth, the breakfast room was poorly staffed & 3 garbage cans were left overflowing, for hours (despite telling the staff).

Fifth, the lobby bathroom was in need of attention & the garbage was overflowing at 12pm on a Saturday...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback from your recent stay with us. We strive to provide world class guest service and a quality product that the Marriott name represents; your input is invaluable to that end. I sincerely apologize for the frustration you experienced at our hotel during your most recent stay. Please let me assure you that our entire team here takes the comfort and safety of our guests very seriously. In regards to the phone not being answered in a timely manner and the condition of our lobby and restrooms, we will use your experience as a training tool moving forward. Our goal is to answer phones within 3 rings and maintain a quality public environment and knowing our shortcomings will achieve that. In regards to the room condition and amenities provided, we strive to provide a superior product and letting us know about these issues helps us accomplish that objective. Please be assured that each of your concerns will be addressed with the appropriate department head and handled accordingly.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and I hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future so we might have an opportunity to earn your faith again.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Austin South
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Austin South
Courtyard Austin South
#78 of 203 in Austin
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Austin South
0.2 mi away
Austin Marriott South
Austin Marriott South
#33 of 203 in Austin
433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin South

Property: Residence Inn Austin South
Address: 4537 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Austin South is within driving distance to many of the area's attractions, including the unique ambiance of 6th Street, the excitement of the University of Texas and Longhorn football, and Austin's Town Lake with miles of hiking and biking trails. All pet-friendly suites have fully-equipped kitchens, flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and separate living and sleeping areas. The property also features complimentary breakfast and weekday evening reception, outdoor pool, fitness room, and outdoor multi-purpose Sport Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing