We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty of wild flowers but probably best viewed in the Spring”

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Ranked #9 of 317 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in Austin, Texas, is dedicated to inspiring the conservation of native plants. Located a quick but quiet ten miles from downtown, we are a botanical garden open to the public year-round and have become a favored venue for everything from conservation-focused conventions to beautiful weddings. We carry out our mission to inspire the conservation and application of native plants through our gardens, campus, research, education and outreach programs. In doing so, we improve water quality, provide habitat for wildlife and enhance human health and happiness. Visit, learn and make a better world with us. The Wildflower Center was founded by Lady Bird Johnson and Helen Hayes in 1982 and became a part of The University of Texas at Austin in 2006.
Vinton, LA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Plenty of wild flowers but probably best viewed in the Spring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Totally a walking tour and the heat was a definite factor in the experience. We loved the children's area and they have an excellent gift/souvenir shop. I enjoyed the art sculptures and the indoor "educational" section was my favorite. We took lots of pictures.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank waslcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    218
    71
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durango, co
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little bit of blue bonnet heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful views. Great educational material. Lovely stone building and a great little bistro. The waterscapes were expically interesting considering the drought.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lolapilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited in February when nothing was in bloom but I still left extremely impressed. The staff of volunteers were extremely friendly and they bent over backwards to give us tips, point out things to look at, and give us suggestions. For example, we walked right past a Barred Owl yet the volunteer working the entrance made sure we saw it. She also gave us tips on the trails, eating, and the museum on Lady Bird. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caesar1pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“SWINGS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have visited the Lady Bird Wildflower Center many times, and each time I find something new and adventurous. This time they had built more trails and put up some swings in a little park area. It was nice to be able to swing again. Loved walking the different hiking trails, which are less than a mile.

The flowers were just staring to come out. Bluebonnets are the highlight in the spring and they were just starting to pop up. You can also buy your own seeds to plant in the gift shop. They also have a little cafe which is quite good! Small menu with sandwiches and salads and some specialty drinks.

Very nice place to come and spend the day!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ang126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Expected More”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The concept is great. Expected something larger, more grandiose. Probably a lot going on behind the scenes. Also, most likely more enjoyable a little later in the spring... or summer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sommersboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing