We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really glad I witnessed this”

Congress Avenue Bridge / Austin Bats
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Bat City Bridge Segway Tour in Austin
Ranked #13 of 319 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Austin bridge is where nearly 1.5 million bats live.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really glad I witnessed this”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were staying at the Hyatt Regency, and from the hotel you can walk down the path by the river under the Congress Bridge. I got there at about 7:30pm, and there was already a huge crowd gathered. The mood was festive - kind of like a really crowded party at the park, except everyone had expensive camera equipment instead of glow sticks.

When I looked up to the bridge, there was also a huge crown all along the bridge. It was quite a sight already, and not a single bat in sight yet.

About 10 minutes later, we started to see some bats emerge from under the bridge. I thought it was just going to be like a flock of birds flying in formation, but the bats just kept coming out of the bridge. As the minutes flew by, even more bats were coming out, and soon it seemed like the sky was covered with them. It kind of was a little creepy, but quite astonishing at the same time. I have never seen that many bats in flight in my life.

It was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Austin.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,288
    774
    439
    130
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
237 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Austin a few times & never heard of this awesome experience. We checked it out from below the bridge. There was a carnival / family picnic feel to it. People selling glow sticks, live music from the boats on the river & masses of people milling around watching for the first bat. The sunset was at 7:38 & the bats flew about 8:00. It was really an awesome experience. We parked for free in a city ramp about a block south & west right off of Riverside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaraBeth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Congress St Bridge bats are a must see... 1.5 million bats come out at sunset and is quite an amazing site! Within walking distance of the hotels downtown and I have read that there is free parking at the Austin American Statesman if you're staying somewhere else. I would also recommend to those who live in Austin and haven't seen it. Really is amazing! An extra perk... No mosquitoes!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKB723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unreal!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I'm not sure which is wilder...the bazillion bats that emerge from the Congress Avenue bridge or the fact that its such a part of Austin lore. There must have been 400 people on the bridge plus lots of boats watching. What kind of crazy town is this? Too cool.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeW307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kind of creepy...but cool!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was not sure about participating in this adventure when my daughter first mentioned it. I am so glad we went to see the bats at the Congress Avenue Bridge. It was creepy to see the entire colony leave from underneath the bridge in a huge mass! You could see them in the sky in the distance as they flew into the countryside to eat insects. It seemed like they just kept flying out and the stream of bats would not stop. It was crazy but very interesting. I'm glad we didn't miss it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BusyFamily_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congress Avenue Bridge / Austin Bats also viewed

 

Been to Congress Avenue Bridge / Austin Bats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing