We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing home, perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hancock Guest Cottages
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I come to Austin quite often to showcase my art. When i first rented the cottage i thought one thing... i'm never getting a hotel again. It is a lovely home, in an amazing neighborhood with all the amenities you would ever need for a trip within walking distance. Restaurants, Grocery store, liquor store, shopping center. The house itself is lovely. Perfect size living room, beautiful kitchen and a lovely backyard. Even the neighbors were friendly. They introduced themselves upon my arrival and offered me any help i might need, even told me to stop by for a cup of sugar if i needed it! I would 100% recommend anyone looking to stay in Austin to book Rachel and Nick's lovely cottage or one of their other rental home options.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 2 year anniversary and it was lovely. Our hosts left us beautiful red roses and a bottle of wine to welcome us, incredibly sweet of them. Everything you need is there in the guest nest. Its nice to have the comforts of home on vacation. We could walk to HEB, the bakery, a cute market, etc. The price is reasonable and they've thought of everything to make you comfortable and welcome you to Austin. This is a wonderful alternative to a boring hotel, you will remember your unique time spent in the unique city of Austin when you stay here at Hancock Cottages.

Room Tip: We really loved our stay but I do recommend bringing your own pillows if you happen to be like me an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved the Hancock Guest Cottage: tasteful decorations, updated amenities, private bathrooms for each bedroom, a sun-room out back, and a patio perfect for cookouts. The house even came equipped with a booster seat and children's cups and plates for little ones. We ended up staying around the house far more than we thought because everyone was so comfortable there. Nick and Rachel were a delight to work with: quick to respond to questions, and very friendly. Highly recommended all around!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We come to Austin to visit our family and find the guest cottages to be a great place to stay. The Guest Nest has everything you need: a wonderful secluded front porch with beautiful plantings, and a spacious, well-appointed, and bright studio room, bathroom, and laundry/closet. My granddaughter loves coming to the Guest Nest...for her it is like playing house.

It is a block away from a major bus route to UT and an easy walk to the Hyde Park area where there are good restaurants and coffee.

Best of all are Rachel & Nick, who are so accommodating and kind! Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very nice, reasonably priced house. In a quiet neighborhood conveniently located close to great restaurants and shopping centers. The hosts were very helpful and promptly answered any questions we had. The house is great for kids- open areas for them to play and a large backyard with a patio seating area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hancock guest cottage was one of the more adorable, comfortable houses I've seen. It was very well appointed and decorated, had a lovely and sunny back yard in which we enjoyed many hours of reading, and provided wonderful place for our family to convene over Thanksgiving. The Nations were extremely easy to work with and helpful and made our stay in Austin enjoyable and stress-free! We'd recommend this fantastic house to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are fussy travellers, i'll admit that. So before our trip we scoured all the vacation rental sites. Literally hundreds of listings. But there was always something we didn't like about each one. Either location, size, features, function, sense of safety, comfort, style, etc was off. We found Hancock Ranch House and liked it on pretty much every level. But we kept looking. We couldnt top it so crossed our fingers and booked it hoping it lived up to our expectations. And it did: The owner was super responsive with booking, and supportive with our needs. The neighbourhood was a big hit for me, it was like being a real resident of Austin! clean, green lawns, safe neighbourhood, a short drive to everything. the house itself had 3 bedrooms, and while we only needed 1 or 2 actually, it was comfort space and was cheaper than a big hotel room. it had everything- a grill bbq in the back yard, a dishwasher, clothes washer and dryer, even detergent and coffee were there. coffee machine was easy to figure out. cable tv good, and wifi was nice and strong and no glitches. the place was clean as well. it was a good size house and kid friendly, even had a choice of 2 high-chairs! we will definitely stay here or the owners other property when we return.
was there anything negative? i guess if you didn't have a car this place wouldn't be for you. and if you were a single traveller it may be too big, but the owner has a smaller single unit attached, that other guests stayed at. you could stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khaoboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.7 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 204 in Austin
2,125 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 204 in Austin
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Austin
Wyndham Garden Austin
#46 of 204 in Austin
1,621 reviews
8.3 mi away
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Guest Cottages

Address: 1007 E 43rd St, Austin, TX 78751-4406
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Price Range: $130 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hancock Cottages Austin are perfect for SXSW, ACL, F1 Races, UT games, graduations, weddings, and family gatherings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing