We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great News Years Eve Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin South
Ranked #91 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great News Years Eve Stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the perfect place for our stay on New Years Eve. The suite concept is especially nice as I could watch football in one room and my wife could do her thing in the other. When it came time to go to our new years eve event downtown, there was a shuttle there to take us. Several people were waiting on cabs that never came so they rode with us. That in itself saved us over $20. The room was very comfortable and the service/front desk staff very accommodating. And the breakfast was most adequate and welcomed after a night of ringing in the new year. The price was very reasonable. We have decided this will be our go to place in Austin from now on.

Room Tip: Might ask for an upper floor room as our first floor one was a little noisy, both with noise from ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Greetings,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We are an all-Suite property and our rooms are approximately 50% larger than standard hotel rooms. As you mentioned, our one bedroom suites are very spacious and do provide a nice divided area for more privacy from the living room to the bedroom. With the assistance of the Marriott Austin South, we do provide a complimentary shuttle to downtown from 6p-11p. We also do offer free daily hot breakfast with a variety of healthy and indulgent options. One of the greatest compliments we can receive is earning your repeat business and I am glad to hear we will be your go to place whenever in Austin. If we can be of further assistance on booking any reservations when in Austin please do not hesitate to contact us at 512-912-1100.
Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    61
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
23
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We wouldn't change a thing about our stay! This hotel was excellent! The staff was great! We were lucky to be there on a Monday and Tuesday and ended up with free dinner! Total unexpected bonus! First night was spaghetti and meatballs, salad, dessert. Oh and beer and wine and some sodas. Only an hour each night but was free dinner and drinks in same area and set up as breakfast! Very attentive lady (Olga) taking care of the food area. She wasn't rushing anyone at any time (even at the end of the posted hours of operation.)

We also were able to take advantage of the free shuttle to downtown that takes place 6-11pm every day. Freddy was our driver and he was AWESOME! He was super friendly and helpful giving us suggestions of where to go! Being flexible with us and waiting on us to be ready even! We learns some fun facts from Freddy and really really appreciated him helping us out with our night!

Our room was clean and nice. We ha a one room suite with a bedroom private from living space where it had a full size fridge an microwave in the kitchenette. Front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. We were even able to use the indoor pool and whirlpool in the neighboring Courtyard! We are so pleased and appreciative of our great stay here! We would definitely return!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.com regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Austin South! We appreciate your recognition of our incredibly knowledgeable and kind staff. Olga is truly an asset to our team and we are lucky to have her with us. Whether it’s for our evening social hr. or our daily deluxe complimentary breakfast, Olga will definitely not let our guests leave until they are fed and happy!
As you mentioned in your review, we do have a great evening social hr. that runs Monday-Thursday from 6p-7:30pm. Our complimentary evening social hour includes a rotational main course, side items, salad, and a desert. Also included in the evening social hr. are complimentary wine, beer, soda, and water.

Freddy is a definite wealth of local Austin knowledge and we are glad he was able to assist you around Austin. The evening shuttle is complimentary from 6p-11pm.

Thank you again for your comments and positive review. There are hundreds of hotels in Austin and it makes me very happy to hear you would definitely return to our hotel on your next trip to Austin.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Spent 5 days at the property. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. First room was on 2nd floor with a noisy occupant above. The staff quickly moved me to 3rd floor. Every employee was very friendly and smiled all the time. Always have a great breakfast. The morning kitchen staff was very helpful. Fiona, Jessica, Amy, Angela, Aggie and Ernesto were great! Very convenient shuttle service to downtown was a real bonus.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Greetings,

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. Fiona, Jessica, Amy, Angela, Aggie and Ernesto are great team players and I will make sure to relay your comments to them so they receive the recognition they deserve. Whether in town for one night or multiple nights, the Residence Inn is a great place to call your home away from home. We provide a great complimentary breakfast each morning and a social hr. M-W from 6-7:30pm to help you unwind after a long day of work or sightseeing. We also do provide a complimentary shuttle in the evenings, from 6p-11p, that will take you downtown to enjoy one of Austin’s many great dining establishments or bars. If we can be of any assistance on booking further reservations with us please do not hesitate to contact us at 512-912-1100 and any one of us would be glad to assist you.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, France
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

So very pleased with our two-night stay here. We appreciated the friendly and helpful staff, spacious room (with such a comfortable bed!), good location for getting around the city. Liked the feel of being in an apartment rather than just a room... and the abundant and delicious breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our main goals is for our guest to experience a clean and friendly environment when they stay with us and I am glad we met our goals with you. As you mentioned we are conveniently located and a short drive to downtown, the airport, and the University of Texas. What better way to start your day than with our hot complimentary breakfast that includes scrambled eggs, sausage, parfaits, and many other Residence Inn favorites. Our rooms are approximately 50% larger than most standard hotel rooms and after a long day of sightseeing throughout Austin we want you to be able to come back to your room, stretch-out, and relax. We hope to see you the next time you are in Austin. If we can be of any assistance on future trips to Austin please do not hesitate to contact us at 512-912-1100.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip and everything was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, including the manager who helped out at the front desk so that not even one person had to wait for their needs to be addressed. I would highly recommend this hotel and I also plan to stay here again in January.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dedene1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is truly our goal each and every day to provide an excellent guest experience and I am pleased we have done so in your case. I know you have hundreds of hotel options in Austin and it means so much that you chose our hotel and will be returning to us in January. If I can be of service in any way for future stays please do not hesitate to ask. Thank you so much for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate,New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Residence Inn is a great stay, and this one is no exception. Friendly manager, very welcoming. Great set up in the room, like a mini-apartment. Appreciate the big coffee pot but it needs better coffee. The packets make about one weak cup whereas the pot can hold 10. Could use a magnifier mirror in vanity area and even one that flips to regular so you could take advantage of full length closet mirrors behind you. The breakfast was fantastic. Fresh scrambled eggs, decent sausage, homemade biscuits and pretty good gravy. Bagels, waffle-maker, muffins, fruit you name it. Great job on the breakfast. Lot of choices in the lobby market as well for snacks, not priced too badly, either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlaCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time for post a review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you here and I am very delighted that we could meet all of your expectations. We are always striving for our customers to be comfortable and feel like part of our family. As you mentioned in your review, we are set up like a mini apartment. All of our rooms are fully equipped in-suite kitchen to include a full-sized fridge, stove, microwave and coffee maker. We are also 50% larger than most standard hotel rooms which gives our guests more room to stretch out and relax after a long day at work or visting one of the many attractions Austin has to offer. We also have a great breakfast each morning and a fully stocked market that is open 24 hrs a day. Thank you for your suggestion and ideas for areas of improvement as well. It’s customers like you that enable us the opportunity to understand better from the customer’s perspective how we can improve upon the services and products we provide.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you the next time you are in Austin!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Everything was great. Hotel and room very clean and inviting (even the fold out couch was very comfortable). Lots of amenities usually only available at higher end hotels; flavored water, fresh fruit and coffee were readily available for guests. The staff was very friendly and the hot breakfast was very nice with a great variety of hot/cold foods available. Plenty of room for 4 adults.

Room Tip: Although we did not take advantage of this option (but will next time) the hotel was pet friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveshisdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate that for your trip to Austin, you decided to stay with us. At the Residence Inn Austin South, our goal is for you to feel at home, provide a good clean room, and deliver great guest service. With that in mind, I am extremely happy we delivered on that goal. As you mentioned in your review we do offer complimentary coffee, water and fresh fruit in our lobby 24 hrs. a day. We also provide a great complimentary breakfast each day and an evening social hour M-Wed from 6-7:30pm that includes a light meal, beer/wine, and desert. Our rooms are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms and can accommodate 4 adults spaciously.

Thank you again for the kind words and we hope to have you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Austin South
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Austin South
Courtyard Austin South
#76 of 203 in Austin
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Austin South
0.2 mi away
Austin Marriott South
Austin Marriott South
#35 of 203 in Austin
441 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin South

Property: Residence Inn Austin South
Address: 4537 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Austin South is within driving distance to many of the area's attractions, including the unique ambiance of 6th Street, the excitement of the University of Texas and Longhorn football, and Austin's Town Lake with miles of hiking and biking trails. All pet-friendly suites have fully-equipped kitchens, flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and separate living and sleeping areas. The property also features complimentary breakfast and weekday evening reception, outdoor pool, fitness room, and outdoor multi-purpose Sport Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing