We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”
Review of North Italia

North Italia
Reserve with OpenTable
North Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 3,708 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Cross street: Mopac
Description: North, exemplifies a culinary tradition that blends sophisticated Italian cuisine with the comfort of traditional cooking techniques. The menu features dishes that are created from the freshest ingredients without the unnecessary adornments of cream or heavy sauces. Crispy thin crust pizza, wood roasted entrees, pasta specialties, and a variety of antipasti round out the menu. The world-class wine list features 30 selections by the glass, terzo (third of a bottle) or bottle. North also offers a variety of specialty cocktails.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I recently had a wonderful lunch at North n the Domain. I had the Margherita Pizza and some meatballs while my wife had a large salad with grilled salmon. These were all perfectly prepared and arrived at the table at the peak of readiness. Our service was terrific: very prompt, friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the mixed berry sorbet for desert. It was tart and simply delicious. North is somewhat noisey but has recently upgraded to outdoor seating area. I highly recommend North.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    126
    37
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern Italian”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

So delicious! One of my favorites for lunch dinner or happy hour. They're usually packed so I recommend reservations or showing up early happy hour.

The zucca chips are addicting. The fonduta is incredible. It has a tomato jam dollop in the center that combines mixes savory with slightly sweet nicely. I love artichoke and theirs is great. They do it differently (not your typical steamed) and with a lovely lemon aioli. The meatball app is also excellent. It's served with garlic bread.

Chopped chicken salad is only okay. The farmhouse is excellent. It's served on a large cutting board with salami slices.

All the entrees are yummy. The pesto is simple and delicious. The mezzaluna/ravioli dish is great.

The wine selection is good. To save money you can get a glass of the house table wine for $5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great energy”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved the food and service. Prices were reasonable Energetic crowd. Age group 30-50 would be my guess. Pretty loud inside, but good feel. Wine list is pretty good, but could be expanded. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EuropeTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A little overpriced but the food is wonderful. Not the best brunch I have ever been to but the service is impeccable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terrance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
375 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dropped in for lunch with no info on the restaurant other than it had pretty good ratings. I expected good food but what we got far exceeded expectations and gave evidence of a very competent kitchen.

My wife had the Tuscan chicken salad sandwich with a side salad. Both were very good and the combo was a bargain at $10. I had a very competent Caesar salad and Pasta Staccapezzi (sp?) which was exceptional - al dente pasta, great flavours. Bravo! Only negative was the pasta serving was very large and I really shouldn't have eaten it all.

We will definitely go back. They are very close to getting a five for food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Italia also viewed

 

Been to North Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing