We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inns and Outs of Vintage Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vintage Villas Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Inns and Outs of Vintage Villas”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

There is nothing special about VV. OK, they do a lot of weddings. A lot.

The rooms are worn and need a redecorate. The setting, located 40 miles from Austin is fine but again, with new construction nearby its a property that has attempted to capture the wedding market with the destination in mind and it falls short. There are no attractions and you are out in Texas countryside.

So it would make sense if they threw amazing weddings.

But The timing felt almost computerized and the food was mediocre, the wine and drinks were bottom of the rail. The disc jockey played oldies for us oldies...who left early to sleep.

But the after party, thrown in our building three was horrible. The place is cheaply made so every whoop and hola ad sounded as it it were in our room. An after party at a wedding is great, but to have it in the building with aunts, out--of-towers and tired old folk was POOR planning.

The wedding planner or the VV itself should have said to the bride and groom, put your relatives over 30 in one building, the party people in another. They have that capacity.

I'd not recommend this outfit for a wedding, or to even stay here. It's cheap, overly organized when it shouldn't be, and mismanaged when it should.

Room Tip: Ask where the wedding after party is and then avoid it if you must stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welltraveled00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    69
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
44
109
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

we had a great time as Vintage Villas. We got the double queen room with balcony. Make sure you tell them you want balcony and good view while you book the room. Cuz some rooms dont have balcony. Ours room have lovely view of the lake at day time and pretty lights view of city at night time. Please note that there is nothing else to do at V.V . But if you need quiet time to retreat yourself ,this is the place. The breakfast was super. The eggs bisqueu was so good. they have plenty of food ,fruit,eggs,oatmilk,cereal ,hot coffee,orange/apple juice. They have waitress to serve you,take your plates ,clean your table. Check on groupons, they have good deal sometime. Dont forget check out local restaurant. We ate at Los Pinos. It was realy good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank congchihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
congchihan,

Thank you very much for your positive evaluation. I appreciate you choosing Vintage Villas Hotel & Events.

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We held our daughters wedding at Vintage Villas. We booked a number of rooms for family and friends. The experience was excellent for a wedding. The rooms are clean but the facility is dated and in need of some updates. The facility is very convenient to Lake Travis. Just wished the lake had more water. I think everyone was satisfied with the hotel but I would rate it a 3 for a hotel.

As far as the wedding: They did an excellent job! The facility was perfect and the staff was excellent. We received many comments confirming on how nice the place was for a wedding. The food was also great.

The issues were getting access to the facility to setup and pressure to get out once done. When the wedding was over, we were pressured too much to collect all of the wedding items so the staff could finish cleaning. We had a lot of help and they still pressured us to get out basically within an hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
BogieBogie,

Thank you for choosing Vintage Villas Hotel & Events for your daughter’s wedding. I truly appreciate the feedback you have provided about your wedding experience and your 5 star evaluation. I will review your comments about the conclusion of your wedding with the pertinent department managers and make the changes necessary to ensure that are guest are not rushed.

Best wishes for a long and successful life for your daughter and new son-in-law.

Kindest regards,

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I was somewhat skeptical after reading the reviews on here but in my opinion they are unfair My wife and I had a lovely weekend in this facility which reminds me of a cross between bed and breakfast and a luxury hotel. Our room was more than adequate and nicely maintained. We love the unique character of each guest room. Breakfast was as described a deluxe continental during the week which essentially adds an egg dish and an excellent full breakfast on the weekend we particularly enjoyed the homemade French toast. The best part was the friendly staff. Thank you vintage villas for a much needed respite.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Robert P.,

Thank you very much for choosing Vintage Villas Hotel & Events and for your 5 star review. I truly appreciate your comments.

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yes, an almost stay. We arrived fully eager for a wonderful get away. But upon opening the door we were disappointed (to say the least!). We backed out. Asked for a different room. Received one. Checked-it-out and backed out. The rooms are furnished with old linens, the presentation is old and not at all a "resort" or "romantic" get-away.
BUT a definite "stay-away!"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Marcia G

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. At Vintage Villas Hotel & Events we all take each guest review very seriously. I regret that we did not get a chance to serve you and deeply apologize that your first impression was not a satisfying one. I sincerely hope that you will return and give us another chance to show you what Vintage Villas Hotel & Events service should be. I can always be contacted directly at gm@vintagevillas.com.

Sincerely,

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There should be a separate rating for the rooms and the event center.
First, the event planners were excellent, the facility is beautiful, the staff is hard working and accommodating. We were there for a wedding and the planning is outstanding, the wedding coordinator really knows what she is doing. She is patient, professional and just wonderful to work with. She delivers everything as promised and the wedding went off without a single problem. The food was excellent and the grounds are very nice, with native plantings and the view is wonderful, (the lake is sadly very dry in places).
As far as the rooms, well they do need updating. The bed is excellent, but the bathroom is small, with all the fixtures in one room, it is very hard to dress there with more than one person trying to use the the bathroom. The lighting is dim and the rooms need painting. The balcony is a nice addition, but does need some attention as far as repairs and painting. The shower was leaking badly, the water pressure in the bathroom sink poor. We did appreciate the refrigerator, small sink and microwave in the room.
The breakfast provided is plentiful and delicious, not fancy, but hearty and good! Just what you need after a big night.
Again, the staff is wonderful, cooperative, helpful and they really go out of their way for guests. This is all the staff, from the dining room attendants to the desk personnel. Great customer service!!

Room Tip: If you are stair challenged ask for a room on the first floor, there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inthewoods94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi inthewoods94,

Thank you very much for choosing Vintage Villas Hotel & Events. And, thank you for your evaluation. I appreciate your comments about the customer service, food, event staff and grounds. It looks like you stayed in one of our double queen rooms. In this room type the bathrooms are smaller to allow for more space in the main room. Although the best lake views are from the 3rd floor, Vintage Villas does not have elevators. Asking for a ground floor room if this is a challenge is a great comment. When possible, also ask for a king room. These have the large bathrooms with the double size whirl pool baths, separate walk in showers and double sink vanities.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for writing this review.

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
GM@VintageVillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Advertised as a Hotel and Event center, it is nice but not elegant, not really a dream wedding setting in my opinion. Vintage is accurate, as the rooms and the ground fixtures need a fresh coat of paint.
I found the lobby door locked several times while staff was out, and there is not a trashcan to be found anywhere. Only reason the trashcan was an issue is that housekeeping missed emptying the one waste basket in our room, then when I went to empty it myself, I couldn't find any receptacles on the premesis. The lady at the reception desk disposed of it for me.
While there is a micro wave and a mini fridge in the room, there are no tables.
I would recommend a personal visit here prior to deciding this as the venue for a wedding. While I did not experience their services for event planning, the hotel aspect was mediocre.
There is no swimming pool at this hotel. The hot breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs on top of the standard Continental Breakfast fare. No eggs to order, no susage, biscuits or gravy and it's $10 per person. Nothing about this hotel stands out above any other hotel I've visited, other than a partial lake view of Lake Travis. Fortunately, I bought a travelzoo voucher to visit this hotel at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nontexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Vintage Villas Hotel & Events. I appreciate the time you devoted as it assists us in our efforts to continually improve our services and address specific issues. We strive to provide an enjoyable and satisfying guest experience and we are disappointed to learn that you encountered these shortcomings during your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience or frustration these problems may have caused you. With regard to breakfast, we offer a deluxe continental buffet on the weekdays and a full country style breakfast on the weekends. If you do not find an item on the buffet that you desire, please do not hesitate to ask. We would be happy to prepare it for you. Thank you again for your feedback. I will review your comments with all of the pertinent department managers and will address all of your items of concern.

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
4.0 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lakeway
9.4 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 203 in Austin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
#1 of 2 in Bee Cave
302 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Villa Vista
La Villa Vista
#10 of 35 in Austin
193 reviews
9.0 mi away
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Villas Hotel

Property: Vintage Villas Hotel
Address: 4209 Eck Lane, Austin, TX 78734-1620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vintage Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Villas Hotel & Events is a unique boutique style hotel overlooking Lake Travis in Austin Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vintage Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Villas Hotel And Events

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing