We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4.5 star”

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Ranked #9 of 317 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in Austin, Texas, is dedicated to inspiring the conservation of native plants. Located a quick but quiet ten miles from downtown, we are a botanical garden open to the public year-round and have become a favored venue for everything from conservation-focused conventions to beautiful weddings. We carry out our mission to inspire the conservation and application of native plants through our gardens, campus, research, education and outreach programs. In doing so, we improve water quality, provide habitat for wildlife and enhance human health and happiness. Visit, learn and make a better world with us. The Wildflower Center was founded by Lady Bird Johnson and Helen Hayes in 1982 and became a part of The University of Texas at Austin in 2006.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“4.5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I agree with another reviewer. The place should be free early in the season. We visited in the 3rd week of March, nothing much to see. It is however a nice garden and it's nice to just stroll along. There is a couple of flat trails that are good for a walk.

Even though we didn't see much, we did see a few flowers:
- Paint Brush (at the trail only)
- Blue Bonnet (mostly at the trail)
- Honey Suckle
- Buttercup
- Daisy
- Coral Berry
- Pencil cactus (at the trail only)
- Blue-eye grass (at the trail only)
- others (see photos)

I think 2nd week of April onward would probably be a better time to visit. The flowers we see here in late March isn't something that we can't see outside the garden, by the highway, or parks.

Entrance fee: $9 per person (A bit expensive considering there were nothing much to see and only one cashier and one docent on duty. The gift shop was not even open)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank codebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    218
    71
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

There was nothing here. We saw more bluebonnets on the drive from DFW than we did at this place. Kind of expensive just to buy a t-shirt. Maybe it's still a little early in the year, but I was judging by the wild flowers seen elsewhere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
313 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Not yet Spring time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

A cooler than usual Winter has delayed the Spring flowers, so I didn't see much. But, it is a beautiful garden complex and also has easy to manage trails. Nice weather enhances the experience. Although my experience was 3 stars, I gave it a 4 star rating because it is worth the visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Should be free early in the season”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have been here a few times in the past. Each visit was very nice with various types of plants and flowers growing. Visiting in mid March this year was a great disappointment. Almost nothing was growing and you find yourself wandering around various planting beds with nothing but a few cacti and plants that will likely be beautiful in a month or two. Frankly I expected much more because we spotted many wildflowers growing in the highway median on the way to Austin. The website also lists a few plants that are 'in bloom'. They don't make it clear that this is an extreme minority of their potential.
Because they collect your fees as you enter from the parking lot, you don't know what is in store for you. We still support the overall center, so we will be back. They should consider adding a note at the entrance that highlights the 'percentage' of coverage in the plant to avoid any surprises.
We will definitely visit again, but will be sure to call

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
860 reviews
424 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Early in the season but enjoyed the experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We truly enjoyed the quiet walk along the trails and the informative displays throughout. This place doubles as an attraction and as a native plant research facility for the University of Texas. Peaceful and enjoyable!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Codiak!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing