We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Austin Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Lane Guest House
Ranked #11 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at Park Lane Guest House during a business trip to Austin. Everything exceeded my expectations! Shakti was a warm and gracious host who catered to any need I had. I am gluten sensitive and Shakti provided me gorgeous, delicious meals that addressed my food issues.

Shakti upgraded me to the Carriage House which was a wonderful place to call home for the 4 nights I stayed. From the organic coffee to the eco-friendly bath toiletries, not one detail was ignored. The bed was super comfy and the pillows were just perfect!

The location can't be beat. It's in a popular neighborhood with many wonderful restaurants and shops within walking distance. Super close to capitol as well.

I am looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flash407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We chose the Park Lane Guest House based on the fantastic reviews here, and we were not disappointed. Shakti is a gracious and helpful host who made our visit comfortable in every way. Our stay in Austin began with a stormy day and the Carriage House was the perfect place to relax and enjoy some down time from our road trip. It's cozy and beautifully decorated and stocked with everything you could need on your visit. The pool was lovely and we enjoyed the prime location near S. Congress. Shakti gave us plenty of suggestions for places to eat and listen to music and much of it is within walking distance. The guest house is a "green hotel" and uses organic and locally sourced products, even the breakfasts include chickens from their hens and vegetables from their garden. We weren't ready to leave and we'd love to stay again next time we're in Austin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parklaneguesthouse, Owner at Park Lane Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you kindly, Meena, for your glowing review! We're so glad to hear you noticed all the loving touches we've put into our guest houses. After all, we do it with you (and the planet) in mind! We're so happy you'd be eager to come back. Keep us in your thoughts when you're planning the route for your next road trip!

Warmest wishes,
Shatki,
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed for two nights and could not of asked for more. From the beautiful and warm cottages to the delicious organic breakfast which is brought to your room in morning.

We stayed in the large cottage, which is decorated in a homely country cottage style. The hosts have not forgotten the small details that make a stay go from good to amazing. For example a selection of dvd's and games for you to use. There are many more little surprise's for you find when exploring your adpoted home.

The location is great only a 5 minutes walk (in heels) to an assortment of great bars, resturants and one of the best icecream parlors I have ever been too.

This place is a must if your staying in Austin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesskatebrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beware, this facility has a 14 day cancellation policy and they are NOT flexible even due to a medical situation. They say that if they can rent your room, they will not charge you, but obviously, you have to take their word for it !!! We were charged full price for the 3 nights that we were going to stay there !!! Suffice it to say, when we do come to Austin, we will NOT be staying at the Park Lane !!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JGWeisblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parklaneguesthouse, Owner at Park Lane Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We know that travelers have lots of choices when coming to Austin and are so happy when they choose Park Lane.
We do ask our Guests to review and sign off on our Cancellation policy before confirming their reservation.
We also recognize the disappointment of having to cancel a special trip in the last minute.
Happily , we were able to re-book 1 of the Guest nights so the charges were only for 3 of the 4 confirmed nights.
And in hopes of seeing our potential Guests at Park Lane when they do travel to Austin, we sent them a Gift Certificate for 1 night free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A quiet oasis where they have thought of everything. Very comfortable rooms and so tranquil to sit outside and relax in the garden after a crazy workday. Breakfast is always delicious and the location just of S. Congress can't be beat for walking to dinner, music, and ice cream!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank jmocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Park Lane Guest House is perfectly located off S. Congress. It is beautiful and peaceful. The breakfast was beyond delicious...so fresh. Shakti, the hostess, was delightful, full of helpful information and answered all of our questions. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ag9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Calling this a “bed and breakfast” simply doesn't do this place justice, because while it has both a bed and provides a breakfast, those facts are only the beginning here and staying here was the highlight of our vacation. Park Lane is more like a meditative retreat near the lively SoCo area of Austin that just so happens to offer a quiet bed and bountiful breakfast.

The Park Lane is located in a quiet and peaceful residential neighborhood. This small facility has a guest room in the main house in which the proprietor lives, and three other buildings - we toured all three. The carriage house was huge and was a full fledged apartment that you could easily house four people while the Vicky house was a bit smaller and had a bed on a loft. Given my fear of heights, I took a pass on that.

We stayed instead in the Carriage House which was a delightful studio apartment that opened up to the pool area. Inside was a full coffee bar with a drip, espresso and french press depending on your morning coffee preference and a small assortment of teas for those so inclined. The filtered water pitcher was a nice little touch.

This place was all about nice little touches: from the fountains around the facility to get you in a peaceful state too the ethically sourced toiletries. Even the toilet seat was heated. Who thinks of a heating toilet seat when setting up a guest house? Shakti does, that's who.

Shakti was everything you look for as a proprietor: welcoming, informative and extremely helpful She takes pride in the fact that she rehabilitated the facility and made it simply gorgeous. The style is antique and rustic creating a soft and inviting atmosphere.

Although the weather was warm here in January, the pool isn't heated and we couldn't enjoy a nice swim. Shakti told us some people like the brisk refreshing dip in the cold pool followed by the heated outdoor shower. While I love animals, I'm not a polar bear.

Those afraid of animals need to think twice before staying here. The adorable dogs greet you each morning and walking around you'll hear a wide variety of birds tweeting throughout the day. I love animals so that was a big highlight and I really enjoyed the chicken coop located in the garden. A sustainable ecosystem is one of the nice touches here.

Sitting out on the porch, listening to the pool and waterfalls, and eating a delicious vegetarian breakfast made me forget that I wasn't travelling to Austin to go too this retreat, but rather to see and experience all of South Congress, which is only walking distance away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daveg66044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#19 of 201 in Austin
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#70 of 201 in Austin
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 201 in Austin
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Guest House

Address: 221 Park Ln, Austin, TX 78704-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $324 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Lane Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane, an eco urban oasis located in the heart of the historic SoCo district and walking distance to downtown, our guest house offers elegantly appointed private cottages. Swim in our natural pool, relax in the shade of the live oak trees and enjoy full organic vegetarian breakfast in the comfort of your cottage or on your private deck. Just a short walk to South Congress Avenue puts you in the heart of the excitement. Shop local, eat and drink in some Austin's fine eateries or enjoy the international food trailers. You can even listen to live music under the stars. Our bed and breakfast is conveniently located to the Texas State Capitol, the Austin Convention Center, Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trails and just 2 miles from the University of Texas and Zilker Park. Come for the weekend, an exclusive getaway or an extended stay. Experience one of the best kept secrets in Austin.Park Lane Guest House: more than a place to rest your head, we're a place to rest your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Lane Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing