We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see when in Austin”

Congress Avenue Bridge / Austin Bats
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Bat City Bridge Segway Tour in Austin
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Congress Avenue Bat Bridge Kayak Tour
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Austin Bat Watching Bike Tour
Ranked #12 of 325 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Austin bridge is where nearly 1.5 million bats live.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must see when in Austin”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It's hard to describe this incredible site. At dusk each night, millions of bats come out from under the Congress Street bridge to feed. It looks like a huge moving storm cloud. Locals & tourists gather to watch this amazing event each night - highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmgaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,398
    816
    450
    138
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Bat Watching”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Took a boat "bat watching" tour. Enjoyed seeing the lake until sunset. The bats leaving the bridge was awesome. Got a lot of great Austin skyline pictures !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk uk
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Please don't miss this! It's a once in a lifetime experience!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a busy two weeks in the USA and saw a lot of sights but this one I will never forget because it is something so different, so out of the way from your normal holiday experience.

We would not have known about the bats if the guy on front desk at our hotel hadn't told us. It's not something you hear about in England. Even after we knew about it I was a bit dubious. A MILLION bats? What would they do? I have always been told they get in your hair!

WELL they didn't, you will be quite safe even if like me, you are abit of a wimp around these flying creatures.

They come out at dusk and Tourist information, or your hotel will be able to give you an idea of the right time for your visit to Austin.
Its rather exciting, people start gathering on the bridge and the banks and the atmosphere is so friendly and there is a feeling of 'togetherness' Toatl strangers strike up converstions during the wait, you can meet people from all over the world. In a way the anticipation is the best part.
It gets darker and darker. People start to wonder, do these bats REALLY come out or is it some urban myth?

Then a few appear twenty or so and the excitement rises. Then before you know it out they come heading who knows where but its a true thrill. A natural, free, non technica,l non mad made THRILL such as we don't find much these days. Everyone around you is bound with you in the moment.

Soon they are gone and it's time to head off, to put small children to bed if you have them or to hit a bar, maybe even with some of your new found friends

I was so glad I saw it and I will remember it always.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smartesthorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go see the bats! (When they are there.)”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The bat colony under the Congress Avenue and South First St bridges is one of the neatest things to do in Austin. I've taken many people to see them and everyone has loved it, even the sceptics. But they are not there for the winter, which is about late October to mid-March. They come out usually close to sundown, with the best viewing at a full moon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomnLindaAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for first time visitors”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an Austin classic -- great for bringing first time visitors to the city, but not something you want to repeat with them. Good for families, there's room for the kids to stretch out down by the lake so that you don't have to stand on the bridge to watch them come out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celizcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congress Avenue Bridge / Austin Bats also viewed

 

Been to Congress Avenue Bridge / Austin Bats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing