We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to spend all day”

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Ranked #9 of 321 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in Austin, Texas, is dedicated to inspiring the conservation of native plants. Located a quick but quiet ten miles from downtown, we are a botanical garden open to the public year-round and have become a favored venue for everything from conservation-focused conventions to beautiful weddings. We carry out our mission to inspire the conservation and application of native plants through our gardens, campus, research, education and outreach programs. In doing so, we improve water quality, provide habitat for wildlife and enhance human health and happiness. Visit, learn and make a better world with us. The Wildflower Center was founded by Lady Bird Johnson and Helen Hayes in 1982 and became a part of The University of Texas at Austin in 2006.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Plan to spend all day”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Enjoy nature and plan to spend all day. I took my niece about a year and a half ago, we had a ball just hiking and hanging out. Good picnic areas, and this year, I bet the flowers are phenomenal. You'll want to plan to go in mid to late March to catch the best flowers though.

Helpful?
Thank ABtravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    225
    75
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful spring day trip”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went with several family members on a day that started out cloudy but soon turned sunny. Bluebonnets are currently in bloom, so they were all over the place. They made for some dramatic backdrops to several great photo ops. There's something for everyone here: adults, children, everyone will have plenty to explore.

If you go on a day where it is predicted to be warm bring plenty of sunscreen, a hat, or the like. Also bring water, or you can buy beverages at the Café onsite. They also serve seated lunch.

There is an observation tower that overlooks the grounds. It's only accessible via stairs, but it you can't make it up you're not missing too much. Yes, it's worth the trip, but nothing too spectacular. There are walking trails that take you through different parts of the grounds. Plan on spending the entire day there if you decide to walk these trails.

Parking can be tricky if you go anytime after 11:00am on the weekend. Parking is ample on the street leading to the Center, however. There is usually a fee to enter the Center, but is is a nominal fee.

Overall this is a great place to spend a nice day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilipNTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great attraction”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We visited late in March and the wildflowers were in full glory. The docents were excellent and motivated (they pay for their training). The plants are especially well documented and signs are there to explain the geography.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rick1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere and Nowhere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ripped Off”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

When the Wildflower Center’s website boasts 24 different flowers in bloom and posts photos showing gorgeous fields of flowers, they should actually have some flowers in bloom (see the attached photo for what we actually saw there). I understand that the Wildflower Center doesn’t control nature. But they do control what they put on their website. They do control what is communicated at the front gate. They do control their admission policy. They have any number of options during periods when flowers aren’t in bloom – they can show actual photos on the site, they can warn that flower counts are low, they can discount admissions. They did none of those things, opting instead to deceive people out of a fairly hefty admission charge. It’s hard not to feel ripped off after spending $18 to see fewer wildflowers at the Center than we did along the side of the road for free while driving there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank BWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A favorite place to take guests for a taste of Spring in Austin”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

One of my favorite places to bring out of town guests during in the Spring is to the Lady Bird Johson Wildflower Center. 2012 is an especially good time to go, with Fall and Spring rains contributing to an abundant display of wild flowers in Central Texas. The display gardens are a multi-sensory experience of the rich variety of plant life in Texas, from desert environments to lush woodland and water gardens.
Climbing the spiral stair of the towering cistern, hiking along nature trails or visiting the turtles in the water garden make a visit to the center an adventure for little ones! The Center’s education programs for children and adults teach awareness of our natural surroundings and how to grow native plants in our own backyards. Children can learn basics of gardening in the children's garden, or enter the little door of the Children's Little House to create art inspired by wildflowers, butterflies and birds. Friendly guides at the Visitors Center teach adults and children about the variety of plants available in Texas, as well as learning about Texas invasive plants and what we can do to reduce their effect on our environment.
For those who prefer a slower pace, the outdoor cafe is wonderful spot to relax with family and friends surrounded by natural beauty. Benches all through the gardens offer secluded spots to sit and just be. At the gift shop visitors can find native seeds to take home and creations inspired by wildflowers, butterflies and birds. My favorite T's were the 2012 "Wildflower Days" T and one that read "May all your weeds be Wildflowers!"

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing