We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

The Grove Wine Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #114 of 3,683 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Grove Wine Bar & Kitchen is Austin's finest casual restaurant where Austinites and visitors can enjoy great wine and food in our inviting dining room or on our expansive patio surrounded by oak trees.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
423 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

On our annual visit to Austin we always come to The Grove, a few times. This visit we sat at the bar and had the crab cake appetizer ($13) which was simple but delicious. The two fried fish tacos with slaw and a delicious creamy sauce in flour tortillas ($11) came with very tasty beans; shrimp instead of fish and corn tortillas instead of flour are available. The bottle of French rose' ($36) was perfect for a hot day. Our bartender was friendly and efficient. He said he's a chef as well and he gave some good tips about other restaurants in Austin. A real winner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    66
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What once was...is no longer”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

When I first started going to the grove, I really enjoyed it. It became the local hotspot for West Lake (and we really needed one!) where we could bring our office after work. However, my last experience is my last time. To start with, their food has always been good (not great), but perfect for a group at happy hour. Now, the feed seems mediocre at best. When you are coming with a small group for happy hour dropping a few hundred dollars, the food should be enjoyable. But the thing that really ruined it was the fact that the Grove would not seat us until our entire party got there, not that they were full....actually far from it! The restaurant was less than 1/2 full and 4 of our 5 people were there. The 4 people had to stand, waiting for the 5th person when the restaurant was sitting there half empty. I understand having your party wait if the restaurant is full, but when it is empty??? This was the LAST visit our group is making to the Grove.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Level Contributor
894 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Trendy menu but only average food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This trendy West Lake location is always crowded and a happening place. There is great outdoor seating for those who enjoy the out of doors!!! The menu has great offerings but the food is only so so. The staff is friendly and service is great but I felt that we all left hungry. We were excited about the homemade chips but they were not crispy and rather greasy. I think this might be a fun place for wine and appetizers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Love the wine selection! Great outside and inside seating. They have Big Fans for heat and heaters for cold. Love the beet salad and love the small plate selection. Always get the special. It trumps the already amazing menu every time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
316 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Exception pizza, great wine flights and wonderful outside seating”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have been to The Grove at least 20 times. It is a great multi-purpose venue.....date night, family, business, girl friends.....it works for all. Everything I have ever had on the menu is good to very good but the Wine Lover's Pizza is great! It is one of the best pizza's in Austin. Now to love it, you must love blue cheese. And if you order it and happen to love arugula, ask for extra because it is just great.

The wine flights are a wonderful value and the outside seating is great even in the most intense of the Austin summer. They have these fans called "big XXX fans." How funny! I couldn't put the real name because of the censors at TripAdvisor. The word beings with an A and ends with an S. They are huge and WOW do they work! I once brought my elderly parents to The Grove when is was 105 outside and it was just fine being on the patio because of how much the air was moving. The "view" isn't particularly great (in fact nonexistent) but the seating under the wonderful old oak trees is lovely.

It is a great "go to" place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austinjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove Wine Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Grove Wine Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing